Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'The Glamour Chase' at last!!!!! (& 'Perhaps' too!!!)
'The Glamour Chase' was famously not released in 1989- being deemed a waste of regarding promotion. Since then & with the gravity of Mackenzie's tragic death it has gained a reputation akin to other deleted masterpiece's: 'Pacific Ocean Blue', 'No Other', 'Star Sailor' or the unreleased legend 'Smile'. Well, it sounds very of its time- but is the best thing Billy did...
Published on 9 April 2002 by Jason Parkes

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A tragic mirror
... of a burnt-out man. Is really unbelievable how much Associates music has been damaged by Rankine's departure (let's call it that way). McKenzie's queer fancies are finally accomplished, but Associates' double soul, made also of punk and weird violence, definitely disappeared.
Published on 5 Jan 2011 by Edo Brian


Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'The Glamour Chase' at last!!!!! (& 'Perhaps' too!!!), 9 April 2002
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perhaps / The Glamour Chase (Audio CD)
'The Glamour Chase' was famously not released in 1989- being deemed a waste of regarding promotion. Since then & with the gravity of Mackenzie's tragic death it has gained a reputation akin to other deleted masterpiece's: 'Pacific Ocean Blue', 'No Other', 'Star Sailor' or the unreleased legend 'Smile'. Well, it sounds very of its time- but is the best thing Billy did between 'Sulk' & the 'Beyond the Sun'/'Eurocentric' rebirth-fullstop. 'Country Boy' is as great as anything on Martin Gore's 'Counterfeit' (also 1989); while the sweeping 'The Rhythm Divine' is that brilliant Yello collaboration that they would reconstruct with Shirley Bassey (Billy was reportedly very proud of this!). We also get 1985's sweeping-Moroderesque 'Take Me to the Girl'- which Kylie could lay a vocal over now & have a mega-international loner #1. The rest is all new- so cheers for releasing this from the Vaults! Plus, we get 1985's 'Perhaps'- where the 'The' prefigured 'Associates'. This was a bit of a mess compared to 'Sulk'- 'Dare!'s Martin Rushent,Dave Allen & BEF-guy Martyn Ware were among the producers. There is enough great stuff here-though it is a little bland compared to Rankine/Hedges-era. 'Those First Impressions' is the epic near-hit that is touching & wonderful; while 'Waiting for the Loveboat' (something of a Mackenzie signature tune) is another epic slice of the finest pop with great lyrics ("burnt my address book/have i become a pest?"). 'Perhaps' is rather dull electropop, as is the patchy 'Schampout'. 'Helicopter,Helicopter' is good enough to be a patchy b-side...Things improve with the grandiose single 'Breakfast'- one of the greatest songs Mackenzie or anyone have ever recorded. You hear it & think who is Frank Sinatra? Who was Scott Walker? That voice of Billy's-as otherworldly as Tim Buckley's, Nico's or Bjork's. The lyrics are poetry: 'ruined mirador' that make me think of 'Justine' by Durrell. The strings and the way the song builds; plus it is a prequel to 'Winter Academy'. Divine...'13 Feelings' is another excellent song with Billy's modus-operandi spelt-out: "I want to live & all too soon". 'The Stranger in Your Voice' is another classic- the self-unfullfilling destiny becoming apparent- imagine Heaven 17 playing 'Closer'. 'The Best of You' is a little bland- the duet between Billy & Eddi Reader is forgettable (though whether it would have been improved by original guest Annie Lennox is questionable). The album concludes on the morose 'Don't give me that 'I told you so look''- which sums up an album that flits between mediocrity & masterpiece.
This is worth buying for 'The Glamour Chase' alone & it's great that we are getting more posthumous Mackenzie. Could we have an album of the 'Ronnie Scotts' performance? (though there is no need for the flat 'Wild&Lonely' & 'Outernational' albums). Billy Mackenzie is gone forever & theoretically immortal- that divine contradiction as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff from a voice now sadly gone, 13 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Perhaps / The Glamour Chase (Audio CD)
I actually bought a vinyl copy of "Perhaps", planning to buy a turntable later, but with this release I could enjoy the album in the format I prefer. That, together with the so-far-unreleased "The Glamour Chase" made this the perfect release. Although besides the obvious singles choices, I don't think there really are gems of songs here... besides "The Stranger In Your Voice" and the title track, maybe.
"The Glamour Chase", on the other hand, is a joy from start to finish. Even songs which you could consider as ABC-pastisches sound great, and the vocals on the ballads here, like "In Windows All" and especially "Empires Of Your Heart", put most singers to shame
(Celine Dion will never sound as emotional as Billy does on this brilliant track). Experiments with Boris Blank (of Yello fame) keep things interesting throughout. Good to see it's finally released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last! The 'lost and 'nearly lost' albums!, 18 Feb 2003
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perhaps / The Glamour Chase (Audio CD)
This era cannot be described as Billy's most creative/influential, but he still had some commercially viable ideas - mingling them with dark arrangements and some sympathetic production! Glamour Chase has been hyped like crazy, so finally hearing a digital quality copy is rewarding, but at the same time reveals the album's shortcomings a bit. This is really half a good album, the rest of the tracks are very listenable, but a shadow of his former self (and later releases showed him regaining form) - although vocally he is still king! The added Take Me To The Girl doesn't really fit tagged on the end, but it is a great pop tune in it's own right. Personally I prefer Perhaps, although some tracks do not benefit from the remastering. No cassette bonuses (slight niggle), there was room to put them on at the end, but the title track and Those First Impressions are very cool indeed. Tracks like Don't Give.... and Thirteen Feelings are stable stomps with a return to darker guitar sounds, whilst Helicopter is a love-or-hate inclusion (I love it, many don't!). Despite poor credits (ie essentially none) on liners, this is a worthwhile release, and WEA have to be partially commended for 'risking' it. As a fan you must buy this - it is a great document of the mid-late 80's Associates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What A Glamour !, 2 Nov 2013
By 
Michael 80 (San Francisco,USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Perhaps / The Glamour Chase (Audio CD)
I sort of skipped over Perhaps. It was so so. To me it was all about The Glamour Chase ! probably Mackenzie's most heartfelt and vocally powerful statement ! His version of The Rhythm Divine makes Shirley Bassey's version seem weak. Because You Love and You'd Be The One should've been singles at the time. Recorded 1988-89 but never released til 2002, TGC is worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories flood back, 31 Mar 2011
This review is from: Perhaps / The Glamour Chase (Audio CD)
Reminds me so much of my college days. Perhaps, along with Sulk, are to me the high points of the Associates unfortunately short career. Billy Mackenzie's voice was incredible and full of emotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome issue-reissue., 9 May 2002
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perhaps / The Glamour Chase (Audio CD)
This double-set collects The Associates albums 'Perhaps' (1985) and 'The Glamour Chase' (1989); the latter album has been languishing in vaults- never having been released.
'Perhaps' was not as great as predecessor 'Sulk'- this is due to the abscence of Alan Rankine and producer Mike Hedges. The album took several years to record with a number of producers (Martin Rushent, Martyn Ware, Dave Allen)and has patchy moments. It flits between masterpiece and mediocre- tracks like 'Schampout', 'Helicopter Helicopter', 'The Best of You' & 'Perhaps' fall into the latter. Sometimes these songs out-stay their welcome or they are desperate to find a hook- 'Schampout' seems to desperately reference 'It's Better This Way' from 'Sulk'. Mackenzie is in fine vocal form- the material isn't that great, no matter how deitified his work becomes from the posthumous perspective. There are some great songs: 'Don't Give me That 'I Told You So' Look' sounding like the next step on from 'Sulk', the gorgeous single 'Those First Impressions' and the despairing 'The Stranger in Your Voice'. My absolute favourites are '13 Feelings', which has a gorgeous, aching vocal where "perfume infects your leather head" and 'Waiting for the Loveboat'- which is not unrelated to The Bee Gee's 'You Should Be Dancin' (this is a complement) and spells out Mackenzie's vast ambition and contradictory behaviour. The greatest song here is 'Breakfast', also a single from 1984- this is as sublime as any solo Scott Walker and along with 'This Flame' is one of the wonderful torch songs his Ronnie Scott's performance was littered with and would recur on the posthumous albums (tracks like 'When the World was Young' and 'Blue it is'). This is one of Mackenzie's greatest moments and reason alone to own 'Perhaps'.Pity lost single 'Ice Cream Factory' didn't find its way here, ditto 'Breakfast' b-side 'Kites' (from 1981).
'The Glamour Chase' does have a very 80's production- though it is not as flat production wise as 'Wild & Lonely'- which took the guts out of songs like 'Just Can't Say Goodbye' & 'The Glamour Chase'...'Reach the Top' is the opening track written by ex-Josef K, Mackenzie-collaborater Paul Haig. It is somewhere between 'Alphabet City'-ABC and 'Enchanted'-Marc Almond. The backing vocals are slightly bland- sounding more like Living in a Box than Chic...The cover of 'Heart of Glass' is functional but a bit depressing- this is sounding like Mackenzie's 'Self Portrait'...'Terrorbeat' is more synth-funk whose keyboard motif preceds Leonard Cohen's 'Waiting for the Miracle'. "You can give me what I really want...", there is no doubt Mackenzie is in great vocal form. The song mutates towards ambient electronica halfway through- it's very catchy but not 'Club Country' or '18 Carat Love Affair'...'Set Me Up' is one of the greater moments, more white-funk from the international loner "the first time was the last time"- this is the kind of song that lead to the great Barry Adamson collaboration 'Achieved in the Valley of the Dolls'...'Country Boy' is even better- this was written by Die Zwei and featured on the 1990 'Popera'-compilation that vanished from my home after builders came in! As 'Snowball' it sounds like a song from a musical, a 21st Century 'Cabaret' of the minds eye. The production is not far from that of Martin Gore's 'Counterfeit'- songs such as 'Gone' or 'Motherless Child'.The bizarre chorus gives way to Mackenzie's pulsating vocals which are haunting & heartbreaking as ever...'Because You Love' sounds like a form of electro-soul that never appeared- what Bowie could have sound like if he had progressed as greatly as he had, rather than making the poor 'Lodger'. It sounds a little like Angelo Badalamenti's Julee Cruise album or a less violent 'Pain in any Language'. One of the highlights...'The Rhythm Divine' is a wonderful blend of Barry & Bassey co-written with Yello for the 'One Second' album (along with 'Moon on Ice'). This precedes the sound of Portishead by several years and is one of those great Associates moments.'Snowball' is also written with Yello (Boris Blank is rumoured to have several albums collaborating with Makenzie in his vaults)- this has a jazzy groove- think of Tom Waits 'One from the Heart' or The The's 'Twilight of a Champion'. Intrigueing and fantastic...'You'd be the One'has more of those very 80's backing vocals, though the keyboard hook is rather wonderful. This is still great pop music- the kind that H & Claire or Kylie would dream of performing...'Empires of Your Heart' is one of the greatest songs here- a not distant relative of Marc Almond's 'She Took My Soul in Istanbul'. The looped aching synths blend the John Barry sense of the epic with late 80's studio effects. It sounds like a relative of AR Kane's 'A Love Song from Outer Space' and ranks as one of the great Mackenzie songs- up there with 'Sour Jewel' and 'No'...'In Windows All' found its way onto the so-so 'Outernational' album- this sounds not unlike Giorgio Moroder's soundtrack to 'Midnight Express' or the 'Blade Runner' soundtrack as it opens. "I can't do anything and it chokes me up"- another 21st Century torch song; a ballad built on a sound not unlike Eno's 'On Land'...'Heaven's Blue' is a short piano based piece that reminds me of This Mortal Coil or 'Monday will Never Be the Same' by Husker Du (see 'Zen Arcade'). This is more blue-soundtrack music and an epilogue to 'The Glamour Chase' (and a precursor of aspects that would be explored with 'Beyond the Sun', 'Eurocentric' & 'Memory Palace')...The encore is the breezy 1985 single 'Take me to the Girl'- which is rather splendid and Moroderesque- "Geneva is the city of our love" recalls the Europa of 'White Car in Germany' and predicts that of 'The Rhythm Divine'. With all the Euro-clash type music ('Sunglasses at Night', 'Freak Like Me') or 80's sounding production ('Can't Get You Out of My Head', the H & Claire vomit) there should be an audience that would love Billy Mackenzie. This is the perfect pop that surfaced briefly in the 80's- an idea of pop taken to grandiose extremes- influenced by Abba,Bowie, Chic, Moroder and Roxy. Bands like ABC, Scritti Politti, Simple Minds and, of course, The Associates were taking pop to another stratosphere. And this is an album that ranks next to 'Cupid & Psyche 85'- it's a bit of its time, a bit bland- but has a dream of another pop world. It is also the album Mackenzie fans have been waiting for over a decade. It's no 'Sulk'- but what is? It's just a shame that it was never released in his lifetime- and you wonder if things would have been better this way if that had been the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underestimated work, 4 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Perhaps / The Glamour Chase (Audio CD)
PERHAPS is a special album regardless of what some think about it.It has it's merits and less than great tracks.Overall a fine example of Billy's maturity and the beginning of him turning into a great vocalist and singer. It doesn't have the innovation of SULK musically and that has added to it's dubious reputation.Listening today still to "Don't give me that I told you so Look" sends chills down my spine in the best way. I mean that as a big big compliment to Billy.
THE GLAMOUR CHASE is a fine album too if you can get past the bland uninspired version of "Heart of Glass".
Long live Billy Mackenzie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A tragic mirror, 5 Jan 2011
By 
Edo Brian (Milano, Italy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Perhaps / The Glamour Chase (Audio CD)
... of a burnt-out man. Is really unbelievable how much Associates music has been damaged by Rankine's departure (let's call it that way). McKenzie's queer fancies are finally accomplished, but Associates' double soul, made also of punk and weird violence, definitely disappeared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perhaps / The Glamour Chase
Perhaps / The Glamour Chase by Associates (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews