Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raw performance
This album is by no means imaculate. It is an unrefined performance of some first class song writing. Although some of the songs can be made into huge hits if/once put through a studio process but this is not the point here. This album's flaws are also it's strengths. Enjoy this amazing experience of raw voice and music filled with passion. Although be warned, this is not...
Published on 16 May 2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Arrived with problems
Cd arrived well packed but wouldn't play on a laptop/PC/Mac. Printed on the cd it clearly stated this but nowhere in the seller description.

Disappointed as it was an intented gift this Christmas
Published 11 months ago by CrisG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raw performance, 16 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: MTV Unplugged 2.0 (Audio CD)
This album is by no means imaculate. It is an unrefined performance of some first class song writing. Although some of the songs can be made into huge hits if/once put through a studio process but this is not the point here. This album's flaws are also it's strengths. Enjoy this amazing experience of raw voice and music filled with passion. Although be warned, this is not an easy listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Arrived with problems, 26 Dec 2013
This review is from: MTV Unplugged 2.0 (Audio CD)
Cd arrived well packed but wouldn't play on a laptop/PC/Mac. Printed on the cd it clearly stated this but nowhere in the seller description.

Disappointed as it was an intented gift this Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lauryn Hill MTV Unplugged, 31 May 2010
By 
This review is from: MTV Unplugged 2.0 (Audio CD)
This is one of my favourite albums. Lauryn Hill's vocals, lyrics and acoustic guitar accompaniment are stunning. I don't usually enjoy live recordings but this is all the better for it. A fluid, awe-inspiring collection of songs, brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ear-gasm, 8 July 2002
By 
This review is from: MTV Unplugged 2.0 (Audio CD)
just her and an acoustic guitar, what more do u want. yet again, her lyrics are breath takin, she starts crying towards the end cos she gets so emotional, her songs are magical especially adam lives in theory and i gotta find a peace of mind, there are different styles from freestyle to melody. Even if the music isnt studio perfect, cos its live, its different cos of that, and the result is better. Lauryn is a born preformer and in this album she does what she does best, its that simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real music society needs, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MTV Unplugged 2.0 (Audio CD)
Best lauryn hill album! A must buy
I absolutely love this album!
If your a fan of conscious music you will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality shines through, 24 Dec 2013
By 
X (S.E. England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MTV Unplugged 2.0 (Audio CD)
A brilliant album of gritty, real music. I only wish Lauryn would make a complete break from the more Pop genre into which she seems destined to fall; she is worth so much more, as this album proves. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 11 Mar 2013
By 
H. Baird "HRB" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MTV Unplugged 2.0 (Audio CD)
Fabulous cd! only down side is the amount of talking in-between tracks. All in all a great buy and would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MTV Unplugged 2.0 (Audio CD)
Lauryn Hill can sing! She can rap! Lauryn Hill can play guitar all on her own without needing any accompaniment.

Stand up and take a bow Lauryn Hill.

I love your lyrics Lauren.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Polarises Listeners, 28 Jan 2012
This review is from: MTV Unplugged 2.0 (Audio CD)
Okay, so I gave it five stars. I did that because I like it a lot, it's evocative, powerful and beautiful. I'm not consistently a fan of Lauryn Hill, although I admire her talent and her work, but this album speaks to me. Now here, I think we touch on the reason why this album tends to polarise people and middle ground is not well represented.

Music fans who have an interest in many different genres might enjoy this offering as well as others from Lauryn Hill. Fans of the music she's put out up to this point will be disappointed if they don't appreciate raw acoustic music, and I can understand that. I come to it from the other side, when you strip everything back to just a guitar and voice, all you have is the emotion of what's being presented, laid bare. Without any production, or backing band to speak of, the songs and their presentation are left to speak for themselves, and in my opinion they more than acquit themselves. If, however, you hate Nick Drake, and you hated Nirvana's "Unplugged in New York," and you are thinking of purchasing this album based on your love of "Miseducation" and other works like it, I warn you to approach it with an open mind. It's a break from genre to say the least.

If Metallica were to release an album of cocktail jazz played entirely on the flute you may expect a similar reaction from fans. No matter how high quality the product, some people aren't going to value the break from genre. People, meanwhile, who thought "Ride The Lightning" was a bunch of tosh, but have a lot of Dave Brubeck in their music collection, may see a value in it that metal fans do not. Same story here, the only difference being that it's quite reasonable to presume that every song you've heard from Lauryn Hill up to this point probably started life this way, just her voice and the guitar on which she was writing it. It's often said that the mark of a good song is that it stands being stripped back to its most basic elements and is still listenable. Decide for yourself if this is the case here, but it's hard not to respect the fact that she put the product out there to be judged in this way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful., 4 Sep 2011
This review is from: MTV Unplugged 2.0 (Audio CD)
Despite being only a recent convert to the genius of Lauryn Hill, this album has already become one of my all-time favourites. Soulful, sublime and sincere, it can't fail to please. Real heart-wrenching stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MTV Unplugged 2.0
MTV Unplugged 2.0 by Lauryn Hill (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews