Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jangling Beauty, 21 July 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: You're Gonna Get It (Audio CD)
This album is worth its price for the opening track "When The Time Comes" alone - a jangling, flaming beauty of a song with a deeply emotional resonance and poetic lyrics that must count as one of the greatest rock songs ever written. It is truly Springsteenesque in its guitar-driven onslaught. Other great songs include the title track and the more tender "I Need To Know" while the intense "Listen To Her Heart" is equally catchy and memorable. The rest of the songs are good, solid rockers but none of them reaches the grandeur of these four classic rockers. I would strongly recommend getting this album as the above-mentioned opening track is not included on any Tom Petty "greatest hits" or "best of" album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated second album from one of the great bands, 4 Mar 2002
By A Customer
When this originally came out (1978?) I bought it immediately, because I'd loved the debut album. I've never understood why it seems to have been underrated by the critics: to me it easily holds it own with the debut, and loses nothing to its successor, 'Damn The Torpedoes'.
Looking at the CD track listing, I think I must always have put side two of the vinyl version on before side one. This way, it opens with the irresistible guitar riff of 'I Need To Know' and leads straight from there into 'Listen To Her Heart'... and you really don't get an opening one-two much better than that! Those two tracks by themselves make the album worthwhile. Of course, you can buy 'Greatest Hits' and get them both, but then you'll miss out on 'When The Time Comes', 'Restless' and most particularly 'Magnolia'.
Tom Petty always wrote great songs, the Heartbreakers played them as well as any band ever could, and they rarely put a foot wrong. This album is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you should get it, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Gonna Get It (Audio CD)
Great second album by a great band takes a few listens to grow on you but a more mature album than the first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You're Gonna Get It Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Gonna Get It (Audio CD)
Bought this some while ago and have only recently got round to playing it. Always a positive I liked this album straightaway. Listen to her Heart the highlight of ten fine songs. My only criticism and buyers take note this album is barely thirty minutes long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Early Work, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Gonna Get It (Audio CD)
Really listenable album from TP & THs early days. Tracks like "Listen To Her Heart", "I Need To Know" and "Magnolia" ensure there was no "second album" crisis for the group, and it still stands up well now in its entirity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Album from the Tom Petty Catalogue, 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Gonna Get It (Audio CD)
I have this on vinyl but always rated it behind the first album and later ones. YGGI has stood the test of time well and even the tracks I thought were just OK first time around I now think are great. There are some classic tracks here, Listen to Her Heart and When the Time Comes being my favourites. Tom Petty is a genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jangling beauty, 3 Dec 2008
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: You're Gonna Get It (Audio CD)
This album is worth its price for the opening track When The Time Comes alone - a flaming beauty of a song with a stirring emotional resonance and poetic lyrics that must count as one of the greatest rock songs ever written. It is anthemic, like Springsteen at his best, in its jangling guitar-driven onslaught and cascading riffs.

The album's exuberant rock is infused with the guitar-style of the Byrds. Other great songs include the title track and the tender I Need To Know while the intense Listen To Her Heart is equally catchy and memorable. The rest of the songs are good, solid rockers but none of them reaches the awesome grandeur or impressive tuneful heights of the aforementioned masterpieces.

I would strongly recommend getting this album as the aforementioned opening track is not included on any Tom Petty compilation album as far as I know. If you like the melodic power rock and pop of the late 1970s like The Cars, Patti Smith, Mink DeVille and Blondie, you'll love this great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You're Gonna Get It, 14 Feb 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Gonna Get It (Audio CD)
'You're Gonna Get It' is the follow up to Petty's debut album and shows how the band was able to develop and yet still keep it's initial spark and essence. This album has some amazing tracks 'I Need To Know' is one of the better known from this album, but tracks like 'Too Much Ain't Enough' and the great album closer ' Baby's A Rock'n'Roller' create a well rounded and storming CD. Leading from the electric debut and to the angst ridden 'Damn the Torpedoes', this album bridges the gap between the two perfectly. An excellent addition to your Petty collection and a solid album with some stand out tracks. Simply great.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars JANGLING BEAUTY, 11 Mar 2006
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This album is worth its price for the opening track When The Time Comes alone - a flaming beauty of a song with a deeply emotional resonance and poetic lyrics that must count as one of the greatest rock songs ever written. It is truly Springsteenesque in its jangling guitar-driven onslaught. Other great songs include the title track and the tender I Need To Know while the intense Listen To Her Heart is equally catchy and memorable. The rest of the songs are good, solid rockers but none of them reaches the awesome grandeur or impressive melodiousness of these four classic rockers. I would strongly recommend getting this album as the above-mentioned opening track is not included on any Tom Petty compilation album as far as I know. If you like late 1970s power rock and pop like The Cars, Pat Benatar, Mink de Ville and Blondie, you’ll love this great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You're Gonna Get It
You're Gonna Get It by Tom Petty (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews