Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic in my opinion
I think this film is great and not as bad as other people say.If you have read the book you will no that this is a much closer film to the books plot than the howling 1.The film oozes atmosphere and the title song something evil,something dangerous really make this something special.I highly reccomend this evan if you havent seen the others as it has nothing to do with...
Published on 3 Feb 2009 by Adam Fox

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh dear
Jumping the shark just isnt the word, this movie falls flat on its hairy face. I loved the original though it could not outsnarl An American Werewolf in London (not Paris.) This sequel to one of the best werewolf movie ever is utter pump, the story is rubbish and it does its very best to insult its audience by showering us with crap acting, unrealistic character and lets...
Published on 9 July 2007 by Peter J. Hodgson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh dear, 9 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Howling IV : The Original Nightmare [DVD] (1988) (DVD)
Jumping the shark just isnt the word, this movie falls flat on its hairy face. I loved the original though it could not outsnarl An American Werewolf in London (not Paris.) This sequel to one of the best werewolf movie ever is utter pump, the story is rubbish and it does its very best to insult its audience by showering us with crap acting, unrealistic character and lets face it, really rubbish effects. Again the first movie was known for its groundbreaking effects and tried their best to outshine An American Werewolf but at least they tried...

If you want a half decent sequel out of this series of big bad sequels (note the word "bad"!!!) I will suggest watching Howling: Freaks! it is one of the better sequels though again suffers from poor FX but the acting is better and the story doesnt try to poo all over the original. Howling 7! dont get me started on that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Loathing the Lycan., 29 Mar 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Howling IV : The Original Nightmare [DVD] (1988) (DVD)
Back in 1976 as a wee boy I committed an act of youthful vandalism and readily managed to get one of my young pals blamed for it. On the 28th March 2014 I watched Howling IV: The Original Nightmare, this was an act of such cunning punishment I believe I was being paid back for my youthful misadventure. The Lord does indeed move in mysterious ways!

So this one is closer to Gary Brandner's source material, but that doesn't excuse what a bad film it is. Basically it's a reworking of the original classic Joe Dante film from 1981, shifting the locale doesn't fool anyone, what follows barely registers as a Werewolf movie, let alone as a piece of entertainment. Acting is out of a Kinder Egg and the direction equally so. Justin Hayward's theme song is decent, and Godfrey A. Godar's colour toning for his photography is pleasingly appropriate, but this really only serves as punishment cinema.

So, Robert, I'm sorry for 1976, you can consider your revenge well and truly enacted. Please consider the matter closed and don't summon up any more films like this for me to suffer. 2/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Spare yourself a nightmare., 8 July 2003
This review is from: Howling IV : The Original Nightmare [DVD] (1988) (DVD)
I was forced to give this movie one star, since it is impossible to give less.
The title of the movie basically says it all -- I howled after watching it (frustrated that I had actually spent money on it), and it WAS a nightmare to watch, sadly not original in the least. The movie reeks of the first movie, "The Howling", so much that anybody who has seen the first movie should be warned against watching this one.
My biggest grievances with this movie are:
1. The plot reminds way too much of the first movie. That may be fine, if done well, only it isn't. There is no suspense to speak of, I had trouble fighting off drowsiness.
2. There is no real sense of horror or dread invoked in the viewer. The story is very much predictable. Again, having seen the first movie lets you know in advance how things will unfold.
3. The special effects are far, far less impressive than those in the first movie. "Boring" doesn't begin to sum it up.
4. I found it difficult, nay, impossible to care about any of the characters in the movie. I actually found myself rooting for the monsters, just so this travesty would come to an end.
To anybody who likes good werewolf movies: do yourself a favour and buy "An American Werewolf in London", or if you haven't done so, snap up "The Howling". Those are two good movies. This one is a shallow rip-off, one not worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Howling for Soup, 12 Oct 2010
By 
Azz McMahon (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Howling IV : The Original Nightmare [DVD] (1988) (DVD)
This movie was called the Original Nightmare as it was supposed to be based more on the original story "The Howling" by Gary Brandner.

To a point - this is true - though the names of the characters have been changed, as have the events that lead the heroine Marie Adams (Romy Windsor) and her husband Richard (Michael T. Weiss, before the Pretender, with a horrendous semi-mullet 80's tough guy hair do and three day growth) to the small village of Drago (at least the village name is from the book!).

Some of the set pieces in the film are from the original book (those who have read the book will spot them a mile away), but it has been executed in a ham fisted way, and the budget has really been strained on this one - the real flaw of the Howling sequels was that nobody put any money into the effects compared to the groundbreaking work of Rob Bottin on the original.

This one uses a lot of gimmicks from old style horror movies - indeed old hat horror director John Hough (Twins of Evil) was the director, but because it was edited so haphazardly, you would wonder if it was directed at all - Hough himself has been quite vocal about the editing and interference from the producers and others working on the production, which was shot in South Africa.

The effects are very late 80s - animatronics, rubbery makeup - and one of the strangest werewolf transformations to be seen - certainly the goriest werewolf transformation ever to my eyes - where one of the characters literally melts into a puddle of bones and slimy primordial soup and reshapes into a wolf - crude, disgusting, and definitely gruesome - but certainly unique. In fact, I rather like it - though keeping with the occult theme of some of the Howling films (and indeed the books), the werewolves are seen as Satanic - even though there isn't your traditional cult in either books or this film!

The Devil just can't get a break it seems.

The ending is sloppy, and expected - but at least they tried.

Fortunately, Parts 5 and 6 would prove themselves to be excellent, despite their low budgets, because of good storylines - this one had potential if it had actually stuck to the first Howling book, and maybe it's sequel, but The Original Nightmare won't strike you with terror... it just might put you off eating soup for a day or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of "The howling" not much of "The Wolfing!", 28 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Howling IV : The Original Nightmare [DVD] (1988) (DVD)
I've read elsewhere that this film is a faithful adaptation of the book all these films are based on. Which is fair enough I can imagine the book being a very good read. But I did find the film quite slow at times.

I bought this fourth howling because I loved the third, but I think you'd struggle to find two more different films. Where as the third was packed with camp horror and cartoonish set pieces the fourth focuses on the neurosis and fears of a stressed author on a country getaway. This is where we start to hear the howling.

The story bumbles along for an hour with mental breakdowns, ghosts and hauntings and suchlike not so much grabbing yer attention as luring you into a sense of drowsiness and fatigue before... WHAM! We're back into the land of the living! 10 minutes from the end we get to see some actual werewolves!

Not a bad film just not a well paced film. Would probably look a lot better as a stand alone film rather than part of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic in my opinion, 3 Feb 2009
This review is from: Howling IV : The Original Nightmare [DVD] (1988) (DVD)
I think this film is great and not as bad as other people say.If you have read the book you will no that this is a much closer film to the books plot than the howling 1.The film oozes atmosphere and the title song something evil,something dangerous really make this something special.I highly reccomend this evan if you havent seen the others as it has nothing to do with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good entry in the series, 9 Mar 2008
By 
Neil B ""HINRG BOY"" (Bury, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a huge fan of the "HOWLING" series and part 4 is the best of the sequels. A good, solid cast and storyline. This is the nearest version you will get to the original HOWLING novel.
Good performances from all concerned and above average SFX for a film of its kind.
Well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There is a reason why it is called "The Original Nightmare"..., 6 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Howling IV : The Original Nightmare [DVD] (1988) (DVD)
...those of us who enjoyed reading the Gary Brandner novel "The Howling" could tell you why!

The first film called "The Howling" was supposedly based on the Brandner novel, but had so many changes made to the plot and the settings that it was nothing like the book. This was a huge disappointment, as the setting of the tiny hamlet of Drago described by Mr Brandner was so vivid and perfectly suited to the Werewolf genre that the contrived "Therapy Camp" they come up with in the first movie was nothing short of a travesty. The werewolves in the first film, together with the transformation effects, however, were top-notch.

The Howling IV is a faithful adaptation of the original novel, which is why it looks like the plot is heavily based on the first film. The truth is that the first film was actually heavily based on the plot of the fourth film(!) Sadly, the special effects in the fourth film weren't a patch on those in the first film. The werewolves at the end are simply a pack of dogs with glowing eyes added later...

My recommendation is that you forget both films - buy the books The Howling and The Return Of The Howling by Gary Brandner and experience the truly spine-chilling images that his writing conjures up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Howling IV : The Original Nightmare [DVD] (1988)
5.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews