Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully entertaining film for the whole family
Muppet Treasure Island is a must if you like the Muppets!
The light hearted fun factor of the movie goes from begining to end, with stars Billy Connolly (who has a small but pivotal part), and Tim Curry doing a wonderful job.
This movie is good enough to buy on dvd even without the bonus materials, but with them it's even better. There is a good mini documentary...
Published on 23 Feb 2003 by Joburble

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Viewing!
Chose this because it's entertaining all the family enjoyed the film.

I will recommend this film to all of my friends.
Published 10 months ago by Sophia Citro


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully entertaining film for the whole family, 23 Feb 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Muppet Treasure Island is a must if you like the Muppets!
The light hearted fun factor of the movie goes from begining to end, with stars Billy Connolly (who has a small but pivotal part), and Tim Curry doing a wonderful job.
This movie is good enough to buy on dvd even without the bonus materials, but with them it's even better. There is a good mini documentary about the making of the movie that shows you some of the sets, as well as small interviews with a few of the cast and crew. The sing along bonus feature is a bit of good fun for the children too. The movie has a feature comentary by director Brian Henson that is informative and pleasant to the ear. This movie also has plenty of good one liners, and the "Cabin Fever" scene is great!
I have been wanting to buy this movie for years and now that I have I am not dissapointed. I am happy with the sound and picture quality and the only drawback for me is that Disney didn't put it out on dvd sooner.
This is definately a movie that has appeal even after you have seen it a number of times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fresh Perspective Of A Literary Classic!, 6 Aug 2005
The Muppets always manage to bring a refreshing new perspective to literary classics, which in this case is 'Treasure Island', a book by R. L Stevenson, which children may previously have found boring if they had tried to read it or with older adaptations of the novel. The Muppets always manage to make it fun and enjoyable with a good selection of songs, and general good humour.
When Jim Hawkins is given an ancient pirate treasure map by his dying friend he decides that as he has nothing else to do he will get a boat and a crew, and go in search of the treasure that is marked with an X. While on the ship Jim meets Long John Silver, the one legged cook, and the two become friends. However him and many more of the crew may not be all that they first appear to be, and unfortunately for Jim he might find out the hard way.
The legendary Kermit the frog has the lead as far as the muppets go as the captain of the ship, with his other half, Miss Piggy who left and came to live on the island when Kermit left her standing at the altar. The rest of the gang also appear including, Rizzo the rat, Gonzo, Fozzy the bear, to name but a few. Tim Curry has the role of Long John Silver and is very good in this role. Kevin Bishop co stars as Jim Hawkins the young boy who was given the treasure map by his old friend Billy Bones, who was played by comedian Billy Connelly.
There are a number of nice extras on the DVD itself including: a documentary about the making of the movie with interviews from certain members of the cast and crew. There is a feature length commentary from the director Brian Henson which are always very interesting, and finally a sing along bonus that is wonderful for the kids.
Overall, 'The Muppets Treasure Island' is a fresh and new perspective on an old classic, and the muppets make it much more appealing to children, allowing them to enjoy classics such as 'Treasure Island' as well as adults. With a great cast, a great selection of songs that you just won't get out of your head (at least not for a while anyway), and plenty of jokes this films a winner and highly recommended, especially if you have young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's the Muppets - no surprises, but that's not a bad thing., 23 Nov 2000
By A Customer
In the most recent Muppets film, Muppets in Space, the best things about a Muppet film - the witty song lyrics, the subtle visual gags, the true humour of the bizarre - were sadly lacking. Treasure Island gets it all right. It's more grown up than Christmas Carol, with slightly edgier humour despite the fact that Christmas Carol had a darker storyline, but still manages to entertain the kids. Despite great characters and a fantastic role for Miss Piggy, the movie is stolen by the horde of rats, who hilariously parody humans taking a sterotypical cruise. Watch out for them also in more serious scenes! This film will please both kids and older Muppet enthusiasts. If you've enjoyed previous Muppets films, this one is well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly funny - Stephenson meets the Muppets, 25 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This is a truly brilliant film starring the Muppets and an all star cast with great performances from Billy Connoly and Tim Curry among others. The songs will have you laughing and wanting to join in (I especially enjoyed the singing heads at the beginning). The jokes are also on perfect Muppet standard. An all round good film for children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More believable than the other Disney version., 21 Jan 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
It was great to see all your old Muppet friends in a classic. The singing adds a new dimension to the story. Not that "Sixteen Men on a Deadman's Chest" is not good in its self. And the beautiful Benjamina Gunn added a more romantic touch. By the way if you enjoy the singing skulls you may also want to view the movie "8 Heads in a Dufflbag" with George Hamilton. The song "Cabin Fever" will have you singing along.

Talk about sophisticated dialog.

Benjamina Gunn says, "You left me standing at the altar!"

Captain Smollet replies, "I was on a ship headed for Zanzibar. I got cold feet."

Benjamina Gunn, "You're a frog! You're supposed to have cold feet!"

Tim Curry (being himself) was an excellent Long John silver. The only other film where he exceeded this is in the film "Oscar" with Sylvester Stallone.

This movie was nominated for both Golden Satellite Award and Young Artist Award.

No matter how you CUT it this is a worth while movie to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely funny with very catchy songs., 1 Nov 2000
By A Customer
I bought this cautiously on the recommendation of a colleague. Since then my girls (now seven years' old) and I have watched it dozens of times. I've never been a fan of the Muppets, but the (almost) believeable characters and story draw us in. Most movies of this ilk have dreadful songs, but we like these so much we bought the soundtrack CD! The end-of-film fight is a cracker - more likely than any Bruce Willis effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stevenson should have loved to view this, 18 Jan 2004
In a 1 to 5 stars classification, this DVD deserves 6 stars.
The film is great: the adaptation of the Robert Stevenson classic tale to the Muppet word is clever and perfect. The team that made the film even managed to have a role for the Jazz band and the cooker, in a smart variation to the Stevenson's tale. Smart how fights were changed to no killing and amusing sequences. Great, the idea to introduced rats on a ship as tourists in a "Carabean Pirate Cruise" (Rizzo the rat's idea). If you like The Muppets you will most certainly love this picture.
Sound is in Dolby Surround and there are subtitles. As extras you can view the film with background commentaries, the interviews about the film and a Sing-along. Pity this sing-along only plays 2 songs and does not include all the film musics, because they are great particularly "Shiver my timbers" and "Professional pirate".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just as ordered., 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted to update from a very old worn out video , good to get in dvd format. very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Viewing!, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Chose this because it's entertaining all the family enjoyed the film.

I will recommend this film to all of my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More believable than the other Disney version., 30 Sep 2003
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
It was great to see all your old Muppet friends in a classic. The singing adds a new dimension to the story. Not that “Sixteen Men on a Deadman’s Chest” is not good in its self. And the beautiful Benjamina Gunn added a more romantic touch. By the way if you enjoy the singing skulls you may also want to view the movie “8 Heads in a Dufflbag” with George Hamilton.
Talk about sophisticated dialog.
Benjamina Gunn says, “You left me standing at the altar!”
Captain Smollet replies, “I was on a ship headed for Zanzibar. I got cold feet.”
Benjamina Gunn, “You're a frog! You're supposed to have cold feet!”
Tim Curry (being himself) was an excellent Long John silver. The only other film where he exceeded this is in the film “Oscar” with Sylvester Stallone.
This movie was nominated for both Golden Satellite Award and Young Artist Award.
No matter how you CUT it this is a worth while movie to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Muppet Treasure Island [DVD] [1996] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£53.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews