Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but not exactly "Simply Acoustic"
This is a very good compilation, bringing old classics together with their modern counterparts. Some beautiful songs of old on here too, which sound fantastic in this version. However, the title of the CD is misleading from the outset: U2's Satellite of Love is not exactly Acoustic. Neither is The La's There She Goes. In fact very few are purely "Simply Acoustic" tracks...
Published on 9 Jun. 2002 by Mr. NJ PLEDGER

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Acoustic? Really?
There are some goodies here, but way too many of the usual contenders (Jim Croce is great but, pur-lease, be a bit more imaginative with your choices from his outstanding songbook) and some duds (The Jam's `English Rose` is not a great song by Weller's standards and it would be nicer to see `Butterfly Collector` if you were looking for an acoustic song by him)...
Published 20 months ago by R Kay Dorset


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but not exactly "Simply Acoustic", 9 Jun. 2002
By 
Mr. NJ PLEDGER "programx" (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Acoustic (Audio CD)
This is a very good compilation, bringing old classics together with their modern counterparts. Some beautiful songs of old on here too, which sound fantastic in this version. However, the title of the CD is misleading from the outset: U2's Satellite of Love is not exactly Acoustic. Neither is The La's There She Goes. In fact very few are purely "Simply Acoustic" tracks. If you were expecting an Acoustic-fest, then you will be disappointed. The closest an Acoustic guitar comes to many of these tracks is the one left on the stand at the side of the studio. But some excellent tracks nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is amazing!!, 20 May 2002
This review is from: Simply Acoustic (Audio CD)
I bought this cd a few days ago from amazon (it came the next day, very impressive) and i have to say it is one of the best albums i have ever heard!! I love guitar music, but the heavy rock that is out at the moment doesnt really appeal to me but this album comprises all the best soft acoustic sounds of the past 30 years. Excellent. Buy it now!! I tested it on my friends £6000 hifi and it sounded excellent, showing how good the recording is. All in all its amazing. It will be a permanent feature in my cd player from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Acoustic? Really?, 10 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Acoustic (Audio CD)
There are some goodies here, but way too many of the usual contenders (Jim Croce is great but, pur-lease, be a bit more imaginative with your choices from his outstanding songbook) and some duds (The Jam's `English Rose` is not a great song by Weller's standards and it would be nicer to see `Butterfly Collector` if you were looking for an acoustic song by him).

What irritates is that quite a few songs stretch misleadingly the idea of `acoustic`. An acoustic album should (by definition?) be without electric instrumentation so quite how U2, Toploader, Ocean Colour Scene, Bluetones etc fit in, I can't imagine. It feels to me like someone was having a bit of self-indulgent fun compiling his own favourite CD.
Still, it's good value and overall it's got quite a good vibe. The compilers should have worked to a tighter brief, that's all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best acoustic album around..., 20 May 2002
This review is from: Simply Acoustic (Audio CD)
This has to be one of the best compelation albums I've come across. With a mix of styles covering just about every taste (and several decades) it will hold your interest for hours. One of those CD's you can listen to again and again without becoming sick of those same old song it features some all time classics. I would personally favour CD one over the second disc, which can be a little disjointed, switching from one style to another and containing a few more obscure songs.
This CD is a must for anyone who listens to the radio then wanders away wondering who it was that wrote that song? I heard at least a handful of songs that I've been look at for a while, particulaly from those one hit wonder groups. It also introduces you to a host of artists, next on my shopping list are a couple of albums by Shaun Mullins or Paul Weller.
With songs such as the Crash Test Dummies haunting, "Mmm Mmm Mmm Mmm" and Connels, "74-75" and also including numbers from the likes of U2, Simon & Garfunkel and Suzzane Vega it will suit no matter what your mood. Not to mention it features more recent hits, "Half a world away" - Oasis. I would critisice it for using a few too many filler tracks so its only worthy of four stars but still brilliant value for money.
Buy it...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars beware mismatch: CD and MP3 are totally different, 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Acoustic (Audio CD)
CD and MP3 are totally different albums. the CD (2002) has nothing in common with the linked 2011 MP3 version , except for the title - all 40 songs are different !
I stumbled across this when checking my digital library . I'd bought the CD in 2002 so amazon kindly gave me a digital copy when they launched their music service, but gave me the 2011 song selections and not the original 2002 selections. So when I decided to downlload "simply acoustic" to my Kindle Fire, I got not what i expected

I'd better go cross reference the est of my digiital library with my CD collection , to see what else I may have gained or lost!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not so acoustic!, 16 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Simply Acoustic (Audio CD)
Simply Acoustic is a misleading name for this cd. Some tracks are simply electric. The rest is a mix of old classics, some of which have an acoustic lead instrument. I was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Acoustic, 15 Oct. 2002
By 
Joe Bogumsky (Leicester, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Simply Acoustic (Audio CD)
If you don't listern to any kind of acoustic music, then this compilation will be a good way of getting into the music. Simply Acoustic is a double compilation which is perfect because it gives you snippets from all age of acoustic music.
I would have to say that i perfered cd 2, but then everyone has there own preference of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars misleading but enjoyable, 27 May 2004
This review is from: Simply Acoustic (Audio CD)
You'd think given the name "Simply Acoustic" that this would all be sort of unplugged music, but you'd be wrong! electric guitars ahoy! However, all in all this is a fairly decent compilation album, but I wouldn't say fantastic.
Basically, don't think of this as an acoustic album, just not a hard rock album. If you like the tracks listed above, then buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Good Music...., 26 May 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simply Acoustic (Audio CD)
Once you get over the fact that electric instruments are used throughout this largely excellent double album, then you're far more likely to enjoy it.

I think a good compilation is one where, you get some favourite tracks that you already know but which also introduces you to new material, where you utter, 'I wish I'd got into this band before'. This happens all too rarely, as we all know, aside of a hit or two, on so many Ultimates, Best in the World etc. the rest are merely fillers that get steadily worse toward the end the CD. You end up ripping the couple of good tracks for the Ipod and the CD then stays on the shelf.

In my opinion, there isn't a duff track here, though, obviously, some I like more than others. The Connell's "74-75", The Charlatan's "A Man Needs to be Told" and Toploader's "Achilles Heel" are just three examples of bands I'd not heard before and really liked - and indeed, I bought the Toploader album it came from on the strength of this.

Otherwise, it's a Mellow juke box that you can equally play normally or on random. Yes, it's music that you can either listen to properly or have it in the background more, knowing that you're not going to suddenly get an almighty racket that needs switching off, thus breaking your concentration on what you were doing, such as reading the Sunday papers.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Acoustic (Audio CD)
Great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simply Acoustic
Simply Acoustic by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews