Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ferry in fine form
If you're thinking about buying this album then it will be worth the purchase price for one song alone - the wonderful "A Fool For Love". Ferry has written some complex, deep, inventive and witty lyrics in the past but the words to this ballad are remarkably straightforward by comparison. Straightforward, but incredibly heart-rending. Ferry's voice has rarely been...
Published on 1 May 2002 by Richard Swift

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good
Apart from the witless images of Mr Ferry chasing a dozen fatal diseases, you'll find there's plenty to enthuse over here. Although I've never been too sure about Ferry's voice, the tight production suits him and tends to be more commercial than anything else.
This album first came to my notice via the-single-that-never-was - A Fool For Love - which I heard on the...
Published on 13 Jun 2003 by Sam TIP


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ferry in fine form, 1 May 2002
This review is from: Frantic (Audio CD)
If you're thinking about buying this album then it will be worth the purchase price for one song alone - the wonderful "A Fool For Love". Ferry has written some complex, deep, inventive and witty lyrics in the past but the words to this ballad are remarkably straightforward by comparison. Straightforward, but incredibly heart-rending. Ferry's voice has rarely been quite so moving and lovelorn as this and his performance is superbly complemented by magnificent musicianship in particular from Martin Wheatley, Chris Spedding, Pete Glenister and Mick Green on guitars, Julia Thornton on harp and Mary Nelson providing a wonderful soprano. In the words of the song you will feel "twisted up inside" after hearing this - it's a song that deserves a wider audience than an album track and hopefully it will see the light of day as a single.
However this critically acclaimed album is far more than one song. Variously described as Ferry's finest album for ten years or since "The Bride Stripped Bare" (1978), this sees Ferry embrace a range of musical styles far wider than anything he has done before, leaving those critics who considered he was destined to refine the sound of Roxy Music's "Avalon" ad infinitum foundering. The album comprises a half dozen covers including two fine but contrasting Dylan numbers - the guitar blazing "It's All Over Now Baby Blue" and a poignant, piano accompanied "Don't Think Twice, It's Alright". These rub shoulders with Leadbelly's Cajun laced "Goodnight Irene" and seven Ferry originals which see a return to the complex lyrics of yore, most notably on the Citizen Kane inspired "San Simeon". Thirteen songs including the new single "Goddess Of Love". A fine way to spend 47 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An new, old Ferry!, 19 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Frantic (Audio CD)
I thought that a new album was never going to come! And then there's two in a year!
The 30's cover album, and the tour with Roxy must have done Ferry a lot of good. He's really singing again, and obviously having a lot of fun! Which is great to listen to. The years seem to have flown, and flown off him!
He's managed to break out of what must have become a cloying style, and he's experimenting again - with different collaborators and different styles.
His voice seems to have an even smoother edge these days, but more articulate - no more slurring, moody whispers.
An excellent, diverse album that should please every Ferry fan - old and new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't stop playing this!!, 14 Aug 2002
This review is from: Frantic (Audio CD)
As a Roxy fan from day one, I couldnt fault the music up until Flesh and Blood. My tiny brain couldnt fathom why such a superb songwriter was so keen for cover versions, and dare I say it, drifted away from Ferry's music. After hearing this totally amazing CD its made me realise that I have a bit of catching up to do. All the tracks (including covers!) get better each time they are listened to, and proves the guy has still got it, big time. Any 'early' Roxy fan will appreciate this release, the bonus being the variety of music that has been put together (I defy anyone not to be charmed by 'I Thought') More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 24 Jan 2004
By 
cheeky (cheekyland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frantic (Audio CD)
This is one awesome record speaking as a wee cheeky young thing, well 20 something, who grew up listening to and admiring the man's music. Fool For Love is a stunning song and the cover of It's All Over Now Baby Blue is a stomper in the vein of fellow Dylan cover It's A Hard Rain That's Gonna Fall. Hiroshima shows him trying to stretch himself a bit and he succeeds. Would love to hear him collaborate with an act like Goldfrapp or The Neptunes or do an unplugged set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of those great impulse purchases..., 2 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Frantic (Audio CD)
I bought this on the strength of one track called "Cruel" that I heard played on Radio 2, and I was definately not dissapointed in the least!
This album has style, edge, great vocals, superb musicians, quality production and grows on you with every listen.
Quality songwiting, and original cover versions and some great collaborations show that Ferry really had alot of fun making Frantic.
From someone who was never a Ferry or Roxy fan, I'll definately be looking into the back catalogue now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A king reclaims his throne., 25 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Frantic (Audio CD)
In spite of being a devoted fan I haven't been that enthusiastic about his latest three albums. At least "As Time Goes By" was an interesting intermezzo followed by an excellent live performance. I needed an album with strong and well-defined melodies instead of these many much to etheric and close-to-ambient songs he has made for the last ten years. "Frantic" more than fulfills my desire for this, maybe as a result of his collaboration with other gifted musicians. The songs are a mix between cover versions (we already know his affinity to Dylan), a few nearly folk-like songs, bit of art-rock sound like early Roxy, 80's pop with a classy modern cut and some of the best ballads he has ever made. Filled with delicious production(could it be otherwise)and details like an interlude based on a poem by Richard the Lionhearted, another king who returned from exile.
If one song should be particularly praised it must be "I thought" written with Eno. This is another perfect last-song-on-the-album made for dim light, cigarette in hand, reminiscing lost loves. If anybody was ever a master of this it was Bryan Ferry.
An album to be thankful for - and still it is growing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the Future, 30 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Frantic (Audio CD)
A fascinating album which returns Ferry to a more immediate sound reminiscent of the period from Another Time, Another Place thru The Bride Stripped Bare.
For someone who isn't a Bob Dylan fan (please don't flame), Baby Blue is a welcome surprise - Ferry's voice is complemented by the string arrangements compared to the earlier interpretation It Ain't Me Babe, where his voice is almost forced along by the brass section.
Whilst the other Dylan interpretation (Don't Think Twice, It's Alright) is less rocky - the only elements being voice and piano - it still repays repeated listening, which is also true of Goodnight Irene (a Leadbelly song) where Ferry possibly indicates that he found the music of O Brother, Where Art Thou an influence to return to some of his old 78 collection of blues classics.
The cover of Goin' Down chuggs along in a manner reminiscent of some of JJ Cale's best work - play it immediately after Cajun Moon, you'll see what I mean - and One Way Love could have been a worthwhile addition to Taxi.
But when push comes to shove, the main reason for waiting patiiently for eight years is to listen to some original songs from one of the most influential singer/songwriters of the past 30 years and happily the wait is well worth it.
The new songs are a mixture of solo efforts (A Fool For Love/Hiroshima...) and collaborations with Brian Eno (I Thought) - how good to hear them in tandem again - Colin Good and Richard Coeur de Lion ? (Ja Nun Hons Pris), more commonly, Dave Stewart (Cruel/Goddess Of Love/Nobody Loves Me/San Simeon).
Particularly impressive are Cruel - as close to a protest song that you'll get from Ferry - San Simeon (a cross between the fetishist's favourite In Every Dream Home A Heartache and the marathon love song Mother Of Pearl) and Hiroshima... which again echoes Dream Home's vision of isolated loneliness but using a post-war wilderness as hook against the earlier song's Hollywood decadence.
Allegedly, there is lyrically more risque, more immediate version of San Simeon, which has its roots in the abandoned Alphaville sessions of the late 90's - I for one would love to hear it appear on what must be a much overdue Ferry box set (equivalent to Roxy's Thrill Of It All) alongside the revised Mother of Pearl from Ordinary Decent Criminal (also from Alphaville).
The Richard I poem is the oddity on this album - half a minute of medieval instrumentation and Norman French soprano vocals (not Ferry's, I'm pleased to say) - for which the English translation gives a clue to our hero's 30 year obsession with melancholy.
I Thought is the closing work: Eno joining Ferry in the chorus of this curious lovechild of Eno's Another Green World and Roxy's post-Eno Stranded - introduced by electonica made to sound cheap and tinny which is progressively enriched by guitar, piano, rhythm section and Ferry's harmonica which is a constant motif throughout the album.
Particular praise should be aimed at Colin Good and Rhett Davies for giving Ferry the confidence to unmask his voice from the fog which has become a trademark since Boys And Girls and for finally bringing this album to fruition. It also appears that the As Time Goes By album and tour, which convinced Ferry to finally concede to reforming Roxy, has also helped him rediscover a wider range of styles than the aural haiku impressionism than has been so dominant for so long.
Not so long next time please - no, really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan's best solo album since 'Boys and Girls', 29 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Frantic (Audio CD)
'Frantic' is fantastic - Bryan's best work since 'Boys and Girls'. It is a mixture of covers and original material. The Dylan song, 'It's All Over Now Baby Blue' sets the up-beat tone for the rest of the album. Bryan's own 'Cruel' is very strong. 'Goddess of Love' is a wonderful song inspired by Marilyn Monroe. As we listen through more great songs, a masterpiece ends the album with a collaboration between Ferry and Eno, 'I thought'. Wonderful piece of work, Bryan!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is, quite simply, brilliant!, 13 May 2002
This review is from: Frantic (Audio CD)
Absolutely brilliant CD from Bryan Ferry. The clock seems to have turned back in time and we are now, once again, hearing the real Mr Ferry. Lyrics and music are terrific, and his cover versions of Bob Dyan tracks are tremendous. Once played, never forgotten!
Fab photos of Bryan too - which is an obvious bonus!
Quite simply - don`t miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Ferry - Frantic, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frantic (Audio CD)
I rated this album accordingly as its a great collection of original work.

The productionis very good and consistent with the artists reputation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frantic
Frantic by Bryan Ferry (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews