Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anything That's Tom Petty's More Than Fine (By Me)!!!, 22 Feb 2010
By 
P. Collison (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers (Audio CD)
This album is an absolute joy.
It's a great American rock album with beautifully constructed songs and a passionate vocal from Tom.
It runs in at a little over 1/2 an hour so it is slightly short by today's standards but the music therein is wonderful.
Before I mention the songs individually , I should say that there isn't the searing guitar overload of a live performance, in that the solos are short and not as stand-out in the mix.
Live, there was more emphasis on soloing but the songs are rock 'n' roll works of art and this is an album that you can't tire of.
Luna, a beautiful ballad, is my favourite song of the album and I would say that it is a unique song , part blues, part lullaby , with a beautiful organ melody that you'll never forget.
Uber-hit American Girl is a joy and the guitar solo at the end is a piece of magic, that wouldn't be out-of-place on a Be-Bop Deluxe track.
The Wild One Forever and Mystery Man are beautiful , gentle songs with melodies to die for.
Throw in Fooled Again, Breakdown and Strangered in the Night et.al. and you have one of the best albums ever made.
Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing debut album, 26 Feb 2001
By A Customer
Listen to "American Girl" or "The Wild One, Forever" and try to convince yourself this album came out at the start of the punk era. There's something other-worldly about Petty's keening voice, and Mike Campbell's frenetic guitar is right to the fore of what is a pretty stripped-down production, making the whole thing at least SOUND like a punk album at times. The chiming guitar riffs at the start of "American Girl" should be as recognizable as Jimi Hendrix's grunge lead-in to "Purple Haze", and tracks like "Breakdown" or "Anything that's Rock n Roll" are as good as anything Springsteen, Mellencamp, Seger or any other singer-songwriter type ever wrote. Petty got better and better over the next few years, and "Southern Accents" was probably his last truly great album. Here he's young, in your face, sneering, swaggering and making with some great songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, 14 Feb 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers (Audio CD)
This is the awe inspiring debut album from Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers and showed just how much raw talent they had, which thankfully they've been able to maintain to the present day. This album is relatively short but is perfectly formed. Songs like 'Breakdown' and 'American Girl' were destined to be instant classics and 'Fooled Again (I don't like it)' is one of my all time Petty favourites, the angst and sneering emotion in that song are just brilliant. This is an excellent place to start with Tom Petty and a superb album overall. One of those required albums for nearly all CD collections. WELL worth a buy.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bit dissapointed with some of the tracks, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers (Audio CD)
Some of the new tracks I have not heard before didn't knock me out. Hopefully they will grow on me. Good to hear the old favourites tho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have album., 18 Feb 2008
By 
P. B. Koeb (Aljezur, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers (Audio CD)
Really fabulous debut album, on which there is not a duff track anywhere in sight. None of the available TP compilations can do it justice, because every track is a killer. The one criticism which can be levelled at this album, especially in the cd era, is the extremely short running time. This one clocks in at about only thirty minutes. But what a glorious thirty-minute slice of late seventies American rock. Indispensable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers (Audio CD)
Great first album, great cover, love his early songs, worth buying and great value. Southern Accents supposed to be his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tom petty and the heartbreakers, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers (Audio CD)
Brilliant first album by a great band seen them on there first british tour bought the vinyl the next day that was about 37 years ago still sounds fresh today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ANYTHING THATS ROCK N ROLL, 24 Dec 2013
This review is from: Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers (Audio CD)
This has got to be one of the best debut albums of all time just cant begin to say how good this is every track is a killer one of those albums you just want to play again and again this is real rock and roll just wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars my kind of music, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers (Audio CD)
another band from my younger days and happy to be able to get this music on cd now to replace vinyl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tom petty & the heartbreakers, 31 Jan 2012
a brilliant album , just needed it in mp3 format , as my original vynal is now in storage , if you have never heard of them give it a go , for young and older generation as i am that can remember the original well worth a listen .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers by Tom Petty (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews