Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It just keeps getting better !!, 15 Jun 2002
This review is from: Disco Heaven 02 02 (Audio CD)
Wow ! Hed Kandi come back stronger than ever with Disco Heaven-the follow up to their disco kandi series vols 1-5. This is one of the best compilations of uplifting disco house/u.s garage around. If your sick to death of all the usual garbage like ministry of sound , cream , kiss cd's which all have the same tracks on then try this. There is always one or 2 commercial tracks on these albums and here it is no different with Jamiroquai and uno mas showing up but what wonderful mixes !! Contrary to what other people have said here i always find cd 1 the stongest and this is true of here with the wonderful "Good for you" by angie brown and John julius knight's "Dancin in Paradise" cd 2's strongest tracks are "Take me in your arms" by the lab rats and Misled's "Feels like it better. There are more fantastic tracks so why don't you get this yourself and find out what you've been mising !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 29 Jan 2004
By 
D. Searle (Portsmouth, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disco Heaven 02 02 (Audio CD)
Awesome. Virtually every track is a stonking disco anthem, the only exceptions being Dancin' in Paradise by Julius Knight, which sounds a little dated in comparison to the others, and 'Thrill Me' by Junior Junior Jack which sounds out of place on this CD. Every other track stands up on its own as a club smash floor-filler and will have you climbing the tables and reaching for the hairbrush to sing into! Many tracks remind of the very best of the 80's soul-funk disco sound, that said I struggle to think of many 80's tracks that would be worthy additions to this CD, maybe Sharron Redd's 'Love How You Feel', or D-Train's 'You're The One For Me". What better accolade?
This CD is an exceptional compilation of funky soulful disco / house, the female vocals are all wicked, very Jocelyn Brown, Evelyn King. I just can't believe it's taken me 2 years to discover it!. I'm now avidly collating the back catalogue of Hed Kandi compilations (this could become an expense hobby!). Is the HK series the world's best secret??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fantastic..., 11 Nov 2005
By 
Scubaboy "sydwal" (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Disco Heaven 02 02 (Audio CD)
...if you like big, ballsy tunes with great hooks and soaring female vocals. And sooooo funky at times. "Good For You" is surely the best record to ever find its way onto a Hed Kandi compilation. Real musicians playing brilliantly with a fantastic vocal over the top. Just listen to the bass playing carefully - it's outstanding.
Virtually every single track is a DH classic - I'll simply end up listing them all if I carry on. Just put this on whilst getting ready to go out for the evening - open a couple of beers and you may just end up staying in! Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disco Heaven at its VERY best!!, 7 Sep 2006
This review is from: Disco Heaven 02 02 (Audio CD)
Writing a review on an item thats over 3 years old isn't normally what i do and although i've had this album since it came out in 2002 i feel that it is the most outstanding dance compilation STILL to be bought anywhere!!

As the previous reviewer said,"Every song on these 2 discs are DH Classics" which is a feet and a half.

I can't really give any standout tracks as they are all worthy of being mentionned so just look at the track listing and i can say that they are all incredible songs!

I have to say though that there are 2 songs which even now i play to my mates as they are immense. "Save Your Life" and "Home" by Julie Mcknight.

I must also mention the mix of the Lighthouse Family's "High" is a definate hit!

Basically if you like Hed Kandi and you haven't got this release. What are you waiting for..... Get it!! Trust me, you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly uplifting - Bring out the sunshine please!, 10 May 2002
This review is from: Disco Heaven 02 02 (Audio CD)
Once again, Mark @ Hed Kandi has put together a superb selection of huge tracks. Great vocals over incredibly uplifting tunes and a must for any CD collection in my opinion. It's good to see a fresh start for 2002, taking a break from where Disco Kandi was heading with more chart hits in later compilations (especially 4 & 5). Such tracks get tiresome very quickly with the amout of airplay they receive. The main attraction to Kandi for me is the ability to hear less commercial stuff, and this mix certainly doesn't disappoint.
I shall be DJ'ing a party in two weeks time and this CD, along with most of my other Kandi collection, will be getting a good airing. In all a big thumbs up from me - keep up the good work, Mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carries on nicely where Disco Kandi left off, 18 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Disco Heaven 02 02 (Audio CD)
hi everyone. first and foremost, this album is not like any of the more mainstream compilation such as the Euphoria's, The Gatecrasher's etc. This is TRUE disco music, and in my opinion, it more than deserves 5 stars.
The album is heavy on vocals, with catchy,
hands-in-the-air melodies.
having had this album for 6 hours now, i find CD2 the stronger on of the two, with great tracks such as 'At Night', 'Thrill Me', 'Stars' and the stupendously good FK Remix of 'High' which personally, is the nicest tune i've heard in a long time.
CD1 also contains great tracks like 'Dancin' In Paradise' and 'I Will Follow You'.
Overall, great packaging, great label, great tunes = great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best HK compilation EVER...!!!!, 14 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Disco Heaven 02 02 (Audio CD)
I echo all the sentiments before, unlike some HK relases this has no dips in flow whatsoever, the rhythm is constant from start to finish on both CD's..big vocal tunes, soaring bass..you just want it to go on and on..!! Sunshine in a complete package..if you haven't added this to your HK collection, then I suggest you do..!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disco Paradise, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: Disco Heaven 02 02 (Audio CD)
"Disco Heaven" of the Hed Kandi series features fun dance music that is great for an energetic boost. This collection contains eleven songs on disc one and eleven on disc two. The track that hit a musical note with me after listening to it is "More Love" by Andrea De' Medici aka 24 H. "Disco Heaven" of the Hed Kandi series is best for anyone who enjoys dance music that carefully combines both the 80's, 90's, and the millennium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disco, yes, but heaven can wait, 2 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Disco Heaven 02 02 (Audio CD)
After a four month rest the delicious Disco Kandi is back reborn as Disco Heaven. This uplifting glitsy compilation is of the type you would expect from this series. If you are a candy fan when I'm sure you will want to add this one to your collection. However for the Hed Kandi Virgin, I would recommend buying disco Kandi 5 first, which in my opion is far superior. For some reason the second CD always seem to be better than the first, but with disco heaven disc 1 has a far more solid sound than disc 2. I was disappointed to see that "Young Harts" in included, which appears on lots of other compilations. This compilation of full length, definitely has glitter, but losses out on sparkle on some tracks. Sorry Mark. I would like to give this Cd 5 star, but some tracks fail to please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Disco Heaven!, 13 July 2002
This review is from: Disco Heaven 02 02 (Audio CD)
Alot of people may be put off buying this because they don't recognise all/many of the tracks - don't be! Infact not knowing the tracks before hand makes it better listening. The excellent Una Mas - I Will Follow You is perfect for that pre-night warm up, if you want a CD to get you in the mood for Saturday night then Disco Heaven is the one for you!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disco Heaven 02 02
Disco Heaven 02 02 by Hed Kandi (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews