Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off...
I am a huge fan of Jared Leto as an actor, and I also love his music so I'm writing this review I guess with a slight bias already. However I avoided this film for a while because of mixed reviews. Having watched it, I would say to anyone who can appreciate quirkiness and wants to see more of Jared's earlier movies, watch it - it's actually pretty good! Jared and Jake...
Published on 15 May 2010 by C. Bee

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the story
Meant to be a portrayal of the 90s, this film serves it's purpose as an unglamourous, styleless, and misguided tale of 3 youngsters' coming-of age. The acting in this is gorgeous. The heavenly and inately endearing Jake Gyllenhaal could charm the socks off someone with a sock fetish and the threesome work really well together. The story, however, is BAD BAD BAD. Selma...
Published on 21 Aug 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off..., 15 May 2010
This review is from: Highway [DVD] (DVD)
I am a huge fan of Jared Leto as an actor, and I also love his music so I'm writing this review I guess with a slight bias already. However I avoided this film for a while because of mixed reviews. Having watched it, I would say to anyone who can appreciate quirkiness and wants to see more of Jared's earlier movies, watch it - it's actually pretty good! Jared and Jake are in my opinion very convincing as best friends in the movie. Their affection for one another is totally believable and sincere. It's an easy film to watch, in essence a road trip movie about friendship which is heartfelt and sweet. Jared's character is so loyal; their friendship is strong and touching. And if you like Jared Leto, well, the shirtless scenes don't hurt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The thing is, 3 Oct 2006
By 
B. Forsyth "pilot" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Highway [DVD] (DVD)
This film apart from the glorious performances, not only from Jake and Jared, but of johnny .C. and my favourite performance by Jeremy Piven! The energy in his scene is something else. A buddy road film of the highest quality, fun, fantastic soundtrack, memorable quotes, and likable characters.

The story is great too, maybe to be taken as a laugh, but serious entities as well.

Then comes the direction, PERFECT!!!

1st time director James Cox, who had another underground hit with Wonderland. Why isn't he making more films??

Why this film hasn't reached public cult status yet is beyond me.

So I loved this film, my most watched DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little Known gem, 29 Aug 2002
This review is from: Highway [DVD] (DVD)
I was hugely impressed by this little known feature. All three leads are very impressive and the supporting cast including judgement nights Jeremy Piven are excellent. Selma Blair again oozes charisma in a performance every bit as good as her one in Storytelling. The film has a lovely renaissance feel for it's early nineties setting and the film glides by without slipping into heavy sentament or banality. I hugely recommend this title to anyone who likes there teen features with a little more punch. I think it can be best described as wild at heart meets say anything, and i mean that as a compliment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jared AND Jake! Can it get any better?, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highway [DVD] (DVD)
Jared and Jake - perfect! Took me right back to my youth - very watchable film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love this film!, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highway [DVD] (DVD)
i bought this film cause i love Jared and i have seen this film before and wanted a copy of it i have watched it too many times never get bored and a fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jared and Jake!!! Win!, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highway [DVD] (DVD)
With Jared Leto having won a best supporting actor Oscar i thought i would review some of his previous movies.

I'm a huge fan of both Jake and Jared and i also like Selma Blair so i was glad i got to see this movie. It isn't amazing but the three leads are great together. The movie is based in 1994 around the time or Kurt Cobain's suicide which is mentioned in the movie
The extra on this film is a trailer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 18 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Highway [DVD] (DVD)
Understandable why some people didn't like it - many need a strong story and moral direction to enjoy a film. But a classic road movie is like ...... well, a road. Characters are met along the way for no apparant reason, people meet and just hang because the road has brought them together, and the details of what they're escaping are minor to the general theme of escape.
This is an un-Hollywood film that never even tries to be Hollywood, but luckily it doesn't try too hard not to be. It just is what it is naturally.
Oh, and the two leads are both sweet and gorgeous and should be a couple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the story, 21 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Highway [DVD] (DVD)
Meant to be a portrayal of the 90s, this film serves it's purpose as an unglamourous, styleless, and misguided tale of 3 youngsters' coming-of age. The acting in this is gorgeous. The heavenly and inately endearing Jake Gyllenhaal could charm the socks off someone with a sock fetish and the threesome work really well together. The story, however, is BAD BAD BAD. Selma Blair plays as a prostitute and the other 2 as no-hoper buddies in trouble with some kind of a mob. Weak and totally unbelieveable, it saves itself (only slightly) at the end with a friendship/loyalty message. How touching I hear you cry! But seriously, this should only be given the time of day if you're a huge fan of one of the leads. Which I now am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All I can say is.....brilliant!! Loved it!!, 22 July 2014
This review is from: Highway [DVD] (DVD)
LOVE THIS!! If you are a Jared fan, WATCH IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jared Leto, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highway [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this mainly because Jared Leto is in it and I'm collecting his films. A good addition to my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Highway [DVD]
Highway [DVD] by James Cox (DVD - 2002)
£4.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews