Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars51
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 18 November 2007
GTA 3 was a breath of fresh air for rockstar productions. with the hits of GTA 1 and 2, they hit a new angle with 3. the layout is now in 3rd person instead of the old fashioned birds eye view and eveything seems so modernised in the game. the weapons are incredible, the graphics as well and the strong storyline caps off rockstar's greatest achievement. Of course following this we have GTA: Vice City and GTA San Andreas. however it was GTA 3 that starts off the trend of this new style and will continue to do so. this is certainly a must own for any fan of the GTA series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 23 February 2003
I won't bang on about how great this game is. This fact is generally acknowledged by the multitude. I will simply state the good points, and the bad points.
Good points:
-Amazingly large "play-area"
-Taxi Missions up to the level of crazy taxi
-Freedom, Non-linearity
-Really good sub-missions.
You don't have to play the game to play the game, you can just fool around a lot.
Bad points:
-The usual things that make a game like this unrealistic; the cars' exploded debris dissappearing, for example. Clear-up men with a truck would have added a whole new side tothe game.
-Cars disappearing. I happen to like the taxis, so I press the "look behind" button, and think "oh, look, it's a taxi". I turn my car around and Presto! all the cars which were behind me a second ago have vanished, to be replaced by a big red van. This annoys me.
-Likewise, cars you have left (except tanks, thankfully) disappear soon after, or at the latest when you save.
All in all, a brilliant game, marred only by those points I have mentioned above.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 9 January 2003
GTA: 3!! I mean, what words can i think of that can describe it? A few that come to mind are; Incredible; Incitive; Fun; Ultra Mega - Mega Mega Playable!! If you get bored of doing the missions (which almost never happens!) You can do almost anything else!! You can just go around killing people or hijack a car and take it the docks and get paid for it... ram it off the edge of a ramp or go for a nice drive around the country. Maybe driving over some helpless victims on the way. The game GTA started it's big name on the playstation with, lets face it, a crud interface. You have a single birds eye view looking down on a yellow blob and the cars would blow up if you hijacked them. Now the producers have really thought and come up with great ideas!! They must have been up all night because there is so much stuff in Liberty city to do.. You WILL be hooked for hours!! I haven't seen one bad comment about this game!! (One bad thing springs to mind though, after 3sequels to the game... why haven't the police caught him whilst sleeping??? Ah well, it doesnt matter!)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 14 February 2003
GTA 3 may have briefly been the peak of console gaming, and its long awaited return to the PC may have been one of the most hyped moments of 2002, but overall, this game is over-hyped in my opinion.
Graphically, it isn't exactly cream of the crop, and certainly has been badly converted to the PC. It will demand a monster system for smooth play in busy areas. My Athlon 1000 with 320 RAM struggles on 640x480, and it is patched. Anyone with a lower system should give up right now. What's even worse is a plethora of errors in running the game, as well as multiple in-game bugs.
If you get it to work, GTA 3 will offer some fantastic entertainment. Initially it is a thrill just to wonder the city and listen to the radio stations, aggravate gangs and police and generally just live. However, the game may be hyped as "free-form" but most missions are fairly linear, and the process of unlocking islands is frustrating. After a while, you lose interest in playing fair and cheat constantly to complete the game.
After a couple of weeks play, you lose interest and jst wander round, finding secrets and going on rampages. The game loses any long term appeal, and playing fair limits your enjoyment.
What saves the game is the sheer depth of it. Running over dozens of pedestrians, ploughing cop cars into the sea, causing huge car bonfires- the list of things to do is endless. Little things like kill-frenzies and super jumps keep things itneresting, and you can always arm yourself to the teeth and take on a group of gangsters.
There are corrections to the PS2 original. The aiming system is now the typical FPS arrangement, which is a relief. There are also plenty of graphical options, such as increasing draw distances. Driving with a keyboard is surprisingly smooth, but still pales compared to using the PS2 controller.
Unfortunately, this game just doesn't have enough long-term appeal. Most people I know who own it admit that they hardly ever play it, and after the initiall joy wears away, prepare for boredom. Only get it if you don't have a PS2.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
just right
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
35 of 69 people found the following review helpful
on 14 April 2002
Man. WOW what a action pack, car chasing, cop smashing game. This is the kind of game for all you Formula 1 wannabes and also criminals put together with its brilliant visuals and stunning graphics. I played it round my mates house when he ordered it specially (dont ask me how he got it, i just play on it :) ) and i was sitting there for the next 4 hours. Trust me if you like GTA and GTA2 and London, YOU WILL LOVE THIS VERSION OF GTA. The makers have taken it to the MAX.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 10 August 2003
One of the true greats - after the disappointment of GTA 2 finally a sequel has been made that fits the originality of the first game. A huge number of missions, cars, weapons and characters give Liberty City a real living feeling, creating a realistic environment for the player. Add to this many different radiostations, gang wars and police patrols and you have one of gamings most complete worlds not to come out of an RPG. With improved graphics and an easier control system (no more fiddling with the awful analogue stick to aim) the game finally gets the platform it deseves. Now many people have complained about this game (and this is probably the reason for such a bargain price) that this game is bug ridden and runs terribly. Well i have played it for a week now on my Athlon XP 1700, 512mb RAM and GeForce 4 Ti4200 128mb and have found no bugs and no compatabuility errors. This may be just lucky me but if your PC does run this game then at this price a game of such quality cannot be missed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on 31 May 2004
I was waiting for this to come out for months in anticipation. I was severely let down.
The worst thing about it is the missions. A good half of them go like this- move to these places and pick up\destroy these things, with a time limit. The developers could have been much more imaginative. Also, they are very frustrating as they are generally pointlessly difficult, and when you fail you need to go all the way back to the mission start point. Couldn't you just restart the mission? The whole thing reeks of poor design.
Also, don't expect the same level of freedom of GTA 2. Although there's plenty of extra missions, there's no system where you earn the respect of gangs to do missions for them. The game is linear.
On the plus side, the music is excellent and varied. There's something for everyone, including rap, drum and bass, pop, dub and even classical! There's also a very amusing chat station.
The graphics are somewhat poor (and yes, they were poor back in 2002 when this PC version was released). The draw distance for the buildings is excellent, but the city is on the whole very blocky and undetailed. Unfortunately, that good draw distance doesn't apply to the people and cars, who pop in about 40 ft. in front of you. The people aren't the best either, but then again many are displayed at once. The cars are pretty good.
Overall, the game can be very fun, having an entire city to explore and endless civilians to kill. I don't recommend it though.
Although it fails to fix many of this game's major faults (the missions are better, though) I suggest Vice City rather than GTA 3.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 3 August 2003
jolly good game everyone should have it i might be just a tad old for this type of thing but that just proves that it can be played throughout the age groups of 18+.
make sure you get craking game going to get vice city now.ta ta
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 28 June 2002
If you played the previous versions of this game, then this might be a little disapointing, becuase its exacly the same, only that its in 3D.. and if your used to 3D games.. then this offers nothing new, same missions, same story, same outcome.. I have got to level 2 our of 3 i guess u could say, on centre island.. and now i dont play it.. since from that point, i realized, there was nothing to offer me, that i hadent done before. so felt tirsome, to compleate it.
If this is the first time your playing this game, then go for it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City PC
Grand Theft Auto: Vice City PC by Take2 (Windows 2000 / XP)

Grand Theft Auto V (PC)
Grand Theft Auto V (PC) by Rockstar (Windows 7 / 8 / 8 Pro)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.