Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Actually the BEST GAME IN THE WORLD!!
Ok, maybe not the best game, but it's well up there. Starfox is full of character, the other characters he meets are fantastic, and its just a brilliant game that doesn't deserve the flak its getting here.
Those who mourned the end of Super Mario Sunshine are well advised to get this game. Its short, but fantastic the whole way.
An absolute joy to...
Published on 20 Mar 2006

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surface Complexity or Deep Complexity?
First and fore most I was very excited about this game. With the news that Rare was leaving Nintendo it worried me that a good developer had gone. And I was right, but they didn't leave with a bang.
Upon starting the game there is no doubt that you will be amazed with the graphics. What rare has achieved is astounding. Everything is beautiful. You are like a child at...
Published on 19 Jan 2003 by William Scothern


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Actually the BEST GAME IN THE WORLD!!, 20 Mar 2006
By A Customer
Ok, maybe not the best game, but it's well up there. Starfox is full of character, the other characters he meets are fantastic, and its just a brilliant game that doesn't deserve the flak its getting here.
Those who mourned the end of Super Mario Sunshine are well advised to get this game. Its short, but fantastic the whole way.
An absolute joy to play. I love starfox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rare's Farewell Kiss To Nintendo's Gamers, 13 Dec 2002
By 
Arynth (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Fox Adventures (Video Game)
It is a beauty of a game both in terms of Graphics and Gameplay.
The first thing you might perhaps notice while playing the game(especially if you played Mario Sunshine first) is the distinct lack of a jump button. At first this irritated me; when running to and fro I like to break the monotony by jumping about. After a while I saw a good reason for the lack of a jump button - the game doesn't become a simply jump fest. The game is (thankfully) not a test of your ability to perform jumping moves.
Gamelay wise - I found it a bit slow to begin with but, once it picked up pace it became rip-roaringly good fun. I liked the story (even though it was a bit of a cliché fest - hardened soldier-type has a soft-spot in his heart for those at need etc) and the voice acting wasn't atrocious which is always a plus. The puzzles aren't amazingly difficult so they will generally be solvable for the younger and elder gamers among us.
Something else you might notice about the gameplay if you are a nintendo fan - it is stunningly like the Nintendo 64's The Ocarina of Time. The upgrades - the battle sequences - this is not a bad thing!
There were some things that I wish they included more of - the flying sections. Starfox always was a flying game. I have enjoyed the foray into 3D Platforming but it would have been nice to have more than the odd few-minute flying segment thrown in (especially when the system is good enough to be a game in itself!). It would also be better if the game had more of a lastibility to it. Once you're throw with it (as with most platformers, I guess), you're probably not going to keep going back to it.
The saddest feature of this game is the fact that it is Rare's last effort for nintendo for a long time (who knows? They could return!). Upon finishing it, you are left with a slight depression - all good things come to an end.
Well - my summary:
Graphics - 95%
Sound - 80%
Gameplay - 90%
Lastibility - 80%
Overall - 86
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT GAME, 3 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This is a great last outing for Rare on Nintendo - really enjoyed this. Graphics are superbly detailed and quite jaw-dropping in parts, and gameplay is first rate. I was well addicted to this for a number of weeks, before completing it finally after about 20 hrs. Perhaps not the maturest of titles around, but who cares? Reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rare leave Nintendo with a BANG!, 19 Oct 2003
As many know, this was the last game by Rare for Nintendo, and like most Rare games, it's great.
The game see's you as Fox Mcloud, essentially a man for hire who lands on the dinosaur planet to help the general population from the evil dinosaurs.
The game plays like a Legend Of Zelda game, which is good news as the control system is class with a good lock on feature. The graphics are sublime and some of the best i have seen, with realisitc fur effects and the settings are beatifully created.
Coupled with the Arwing flying sections, everything sounds great...
But then you get the tediousness of it, in some sections you can't leave an area untill you found aload of small obscur things that make no difference to the game. Along with your sidekick Tricky, he can be helfull but he can be a pain, and where has Falco gone to?, he wasn't included in the game!, also there isn't enough unlockable features.
Despite the obvious downsides, on the players choice range you can afford to have this sitting in your Gamecube, at least for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Gamecube Titles (also on Wii), 12 Mar 2008
By 
J. MCGonigal "Spingal" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Fox Adventures (Video Game)
Really not knowing what to expect I am so impressed by this game. The graphics for 2002 are impressive, even by today's Wii standards. The gameplay is fantastic but what strikes me me most overall is how this game has fed into the development of Twilight Princess. I know that Rare became a Nintendo development house before being sold to Microsoft and Miyamoto was the executive producer on this. The Rare engine must have been used further. There are a number of touches that people will recognise in Twilight Princess.
Only downside is that the voice acting is pretty dismal but if you ignore it doesn't spoil the overall enjoyment. There is real competition in my house between my 10 and 12 year old on this.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far the best game on the Gamecube, 23 Feb 2004
By 
Clemie (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Fox Adventures (Video Game)
By now I've built up quite a collection of Gamecube games, and although the likes of Zelda, etc are grippingly playable, Starfox is the most addictive.
I fell in love with him from the start! (If you've played it you'll know what I mean)
Personally, It took me a long time to complete the game, and I've actually found it to be the best long- term game. It is a long, constantly inventive and magical game.
Yes, the graphics and the music are stunning, but the reason that this game is so popular comes down to the fact that it is simply a wonderful game!
I've never been too fond of fighting bosses, and luckily there aren't too many, and the final boss is actually defeatable, which makes a refreshing change!
The actual world in which the game is set is 'Dinosaur Planet', and it is very varied and fully explorable. There is a great satisfaction as you unlock the new features, and the method of fighting with a magical staff is really original, and allows new ways of exploring the environment.
So, in conclusion- Please buy the game starring the handsome fox: you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great looking, slight lack of content..., 29 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This was the last Rare game made for the Nintendo home console, and yep this was a great make!
The graphics are great, they CANNOT be faulted in any major way. Although Rare must have spent a good while enhancing these graphics, they obviously forgot the game. The game is great while it lasts, with easy to use controls and great voice overs, this could have easily become a classic if given the length it deserved.
You play as Fox McCloud, who many of you Nintendo fans will recognise, who just recieved a distress call from Dinosaur Planet. He goes to the planet to help and gets completely involved with saving the planet (as heroes often do!).
This is a GREAT game especially at the price standard of Players Choice games. This is a must have, and it will keep you occupied for a little while at least!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Fox: Just keeps getting better and better!!!, 15 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Fox Adventures (Video Game)
When I played the first Star Fox, I was impressed, now I've played the second, I'm blown away! This game is quality, the graphics are spot-on and the gameplay is bloody brilliant!
I never regret buying this game, coz at the time, I thought it was a bit of a gamble.
Buy it, Rent it, Buy it , Rent it, or even play it round a mates, it's surely worth playing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Starfox game ever?-you can bet on that!, 24 April 2003
This review is from: Star Fox Adventures (Video Game)
The last Starfox game to appear before this one Was Lylat Wars on the N64 and that was one of the best games i have ever played,but when i played this installment i was even more impressed, with cutting edge visuals and truly fantastic gameplay, you can't help but want to play this game its a nintendo classic,and once again it's came from Rare,go on buy it you wont be dissapointed,especially at amazon's great price!
WARNING:This game is highly addictive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I think this ones had too much criticism, 16 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Fox Adventures (Video Game)
If you read any GameCube magazine @ the minute they'll tell you how this game is "too much of what we've seen before" not understanding that this is exactly what fans of Nintendo and Rare want.
Graphically this game is flawless and Rare's characters retain all the quirkiness they had on the N64. It's a bit easy in places but rivals the likes of Banjo-Kazooie for it's playability.
The only downside to this one is that whenever you're stuck you cant just press start and ask Slippy making and this makes the game slightly too easy.
The controls are very simple to get the hang of as it steals various aspects from Zelda (whose control system was perfect).
Overall 5 stars. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Fox Adventures
Star Fox Adventures by Nintendo (GameCube)
Used & New from: 9.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews