Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best.
Weather Report's fourth studio recording, and one of the most highly-rated of their albums. Truly astonishing to hear in 1974 - this was music from the future - and effortlessly overshadowing any of Miles' efforts of the time. Completely mindblowing then and still absolutely amazing to this day; I have never got over this one. One of the greatest achievements ever in...
Published on 8 Dec 2006 by J. MILLER

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Occasional Music
This is my first Weather Report CD. It will be one that gathers dust but will get a play when a change of direction is required.
Published on 6 Dec 2011 by Daydream Believer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best., 8 Dec 2006
By 
J. MILLER "JohnM" (Farnham, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mysterious Traveller (Audio CD)
Weather Report's fourth studio recording, and one of the most highly-rated of their albums. Truly astonishing to hear in 1974 - this was music from the future - and effortlessly overshadowing any of Miles' efforts of the time. Completely mindblowing then and still absolutely amazing to this day; I have never got over this one. One of the greatest achievements ever in the jazz-fusion genre. If you only have one Weather Report record it should be this one, no contest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cleaning away the grime of the past 28 years, 3 Jun 2002
By 
Gavin Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mysterious Traveller (Audio CD)
When I reviewed the bog-standard CD version of this album a couple of years ago, my parting plea to the people at Sony was for a re-mastered version. The original CD was a standard back-catalogue re-issue, rushed out in the mid-1980s along with tens of thousands of other CBS recordings, in response to the rise of CD. The CD was, frankly, a step backward from the original LP.
Now at last we have a CD version that more than does sonic justice to this jazz/funk/rock fusion masterpiece. On the less dense tracks, the clarity is now so astounding that it's as if an extra dimension has been added. The sleevenotes are informative and the track-by-track band listings are fuller than on the original CD and fuller even than on the original LP. At long last all the vocalists are given credit.
This was the first album where Weather Report got the entire album packaging absolutely right for potential new recruits from the rock audience: spacey cover art, spacey synth sounds, and plenty of pounding rhythms. Indeed the rhythms are the most innovative I've heard on any Weather Report album.
This is also the album where keyboardsman Zawinul's dominance over saxophonist Shorter began to show. On the long opening track, the excellent 'Nubian Sundance', Zawinul contributes layer after layer of electronic keyboard. Almost contemptuously he gives Shorter room for a tiny, run-of-the-mill solo, but the sax does nothing to propel the basic song along. On 'Jungle Book', another pretty tune, Shorter has no part to play whatsoever.
But then there is the gorgeous duet, 'Blackthorn Rose', and it's clear that there is still much empathy and rapport between the two men.
There are two other concert favourites on the album: the title track and 'Scarlet Woman', which Pastorius re-interpreted outstandingly for the '8:30' live LP.
Sometimes I feel this is my favourite Report album. But frankly all the albums from 'Sweetnighter' to 'Heavy Weather' are excellent.
I just don't know why it took Sony so long to polish this brilliancy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early forecast and still promising, 17 Feb 2004
By 
Huck Flynn "huckleberry" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mysterious Traveller (Audio CD)
This was the first weather report album i got - way back in the 70s - unlike anything else i'd ever heard then and still has that uniqueness and magic. the zawinul/shorter partnership was a union made in musical heaven and Mysterious Traveller is an aptly named atmospheric tone poem from a more advanced culture . The rhythms reminded me of Santana's Caravanserai back then - subtle, infectious and insistent, funky bass, then layered on top the most amazing keyboard structures, very different to the Yes/Genesis/ELP quasi classical sounds i'd experienced before, or conventional oscar peterson / bud powell sort of jazz i knew. And then above it all the soaring eagle of Shorter's soprano sax with total command and freedom of the melodic landscape. So many styles fused together in harmony - not easy music but damned rewarding. zawinul's themes have a formality which are a delight to uncover, a layer at a time and shorter's exploratory solos are challenging, delightful and at times breathtaking. Stand out tracks? Not really, Blackthorn Rose is starkly beautiful, Jungle Book almost visual, but each visit will bring fresh insights. Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty and Intensity, 9 Nov 2003
By 
Gareth Smyth "Enjilos" (County Mayo, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mysterious Traveller (Audio CD)
I first bought Mysterious Traveller - on vinyl - round about its release in 1974. Nearly 30 years later it still sounds fresh and exciting. The electronics of Mr Zawinul never rob the music of its human expression, and some of the wisps and turns of Mr Shorter, a gentle giant of the saxophone, are simply exquisite and made all the more so by the pressure and textures of the ensemble. For me, Weather Report never bettered the consistent intensity and beauty of Mysterious Traveller. Shorter and Zawinul have each produced many wonderful things in their careers, but this record was the peak of something they did together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 10 Dec 2006
By 
Gavin Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mysterious Traveller (Audio CD)
In the booklet that comes with the uncomfortably titled FORECAST TOMORROW box-set, MYSTERIOUS TRAVELLER is highlighted as the jewel in Weather Report's recorded history.

That's debatable, but it was certainly the band's first concept album, in which the artwork and atmosphere of the music all seemed to point in the same spacey/ethnic direction.

This SACD also demonstrates how well recorded it was. Unlike the SACD of HEAVY WEATHER, which is only in stereo, MYSTERIOUS TRAVELLER is in glorious 5.1. There seems to have been something about the 1973-74 era which persuaded record companies that they needed to mix many of their more serious recordings in quadrophonic. That system failed to take off, but it left CBS in particular with a legacy of albums by the likes of the Isley Brothers and Waether Report which could be transformed into 5.1 sound without too much difficulty.

The sleeve notes to this album are informative, and helpful for anyone who was wondering which bassist played on which track. (Vitous only appeared on 'American Tango', by the way.)

This is the third time I've bought this album (once on LP, then on CD, then on remastered CD, and finally on SACD). It's hard to imagine that Sony will find another technological excuse for re-releasing this. So this SACD stands as definitively the best sonic presentation of one of Weather Report's greatest albums. (All from SWEETNIGHTER to HEAVY WEATHER are excellent.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stands the test of time, 13 Feb 2013
By 
A. J. Gauld (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mysterious Traveller (Audio CD)
I used to have a couple of Weather Report albums but somewhere along the line lost them. After catching a YouTube video I decided it was time to renew the relationship and bought this, my favourite album. I as surprised just how fresh their music still is. It really doesn't sound like it was recorded over 40 years ago. They always seem to just hold on to enough of the base melody that it still feels like a tune rather than "a one man band falling down a flight of stairs" - as a friend of mine once described modern jazz! If Michael Buble is your idea of Jazz this would likely be a shock but if you enjoy instrumental jazz of any period you should be able to get into the groove of this album. Happy memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great remastering of a must own album..., 22 Feb 2012
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mysterious Traveller (Audio CD)
'Mysterious Traveller' is a superb mixture of world music ,jazz and rock. The musical accents come via mostly from Africa, the jazz generally from Shorter's short but sweet sax interjections and Alphonso Johnson's funk inflected bass lines, while the rock derives from the driving pulsing rhythms courtesy of the two drummers present playing in tandem throughout.This album essentially takes the ideas of Miles Davis's 'In a Silent Way' ( an album that Zawinul and Shorter contributed to heavily) and builds on them, creating an identity build largely on electronic keyboards which supply much of the melody and texture.

It seems to be fashionable to suggest that Weather Report's music sounds rather dated. Given the evidence of this album , I have to disagree. The standard of writing makes this one of W.R's more consistent albums- there is never a dull moment.The playing sounds inspired and not as in some very late W.R where the musicians often sound like they are there to back Joe Zawinul and little more.Also, this remastering job means that what used to sound rather dense and homogeneous in nature, now sounds brimming with life and sonic incident.Granted some listeners might find some of the synth sounds a tad quaint,but that aside this is one fusion album that has worn well.My only complaint is that Wayne Shorter should have been more in evidence.Where Wayne contributes as in his beautiful track,'Blackthorn Rose', the music takes on a more organic feel that is generated more by innate musicianship and group interaction then reliance on studio wizziness and keyboard electonica.

There is plenty to love here- my faves..'Cucumber Slumber' and 'Scarlet Woman', but I promise there is not a duff track here. Could this be W.R at their most satisfying and adventurous?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mysterious traveller, 22 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Mysterious Traveller (Audio CD)
Magical, mysterious, ethereal....inspiring, exciting...... before its time, like nothing else....the bass, the beats....... timeless genius.....a complete one-off!! Listen to this one, even if you are completely sober/straight and be transported!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mellow blast from the past, 26 Aug 2014
By 
P. G. L. Gilmore "Luce Gilmore" (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mysterious Traveller (Audio CD)
The first Weather Report I encountered, at uni in the 70s. Waves of nostalgia. Working their way towards Mr Gone (qv).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars valner, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mysterious Traveller (Audio CD)
extra super cool cosmos night sex plastic shambolic mathematic dark bright experimental fusion electric brilliant jazz trip as contemporary as ever, listen it, sample it, go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mysterious Traveller
Mysterious Traveller by Weather Report (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews