Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
16
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2002
the story is based how a once coward becomes the chosen warrior to defend the earth against evil.
i watched this film when i was little and loved it then, the dvd version i have from the states is pretty simple but its just, the story which is fantastic. it tackles the age old story of good versus evil with love sacrifice and mystical poweres shoved in. even if you didn't like crouching tiger this is still a great film to watch and own just for the acting and special effects. above all just watch the movie you won't be dissapointed i wasn't
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2006
i watched this film when i was a kid. and absoloutley loved it even to this day now i can still feel the same excitement as i did when i was a kid when i watch the film. from start to end this is one of the best films ever, and those swords WOW!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
This is the chinese version, which is delightfully incoherent. The DvD extras include the US intro which makes the whole things a dream sequence. Was surprised and delighted to see Sammo Hung feature as Mr. Eyebrows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2003
There is no way to describe one of the best films in Chinese cinema history. It is about a coward who is trained to fight evil, his master is then turned evil by a poison and he must kill him, he does not, and his master becomes inevitablly all powerful, this film is fantastic, Hong Kong always used wire tricks BEST!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
When it comes to Hong Kong movies in general they are mostly the same: FFP and that stands for Fast Film Production, if we should compare movies with food then I would call HK movies for the film version of McDonalds. and if you have seen one HK movie then you have seen them all, but if you should see a HK movie then this is the one.

the Story is about Ti Ming Chi, a soldier in the middle of a civil war. When he accidently step into a cave of a mountain he enter a new world and get involved between two spirits and caught up in a fantastical quest to save the universe.

The movie is well done, the special effect is Hollywood style, the martial art is epic, and the action is none stop but that is also the problem because it focus too much on the action and marital art then the whole story, then it mix with unnecessary comedy that push the seriousness down.

I feel very sad about this because if the cast and crew would take this movie more serious then this movie would have make more historical impact in the movie world or if any HK film production could take their movies more serious then most of their films would have make more history, instead its just a mediocre films most famous for martial art stars, in other words nothing more but the movie worlds McDonalds - taste good once in a while but too much is not good for stomach.

I feel very sad about this film because feel this movie had potential and if only their could take this movie more serious it would have made epic history but despite my low rating I recommend to watch it, its worth to check it out

Verdict? its OK
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
Absurd, thrilling, incoherent, epic, funny...I first saw it in the 90's and it has easily maintained its rickety grandeur. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
Bought as nostalgia after seeing Zu Warriors on the TV in the 1980s. Wasn't disappointed at all after a 25year wait to watch again. Worth buying just to see Long Brows once again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2008
An excellent and ground breaking film that only loses one star from me for the new voice overs and sound effects. Tsui Hark is a film legend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
classic kung -fu fantasy with the most amazing eyebrows in all cinematic history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
This is a classic 90s kung fu film with a cast of legends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)