Customer Reviews


411 Reviews
5 star:
 (344)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb
This film is just a visual and audio treat. We have watched this blu-ray numerous times and each time is as funny as the last. It just seems to keep getting better with each viewing as we see more and more details in the picture, more and more subtle hints, jokes and producer tricks.

The story is moving, about monsters that work in a factory and scare...
Published on 27 Nov 2009 by Split-Pea Soup

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good offer 2 for 1
Bought as an offer of 2 for the price of one on disney films, so good value as bought with more recent monster inc film
Published 7 months ago by Ms P Griffiths


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb, 27 Nov 2009
This film is just a visual and audio treat. We have watched this blu-ray numerous times and each time is as funny as the last. It just seems to keep getting better with each viewing as we see more and more details in the picture, more and more subtle hints, jokes and producer tricks.

The story is moving, about monsters that work in a factory and scare children, collecting their screams for electricity to run their world. It has adult humor about the 9-5 grind, lots of laughs for the children, and of course, the bad guy. There is something for everyone in this film, and the characters are realistic, well portrayed, and you forget that you are watching a cartoon after a while. I don't post spoiler reviews, but the story is excellent here and one of their finest to date.

The DTS-HD MA sound delivers thumping bass and very realistic and believable surround sound perfectly balanced on all channels. The Subwoofer is well integrated into the sound effects for a nice deep addition to regular sound effects however, when it should thump, it really does. All channels get a good workout and really throw you into the movie. TEN stars for sound.

This cartoon may be a bit dated in terms of technical aspects but it is still an awesome display of cartoon. The picture is 1080P and just crystal clear and unbelievably cool to watch. Ten stars for video too.

After such an awesome sound/video quality, the story could be mediocre and it would still get five stars. However, the story is also very cool and entertaining to watch. This is one of the best blu-rays I have bought, and even better than some of the newer cartoons.
You can't go wrong with this Blu-Ray. A big thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect film, 30 July 2009
By 
Paul McNamee "Rambleast Reviews" (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I know Monsters Inc is popular, but I've always thought of it as living in the shadow of the other Pixar films; it came nestled between the more successful and considerably more famous Toy Story 2 and Finding Nemo, it's not one of the 'Brad Bird masterpieces'; it's even outshined by the comparatively duller Cars, a film that coasted into kids' hearts despite being missing something perhaps only we older Pixar afficionados can see.

This is a shame, as Monsters Inc is one of the studio's very best films, and indeed one of Disney's very best by default. First time director Pete Docter knows his stuff- the film is filled to the brim with background detail, and after the discovery of the child the pace is frantic 'til the thoroughly satisfying conclusion. Following three films directed by studio head John Lasseter, Docter paved the way for the other directors to tackle their own ideas, and ironically Lasseter's return to directing (with Cars) fell far short of the bar set by Andrew Stanton with Nemo, Bird's The Incredibles, and this sterling effort.

The Blu Ray is a stunning transfer. While it's arguable that the film's groundbreaking fur rendering looks dated now, it still looks amazing compared with lesser offerings from Dreamworks. EVERYTHING in this film, in fact, looks amazing, from the subtle hues and colours of the sky to the photorealistic blizzard and underground halls. The animation on token child Boo is so human its impossible not to fall in love with her, share her fears and her delights. Background detail is too presented with astounding visual clarity- see the combination locks in the locker room or cars in the exterior shot of the building for proof.

Billy Crystal and John Goodman are the perfect double act to lead the film, though there's good support from a spiteful Steve Buscemi as the piece's villain Randall and Bob Peterson as grumpy, paperwork-fond Roz, who really shines in the outtakes reel (which for this release has been removed from the film and put on the extras disc).

The extras aren't as excellent as I would have hoped for, though this is a catalogue release rather than a new film, so that's understandable. It's been released as a tie-in for Docter's second film as director, the apparently-awesome Up, though the significance of that is lost on us as we don't get it until October anyway. The only new extra of significance not ported over from the DVD special edition (which itself has long been out of print, and is replaced by the standard edition in the yearly 'Complete Pixar' collections) is a far-too-short (at 20-odd minutes) discussion between four of the film's creators about their inspiration and experience. I know it's essentially a kids' film by I would appreciate a longer feature all the same.

I can't recommend this film highly enough. It's touching, exciting (the door chase is spectacular in HD) and hilarious ("23 19!"). It looks amazing, everyone in the family will love something about it and you've no excuse not to buy it. Away you go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof, if proof were needed..., 12 Jun 2003
By 
Andrew Kerr "Alabony" (Dunfermline, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
... that there IS an art to film-making, and that Disney and Pixar are masters of this art.

Toy Story broke new ground, Toy Story 2 took the ideas there into new territory, and Monsters Inc takes the game onto a whole new level again.

Graphics, effects, lighting, sound, story, characters, voices - all are outstanding and all combine to make this a thoroughly enjoyable film. Want a challenge? Try to find any real flaws...

Also, unlike many 'suitable for all ages' films, this genuinely fits the bill. Like Shrek before it, there's plenty for adults to laugh at as well as the kids. This genre seems to have a monopoly just now on films that anybody can enjoy. Why's that so rare in live-action films these days...?

Anyway, if you enjoyed Shrek, or Toy Story, you will absolutely love this. If you haven't seen any of them, jump in! You'll love 'em!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Languages & Subtitles, 15 Dec 2009
Blu-ray all zone

Ratio of the feature film:
1.85:1

Languages of the feature film:
DTS Master Audio 5.1: English
DTS 5.1: French, Dutch
Dolby 5.1: Belgian

Subtitles for all the videos:
Dutch, French, English, English for the hearing impaired

Verdict:
An outstanding and perfect picture and sound quality, this film couldn't have been watched in better condition than it is today thanks to the blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fab Film, 28 Jan 2005
This review is from: Monsters Inc. [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
I went to see Monsters inc because it was a Disney Pixar collaboration and I had loved their previous films Toy Story and Toy Story 2. Monsters inc doesn't disappoint with great gags, amazing animation and characters that everyone will adore.
Both the young and not so young will love this film. I would have given it 5 stars but then I saw Finding Nemo ( a true 5 star film!) what showed up a few flaws in this film, nevertheless you should still see this movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for kids and grown-up's alike!, 1 Jun 2003
From the creators of Toy Story and Toy Story 2 comes Monster's Inc. A heart-warming adventure story about the epic adventures of Sulley and Mike (two very funny monsters from Monstropolis). Monstropolis relies on children's screams to power their world and without it, just like us human's, we can't survive( no TV, Internet), the lot! So it is down to the incredible duo of Sulley and Mike to scare children whilst sleeping to help power their world. On the way Sulley makes a new friend called Boo and without spoiling the film they go on some brilliant adventures with a lot of laughs on the way. Overall this film is another brilliant creation from Pixar and just like Toy Story it is a film for the whole family to enjoy, a must for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The philosophy of Monsters, Inc., 14 Nov 2009
By 
Peter Buckley "peter15115" (Dyfed, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monsters Inc. [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
Recently, authors Benjamin Hoff and Ernest Shepard have explored the philosophy of Winnie the Pooh. In similar vein, interesting concepts can be discerned behind the storyline of Monsters Inc. I have notched up a good few viewings with my three year old daughter! So without taking away the fun, here goes.
Firstly, at heart, it is an old fashioned pitting of good versus evil, the good guys Sulley and Mike, up against Randall and Waternoose, the villains of the piece. Interestingly, Waternoose, nominally the boss, is portrayed as manipulated by the evil Randall, ensnared by his own greed and desire for success, masked by an aura of `for the good of the company/city'. Reminded me of the attitudes of some of the commercial executives behind the current financial crisis.
With Randall, we seemingly have a more typical `baddie'. He is upfront, will stop at nothing to achieve his ends, and is shown as jealous of the honest success of Sulley. To begin with, the goal appears to oust Sulley as top scary-monster, but, chameleon-like as he is, a darker, more sinister Randall emerges. His real goal is the kidnap of children, and using his `scream extractor' to effectively silence them, in order to power Monster City the quick, easy, and unethical way. The use of technology, without recourse to moral values, has a long history; however, our age is the age of nuclear weapons, spy satellites and cyber-crime, for example, the dark side of new technology.
Traditionally, children, like other minorities, have been denied a voice, a say in the issues that affect them. In the film, Boo, is a little girl with a difference. She is not scared of Sulley, and this ultimately begins a process that enables Sulley to see beyond the obvious, and expose the corruption that `goes all the way to Waternoose' as the film puts it.
Empowerment is the modern name for the same process, enabling minorities to find a voice and learn how to use it. For all the corruption, greed and hypocrisy of this world over the last couple of hundred years, it is cheering to reflect on some historical examples. The abolition of the slave trade, the ending of racial segregation in countries such as the United States, and South Africa, the downfall of Nazi Germany and its repression of minorities, as well as legislation and organisations protecting children, also those with physical or learning disabilities.
At one point in the film, when all seems lost as Sulley and Mike are banished to the Himalayas, pragmatic Mike, berates Sulley the idealist, for risking everything over just one child. Sulley battles on, and ultimately succeeds in rescuing Boo, with Mikes help. Co-operation, not antagonism wins through. Only a story, but how many of these characters can you recognize in your world?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3D as it should be, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A totally winning combination. Great film, lovingly re-rendered in 3D with superb high definition and totally immersive surround sound soundtrack.

My favourite 3D so far, depths are clear and deep, which actually helps emphasise the background jokes, pop out 3d pops right out to tickle your glasses. Detail is fantastic, makes you want to reach out and straighten scully's hair, oh and to me the film is even funnier than it was 10 years ago.

Clearly a lot of love and care has gone into this release, and it shows in very frame. It's like an old friend has lost two stone and taken up weight training.

If you need a film to show off your system then this is it, also handy to keep the kids quiet and if you need a giggle on a Sunday afternoon. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of pixar's finest, 9 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Monsters Inc. [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
The Nineties and early 2000s will be seen as a golden age of animation, but what's specially amazing about the finest Disney/Pixar films, like this and the two Toy Story films, is that far from relying on the latest animation effects to please audiences, the film-makers have created perfect gems of scripts that stretch one's whole idea of characterisation and story-telling. Why do so many of the critics seem to think that this film's overly cute? Name me one adult film that contains a wittier dissection of office politics; not to mention the gentle humour at the expense of self-aggrandizing organisations that thrive on paranoia (Child Detection Agency = CIA, anyone?) and health/environmental scares ('Nothing is as toxic as a human child!'). The way the basic set-up of the story is presented through a monsters' training seminar plus a TV commercial for the scare factory is mouth-wateringly clever, and as for the brilliant logic of the duplicate doors ... try writing a re-telling and you'll see how totally cinematic the conception is. All this sly humour for the adults, plus non-stop chase, rescue and spectacle for the kids. Sheer genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Fantastic, 16 Dec 2003
By 
gordo (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Five stars really doesn't give this film justice. It is the best animated film ever, yes better than shrek and definetely on par with Toy Story, if not better. This is one of my favourite films of all time, without question.
Pixar are absolutely brilliant. I mean they take such a simple yet unoriginal idea (monsters coming out of children's cupboards at night to frighten them) and they elaborate it to make an utterly fantastic film! The plot is simple yet effective, the characters are superb; Boo is the cutest character ever to grace the screen, it's hilarious; Mike is just the funniest character in this, the animation is excellent, it's just one of the finest films ever made!
The special feaures are also superb, with over 3 hours of them, you will love it! This film should be in everyone's collection. It's not just a kid's film, im 18 and i absolutely love it! I cannot stress how good this film is and if your a fan of Pixar, i cannot stress enough how important it is to have this DVD. Buy it, watch it, love it, watch it again and again and.......you can watch it again and again and still laugh it, no joke.
Buy this now, it is an outstanding film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monsters Inc [DVD] [2002] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews