Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aijuswanaseing part II, 6 May 2002
This review is from: Juslisen (Audio CD)
That is just what it is, a continuation of the first album and if you have heard the first album you would totally agree with me !!! You could put both his album in a cd player and shuffle the cd's and the album would sound like one complete album. If you dont have the first album it is okay to by the seconds album but you will be missing so much !!!The twenty something star from Philly has really beated the sophomore album jinx plagued by alot of R&B / Soul artists. The feel of the album moves from the plutonic relationship in the first with "Just Friends" into a deeper realtionship with songs like "HalfCrazy" and "DontChange". I think guys would like the ballads like "PreviousCats" telling the women not to compare them with their past boyfriends and what wrong actions they did. It basically telling the ladies that a man should not be mad to suffer for the hurt and pain of another man in you life previous to you current boyfriend / partner. The ladies would love "DontChange" cos it has that line every girl would love to hear from their man, the - ""I'll love you when your hair turns gray/ Girl, I'll still want you if you gain a little weight." Check out the song for even better lines of unconditional love. Some of the songs follow up fro some of the issues he had in the first album like "Seventeen" is followed up with "Caught up" where the Seventeen old girl he liked has growned up into a lady of a consenting age !!! On the album he even covers a Beatles song which beatles fans will say he did it justice. Also there is an apperance from Aaries again from the first album and other song worth noting are "SoLong", "Something"-(Beatles cover) and "Motherfather"
If you like Jill Scott, Angie Stone, Jaguar Wright, Glenn Lewis, India Aire, Alicia Keys, D'Angelo etc etc i think you will have no problem adding Mr Soulchild, now just called Musiq to your collection. All i can say it is urban soul, with a hiphop and funkadelic fusion !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feed ur ears!!!, 10 May 2002
By 
M. Morgan "trublusoul" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Juslisen (Audio CD)
The man that sings about everyday life. Play it in the car, in the house, at the park on a sunny day, This is a vibe album that will have u chilled out. If u love the 1st album then this is more of it. He hasn't really stepped up or gone in a new direction, its just More of the same. Now thats not a bad thing at all! A must have for u Musiq lovers. The album has some real beauties, listen 2 the 1st few tracks from 'Newness' 2 the excellent 'Time'and ull b hooked. Check the cool remix at the end of the CD, classic music. If u have heard the single'HalfCrazy' u know wat 2 expect. I love this sound so much, chill relax. If ur lookin for that laid back summer vibe then add this 2 ur collection, A must have!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musiq at its best, 8 Mar 2003
By 
V. Ryan (London Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Juslisen (Audio CD)
Oh my oh my - this album is just stunning. 19 tracks sounds long, but every minute of it is just full of stunning nu-soul tracks.
This may well be the best album I have. This guy has an amazing voice and possess brillient writing abilty.
There are many great Male nu-soul artists out there like Maxwell, D'Angelo, Jaheim and Joe. But I believe Musiq is the best out of the bunch.
After the fantastic debut album Musiq has kept to the same formula but made a few changes with a few tracks on here. But its all so so very good.
Track 1
Scratch Intro
Not a song just an introduction. So put you hands together, together,together, together.......
Track 2
Newness
Just out of this world. One track in and it already worth the money. Its a fantastic song and so chilled you just drift into a chilled out place.
Track 3
Caught Up
The hip hop beats are in full flow for the 3rd track. Caught Up is a funky number. Once again the lyrics are off the chart and Musiq just delivers it to perfection.
Track 4
Stop Playin'
My personal Favourite track on this album. And thats a hard thing to choose. This is just so chilled. Lyrically its on the same level of soul music like the greats (Alex O'Neal, Luther, Freddie Jackson)
Track 5
Religious
The gospel theme introduces this track, then this amazing beat kicks in with so much bass. The gospel themed vocal stays throughout the song and it just proves that mixing all these great styles like Gospel, soul, and hip hop beats will give you great music.
Track 6
Baby Girl
Yet another storming track. Its a pefect song to play to a woman when you don't know how to tell her how you feel.
Track 7
Half Crazy
I am sure that if you own this album, this is the track you will pick out as one of the best. And I can't disagree. Its simply a great great song.
Track 8
Time
This track is lyrically the stongest the album has. Its written to perfection and the Stevie Wonder influences are very much evident. "Time waits for nothing, and everythings gonna take its time"
Track 9
Future
The hip hop beats are in full flow and this is one of those songs to just bump along to. Its another song with a great message - "don't you ever let someone tell you to grow up and give up on your dreams"
Track 10
Juslisen
This is a sort of interlude. But still long enough to be a song!
Its funky, its chilled, its a fantastic song.
Track 11
Real Love
After the more up beat previous two songs we get back down to a softer tune here called Real Love. Once again you can tell hes been listening to Stevie Wonder.
Track 12
One Night
Bit of a ballad here. Hes telling a girl that he wants he forever - not just one night. He really knows how to charm the ladies it seems
Track 13
Previous Cats
Fantastic. Its real heavy RnB/Soul. Hes vocally on top of his game here. And yet again, another song about real life. "I'm not to blame for the pain caused by Previous Cats"
Track 14
So Long
Another track with a heavy beat. Listen to it in the car and you head will just be moving along to the beat.
Track 15
Best Freind
This track introduces a girl called Carol Riddick. And she does a great job with her soulful style and her voice sounds like a classic soul female artist.
Track 16
Don't Change
Guys, listen up - say these words from this song to your woman and she will love you forever.
It has the best words on any song this album has to offer. And it has some belters.
"I'll love you when your hair turns grey, I'll still want you if you gain a little weight"
Hes got the knack. And this track is just utterly brillient.
Track 17
Mother Father
There is even a song for your parents! This song would be in my opinion the weakest on this set. Its still a nice tune, but in comparison to everything else its a little below par.
Track 18
Something
Yep its the George Harrison track. A strange song to cover. Could he make it sound good? You bet he can. Great beat, same guitar rift playing, and he souled this song out!
Track 19
IfIWouldaKnew (girlnextdoor remix)
Right, if you have Musiq's first album you will know the song "Girl Next Door". Well the same lyrics are used here, but its been given a remix which I think is better than the normal version. Its been speeded up slightly, and if you know the song by Ashanti "Foolish" (yeh course you do!) it has that same tune going in the background. Just speeded up!
The song still retains Ayana who does this duet justice with her sweet voice.
Overall
Like soul music old or new? Buy this
Its utterly out of this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do what it tells you - Juslisen, 20 Nov 2002
By 
J. Mulkeen (Cambs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Juslisen (Audio CD)
With the solid foundations laid in the form of his previous album, Aijuswannaseing, "Juslisen" was bound to be yet another working of 'musiqal' genius.
His style hasn't changed much since his last album, which is a relief. He knows exactly how to combine funk with soul and puts them with great lyrics, which is why it is such a great album.
My personal favourites include "Halfcrazy", "Religious", and "Ifiwouldaknew (girlnextdoor remix)". None of the songs stand out as much as "Just Friends" did on his last album, but they are still just as good.
He's a bit like a male version of India Arie (without the guitar). Possibly because they both look upto and respect Stevie Wonder so much. Don't get me wrong, though - his style is very different to Stevie Wonder, but if you like Stevie and India Arie, you'll definitely like Musiq Soulchild.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotion..., 12 Dec 2003
By 
This review is from: Juslisen (Audio CD)
I dunno if anyone else felt this about "Juslisen", but I felt every emotion there was to feel when I listened to this for the first time - and I still do.
It made me laugh, it made me cry - it even made me think.
I brought this album on the day it came out. I ran home, got back into bed and listened to it about 6 times before I fell asleep. It was about this time that I realised I was in love with my partner, and this album was adopted as 'Ours'.
To me, "Juslisen" takes you on a journey. A journey through the stages of a relationship. You meet, you break up, you make up, and then you realise that maybe this whole relationship thing aint all that bad...
Musiqal genuis!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 11 Oct 2006
By 
T, Holmes (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juslisen (Audio CD)
Truely a soul classic. I have no hesitation recommending this album because like all good music it never leave your player for long and its back making you gettin your groove on all over again.

I guess i bought this a year or so ago and it was this album that got me into this sort of music. Theres not really a dead track in it. The album starts well with three really strong tracks and eases you gently into an album full of relaxed harmonies and quality beats. My favorite track is track 4 which i should think is one of the smoothest grooves around even today, so Juslisen and im sure you wont be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Artist of the century, 20 April 2006
This review is from: Juslisen (Audio CD)
A wonderful follow up to his debut album, what is special sbout this album is that he has stayed true to his soul roots,without sounding like he is trying to be someone else.

Halfcrazy is what attracted me to this album but by the time i had listened to every single track halfcrazy became one of many favourites, particularly impressive was 'stoplayin' 'babygirl' 'solong' and 'previouscats'(the harmonies on that track are amazing)

this album has yet to retire from my cd player.

MUST BUY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The 'Soul' of Musiq, 3 Jan 2008
By 
O. Towolawi "soul sugar" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Juslisen (Audio CD)
Where do I begin? Musiq Soulchild is the epitome of Neo-Soul, other artists are good but not like Musiq. His first album rocked the depths of my soul, with tracks like Love, Mary Go Round, etc. I thought I had heard the best he could do and then he did this! Lead tracks for me are HalfCrazy, Time, Dont Change, PreviousCats... infact, all the songs are great. Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A neo-soul masterpiece!, 28 Aug 2005
By 
C. J. Davis (Croydon, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Juslisen (Audio CD)
Recently relistend to this amazing album from one of the top neou-soul artists. Musiq delivers vocally on literally everytrack with beautiful production and lyrics, this has got to be one album that is quie simply ...a definitive neo-soul masterpiece!!
JUSLISEN...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars prompt dispatch, item exactly as described would buy from ..., 19 July 2014
This review is from: Juslisen (Audio CD)
prompt dispatch, item exactly as described would buy from this seller again-though its a gift and not my taste in music ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Juslisen
Juslisen by Musiq (Soulchild) (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews