Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What film-making is all about
This is hugely impressive film-making and probably all the better for having been made in Brazil. A subtle and moving film exploring the complex relationship between a boy and a woman. Any description of the plot would fail to convey how multi-layered and compelling it is to watch (even though some reviews suggest you can't please everybody!) I was gripped throughout, a...
Published on 2 Mar 2005 by Andy Millward

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big Place, Brazil
I was everso slightly disappointed with this. There's nothing very exciting about the film-making here, although the performances are fine. There are some nice shots out of the bus window and in the small-town places the couple end up in. There are some interesting moments and relationships which don't develop much. There is a fairly sweet ending. The acting is good...
Published on 31 Dec 2010 by Mario


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Central Station [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
My gf is Brazilian and recommended this Brazilian made film. It's marvelously filmed and is such a welcome alternative to today's high budget Hollywood offerings. The child actor is fantastic. It's not the happiest film you'll ever see but well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Central Station, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Central Station [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
A film about a recently orphaned young boy who befriends an older woman who agrees to help him find his missing father, the journey is far more difficult than expected and it takes them into many situations they have to deal with together, I liked the well acted film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I felt thrown headfirst into the multiethnic problem of Brasil- really great film!, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Central Station [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I watched the film late evening and couldn't leave it till it was finished. It was gripping, not dated even though made in 1998, I imagine these same cultural problems of illiteracy exist still now- and it kept me awake much of the night. The child was so visibly perturbed and so credible in his child-like resilience to misfortune, and the ex elementary school teacher (not only a sufferer herself from poor family origins but also ugly into the bargain) acted with such conviction that I'd recommend this film to anyonewho loves the neo-realist vein of film making. I bought it just to see the Sertao images of north Brasil but the whole film is really a haunting experience. BUY IT NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No German soundtrack, 2 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Central Station [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Unfortunatly the description at the amazon HP is not correct.
There is no german language at this DVD.

Languages: Portugese Dolby Surround 2.0
Subtitles:English/Englisch for the eharing impaired
Running Time: 106 min
Wiedescreen 2:35:1
Region Code: 2
EAN: 5 017188 884945
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big Place, Brazil, 31 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Central Station [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I was everso slightly disappointed with this. There's nothing very exciting about the film-making here, although the performances are fine. There are some nice shots out of the bus window and in the small-town places the couple end up in. There are some interesting moments and relationships which don't develop much. There is a fairly sweet ending. The acting is good throughout. Maybe it needs a second look. There was some decent comedy. It wasn't cinematic enough. It felt at home on the tv. Nothing bad about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, 16 Jan 2005
By 
Stephen J. Mason "sjmason6074" (isle of arran, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Central Station [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
A little dull really. Like a lot of these South American films the acting can be pretty dire. There is a lot of reliance on the kind of pioneering fascination with a new view of Brazil.
It is quite a nice little story, but will probably mostly appeal to the artsy types who aren't prepared to face up to sentimentality unless it has subtitles.
Nothing really very complex or particularly moving here, more the opposite showing a lot of the horrors of living in a poor country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 71 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I hate subtitles, but good film, 24 May 2006
By 
Mr. Mark C. Willis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Central Station [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Although I don't normally go for an arty relationship-based film like this one I thought it was pretty good. It's a film that draws your emotions out and you really feel for the two main characters. Makes a change to watch a film set in Brazil with a bit of a plot. My only negative is that I hate watching films with subtitles (would of given 4 stars otherwise)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 79 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful visually but a little bit dull, 2 Mar 2005
This review is from: Central Station [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film really engaged me as it offered an insight into South American culture and the realitites of poverty. The acting is excellent and very realistic however it is a VERY low budget film, simply two men on a motorbike, and it is about their journey across S.America and the relationship they forge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Central Station [DVD] [1999]
Central Station [DVD] [1999] by Walter Salles (DVD - 2002)
19.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews