Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent crossover album
I bought this out of curiosity, having heard the Vittoria song (from the single--not on the album) on the 2002 World Cup album. This is simply a beautiful album with beautiful singing. Karen and Rebecca, two traditional opera singers, have done an album using their traditional opera styling with some contemporary arrangements. The result: beautiful music. Rebecca's lyrics...
Published on 19 July 2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant
I was somewhat disappointed by this album. Reading the reviews I was expecting something special and didn't get it. The album starts off with 'One Fine Day' which is an excellent start but it is let down by the rest of the album. I have a number of opera discs in my CD collection and this one just doesn't shine above them. Having said that I have increased my rating from...
Published on 5 Dec. 2002 by John Crombie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent crossover album, 19 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Beyond Imagination (CD) (Audio CD)
I bought this out of curiosity, having heard the Vittoria song (from the single--not on the album) on the 2002 World Cup album. This is simply a beautiful album with beautiful singing. Karen and Rebecca, two traditional opera singers, have done an album using their traditional opera styling with some contemporary arrangements. The result: beautiful music. Rebecca's lyrics for Grieg's Piano Concerto (Sempre Ricordo), as well as some of the others are very tastefully done. Their two voices blend together well to make this album very enjoyable to listen to. I am a fan of traditional opera, as well as a fan of some contemporary music. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well crafted, unusual collection of great music!, 7 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Beyond Imagination (CD) (Audio CD)
Having read some of the comments on this collection, I was forced to comment. The album is certainly diffrent - and yet it appears, that this "diffrence" is the cause of the slating it is being given.
The CD is not meant for Die-hard opera fans - but it certainly is a wonderful introduction to the world of opera, without the high-brow stuffyness brought to you by most who cherish the genre.
What should be commented on, is the music. "Beyond Imagination" is a particular favorite of mine, with the contrasting vocal harmony sending shivers down the spine. There isn't a massive amount of variaty here, appart from two or so tracks which have a somehwhat unusal approach at trying to "upbeat" an opera song, which I, myself, have some reservations about... - appart from this track, everything else works.
Don't be put off by criticism by opera fans. This is opera - but it's opera with a DECENT tune. Sure Marriage of figaro is better par se, but at the end of the day, that is a complete work...a fully fledged opera. This CD is a collection of songs - and good ones at that. The music is good, it's catchy, it has impact, it is opera with occassional drums, and lots more power than you would find in marriage of figaro....it's different....so? Isn't that how music has evolved?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These babes know their opera!, 1 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Beyond Imagination (CD) (Audio CD)
I also bought this CD out of sheer curiousity and am delighted with it! The blend of these two voices is incredible and each piece unfolds with a passionate expression- it seems that these familiar tunes are just being performed for the first time. My favorites are the Ode II Joy track, Chanson Boheme, and Stranger in Paradise. While taking the risk of incorporating modern (and non-traditional) accompaniments, Karen and Rebecca never lose the integrity of the music and the album has appeal for both the die-hard opera fans, and those who swear they would never listen to opera. A must have for any CD library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So what's wrong with making opera approachable?, 7 Mar. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Beyond Imagination (CD) (Audio CD)
I've got the album -- love it, and am just buying a second copy to send to my Mum in the states. Don't listen to the naysayers reviewing (should I say slating?) this album. There will always be pretentious die-hard opera fans out there, and perhaps they should give this a miss. This isn't intended to be high-brow opera, so judging it as such is really apples and oranges. 'Beyond Imagination' is a Pop cross-over triumph, making Opera accessable to all. While there are a couple of tracks I could do without, ('Stranger in Paradise' and '1001 Nights,' for instance) I applaud the "babes" for their imaginative arrangements and incorporation of non-traditional instrumentation. Best track? It's a toss-up between the heart-stopping 'One Fine Day,' 'There's a Place,' and of course, 'Lakme H20.' Leave the serious Opera fans to their mothballs -- this is perhaps a bit too much fresh air and sunshine for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars singing starlets, 29 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Beyond Imagination (CD) (Audio CD)
i purchased this album the other day out of pure curiosity - after all the press and media attention the girls were getting. i just wanted to see what all the fuss was about. and now i know. this is quite simply a brillant album in many ways. their singing is beautiful and a joy to listen to. the music is divine and is produced in stunning fashion. my favorite piece is their version of grieg's piano concerto "sempre ricordo". quite wonderful
i recomend this album to anyone who needs to be proved wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant, 5 Dec. 2002
By 
John Crombie (Holywood, County Down United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Imagination (CD) (Audio CD)
I was somewhat disappointed by this album. Reading the reviews I was expecting something special and didn't get it. The album starts off with 'One Fine Day' which is an excellent start but it is let down by the rest of the album. I have a number of opera discs in my CD collection and this one just doesn't shine above them. Having said that I have increased my rating from 2 starts to 3 following subsequent listenings. It is not bad and it doesn't grate as background music.
If you are looking for popular opera music, there are better collections such as 'Opera goes to the Movies'. This ones fine but I wanted more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Brilliant., 20 Jun. 2002
This review is from: Beyond Imagination (CD) (Audio CD)
The title song, 'Beyond imagination' is truly brilliant. A real joy to listen to.
I'm both a classical fan and pop fan, and while traditional purists may not find this opera CD as great as I did, for those, "normal" people out there who can listen and judge without pre-judging on the singers stage name, "The opera Babes" they'll fnd this an amazing compilation of great music and a supreme listen.
I cannot stress how amazing the title song is though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entry level album, 16 Jan. 2009
By 
I. J. Davison "ianheadland" (Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Imagination (CD) (Audio CD)
If you have never heard of Operababes or only a little like myself, then this album is an excellent entry level CD and well worth every single track. the title track just blows my mind each time I hear it...and that's quite often...so if you're contemplating a purchase this is a good starter for your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love the music, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Imagination (CD) (Audio CD)
This is beautiful, beautiful music.The 2 voices create magic in some of the lovliest arias and songs. when I play it when reading or working I often just have to stop and listen.

Suitable for anyone who loves music or who would like to give something other than their normal preferences a try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful....., 29 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Imagination (CD) (Audio CD)
Heard one of these two singing/busking in Covent Garden years ago.....knew immediately she should be recording.

Des Lynam of BBC Sports fame, helped these two to progress, I believe.

Beautiful singing and harmonies, soprano, and mezzo soprano,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond Imagination (CD)
Beyond Imagination (CD) by Operababes (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews