Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but we wanted more
Dave Pearce's last Euphoria CD (Total Euphoria) i hailed as a glorious return to form after the last few of the Euphoria series by him had become dangerously close to mediocrity.
What can i say about this album? It's a mixed bag i am afraid. Supposedly it's all 'new trance' but new trance is simply marketing hype and has no real meaning. Trance is trance. This is...
Published on 3 July 2002 by M. Wilcox

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed - one of the worst euphoria albums
The downside: This cd was supposed to be the best uplifting and new trance. Instead its has about 12 old tracks on it like 'Who do you love now', 'We come 1', and 'I don't wanna lose my way'. The mixes of these tracks are no way as good as the originals. I think there are more progressive tracks than uplifting, which makes the cd quite boring.
On cd1 I thought that...
Published on 22 Jun. 2002 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but we wanted more, 3 July 2002
By 
M. Wilcox "elvendil" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Euphoria: Mixed By Dave Pearce (Audio CD)
Dave Pearce's last Euphoria CD (Total Euphoria) i hailed as a glorious return to form after the last few of the Euphoria series by him had become dangerously close to mediocrity.
What can i say about this album? It's a mixed bag i am afraid. Supposedly it's all 'new trance' but new trance is simply marketing hype and has no real meaning. Trance is trance. This is (mostly) trance. There's nothing new in the style, you have a hook, you have a beat, you have a melody and it builds to a peak about 2min into a song. This isn't classic trance though (and thus i feel not the best trance).
Where 'True' was about the songs (meaning more about the music and the feeling), this is more about the track listing and ability to sell. The CD is not totally compromised however as the 'old' tracks that are on here are not the usual mixes. They do still offer something new to the listner who is tired of hearing that radio friendly mix of whichever song.
The CD however feels like a somewhat precarious balance of tracks Pearce knows will sell the album (no matter how they are disguised with different mixes) and tracks that have real heart and soul which is what the Euphoria series is -really- about. At least his mixing is better than the usual fair he offers, although nothing really stands out to make you appreciate his talent or put a smile on your face. The mixing is merely technically good but has no moments of musical flair or emotional peaks.
What he HAS accomplished in this CD to a much greater extent than any other he's done is creating a CD with a mix of the dance styles (dance, anthem, trance, hard house) and a real sense of build throughout the album. CD1 eases you in, and CD2 has some tunes which are much harder than any other 'dance' album in the Euphoria series. In fact there's even a track from Lisa Lashes last Hard House Euphoria creeping in mid way through CD2...the frankly brilliant 'Chainsaw' by DJ Shredda. A damned hard tune if ever there was one.
This CD is something of a dissapointment after the glorious 'Total Euphoria' yet it is still an accomplished and worthy addition to the series. I still recommend the CD, as it is very good, but i critisize it because other Euphoria CDs are somewhat better. Go and buy it, you will like it, i guarentee, but you may be wondering why some tracks are on there. And to that i have a message ...
Mr Pearce, please listen to the Euphoria customer base. The Euphoria series has never been about popularity and ability to sell. The first euphoria had an objective of being clubbers music, for the cubber, from the club. It succedded brilliantly. The rest of the series has been about the music, about the feeling, about the Euphoria this genre is capable of creating. Please remember WHY this is a Euphoria CD and not just a random compilation CD. It's not about selling, it's about having a damned good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well put together album featuring many up and coming tunes, 24 April 2002
This review is from: Absolute Euphoria: Mixed By Dave Pearce (Audio CD)
At a first listen to this album it seems to be filled with plenty of "old" club tunes but after further listening you should realise that these are new fantatstic mixes. The album includes many realeased songs such as Faithless - We come one and Agnelli & Nelson - Everyday. It is also clear from this album that Dave Pearce has included some fantastic up and coming club songs for the summer out of his tune box, these also inlcude the new Ian Van Dahl song named reason and the latsest realise from PPK, Reload which sounds a lot like there old club anthem but is still a fanatastic song. Overall this album is a great addition to the Euphoria family and it is clear that a lot of thought has gone into the songs and plenty of work has been put into it by the excellent Dave Pearce
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed - one of the worst euphoria albums, 22 Jun. 2002
This review is from: Absolute Euphoria: Mixed By Dave Pearce (Audio CD)
The downside: This cd was supposed to be the best uplifting and new trance. Instead its has about 12 old tracks on it like 'Who do you love now', 'We come 1', and 'I don't wanna lose my way'. The mixes of these tracks are no way as good as the originals. I think there are more progressive tracks than uplifting, which makes the cd quite boring.
On cd1 I thought that 'Into the sun' and 'Catch' were playing far too slow and should have been put on later on the cd.
On cd2 there are too many old tracks, the mix of 'Be angeled' is terrible, and 'reload' is just 'resurrection' with a few notes changed around.
There are a few excellent tracks like 'Nebuchan', 'This is my sound', and 'Beautiful'. Instead buy Ibiza euphoria 2001, as it is one of the best euphoria albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great selection of trance!, 16 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolute Euphoria: Mixed By Dave Pearce (Audio CD)
This CD is probably the best trance album so far this year. It's my first Euphoria album, and I'm already a fan.
CD 1 is the weaker CD. We Come 1 by Faithless is a good tune but the main theme is too short. Simulated by Marco V is a good track with a heavy beat and simple theme. Nebuchan by Frank TRAX is pretty awesome, and the simple yet catchy Don't Walk Away is also nicely done.
CD 2 has the best selection, and is worth the price alone. Touch the Sky by 29 Palms is fast paced and catchy. Rapture by 110 is very euphoric and the vocals are powerful. My Sound by DJ Shog is the best on the CD, totally awesome and worth buying the single. PPK's new ReLoad is what made me but the album. The theme is similar and superior to ResuRection, but the beat is a let down on this mix. Far Out has a electrifying main riff and good production. Everyday 2002 is a well known track remixed and is good. Reason by Ian Van Dahl is fast paced and originally produced.
There are plenty of tunes with cheesy vocals and not enough pure sound to back them up, but this album is full of tunes that make up for that. Buy it if you haven't already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great trance collection from the Euphoria series, 24 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolute Euphoria: Mixed By Dave Pearce (Audio CD)
The Euphoria series always provide real value for money and this newest release on the Telstar label is no exception to the rule. If you want the latest euphoric trance anthems then this CD is for you. Both CDs contain some really great tracks and as always, they have been mixed together with real skill. There are tracks from many of the usual favourites including Matt Darey, Agnelli and Nelson and Ian van Dahl. There is also Faithless' wonderful track 'We come 1' and Moby starts off the first CD in his usual style. There is also a great Norman Cook mix of X-Press. The only minor irritation with these compilations are that some of the tracks are repeated from earlier CDs. While these are often good tracks (such as Beautiful - Marcella Wood), it would be preferable to have a completely new set of tracks with each recording. However, that aside, this really is another great compliation of trance tracks, which will make a great addition to your collection for the summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected as "Absolute"..., 20 Aug. 2002
This review is from: Absolute Euphoria: Mixed By Dave Pearce (Audio CD)
First of all, let me get something straight: when I buy a Euphoria disk, I mostly don't know the tracks from the beginning. Euphoria teaches them to me. After my first disk (Euphoria level 3) and 6 more disks, I have learnt to "trust my teacher" and enjoy the true euphoric feeling that possesses me after hearing to each disk.
That happened with Absolute Euphoria, too. But in the end I was rather possessed with mental fatigue rather than euphoria. Listening more carefully to each disk and each track, I have come to the following:
Each disk starts very good and prepares you for what seems not to follow as tracks go by. Your mind is searching for these melodic tunes that will make your spirit fly, but never finds them. Instead, it finds some badly mixed noisy beats like Mauro Picotto's "Pulsar" (which is the first track of Euphoria that I, personally, cannot stand to hear and skip) while IIO's "Rapture" and Sarah McLachlan's "Sweet Surrender" have prepared you for the melodic element that you can find e.g. in Total Euphoria.
To sum up, this is a badly compiled disk. I would not recommend it to anyone. If you don't know how to spend your money, believe me, there are many ways other than buying Absolute Euphoria.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 8 May 2002
This review is from: Absolute Euphoria: Mixed By Dave Pearce (Audio CD)
No question about it, this CD is one of the best I have ever bought. Every track is in the right place, and they seem to flow very well from one to another. The mix of 'Lazy' is particularly good, and Nebuchan by Frank T.R.A.X. is nothing short of amazing. Basically, buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice one dave, 31 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Absolute Euphoria: Mixed By Dave Pearce (Audio CD)
This albums for who loves there trance fairly hard. I feel its underated this is untermate experince into trance. But me i love this and transentendental top dave keep it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Euphoria, 13 Oct. 2008
This review is from: Absolute Euphoria: Mixed By Dave Pearce (Audio CD)
I cannot believe some of the negative comments about this album. CD2 is an absolute success. It starts soft and dark but gradually picks up the pace, with song Be Angeled (Hiver & Hammer Mix). Its a brilliant and rare remix which always hits the spot with me. Sweet Surrender is beautiful, as is Falling (Kuba Mix), Nebauchan is awesome and On The Run is georgous. Its an absolute must have for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the best!!!, 23 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolute Euphoria: Mixed By Dave Pearce (Audio CD)
as a collector of the euphoria series i have heard some superb tunes.absolute euphoria carries on the trend of including some excellent titles on it such as dj shog, this is my sound and frank TRAX nebuchan.dave pearce once again produes some excellent mixing.this album is not as good as dave pearces ibiza euphoria or true euphoria but it is worth adding to any dance music collection!!!buy it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Absolute Euphoria: Mixed By Dave Pearce
Absolute Euphoria: Mixed By Dave Pearce by Dave Pearce (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews