Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


122 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A total ground breaker!!
This game shatters all previous concepts of playability. The game offers such an extensive arena to play in you are sure to never get bored of all this game has to offer. Assume the role of policemen, taxi drivers, hired gunman and much more. All you have to do is steal the appropriate car and adopt its role on offer. Pick up taxi customers, drive them, have them pay...
Published on 8 April 2002 by a discerning customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright
A good classic GTA but not the best compare to GTA SA . Its worth playing before getting GTA 5 or while you've it.
Published 15 months ago by Super 2013


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad systems?, 2 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PC) (Video Game)
The dude who seems to think GTA3 runs badly on his Athlon 1000xp system with 320mb ram probably needs to have his system looked at.
To be fair I'm running a GeForce 2 GTS 32mb ddr but this is only on a 500mhz PIII running 320mb ram. It virtually flies at 800x600, it just needs a little tweaking (try turning trails and frame sync off etc). Other than that you're rocking.
Most people I know run a way better system than me these days to I really don't think this is going to be a problem.
As for the game, it has serious longevity. The missions are fantastic, but it's the size and detail of the city, coupled with the taxi, police, fire, and ambulance missions. The kill frenzys are there and occasionally a race will pop up, which adds yet another facet to an already diverse and immersive experience. You really cannot ask for more from a game.
There are some that critisise the morality of the game, and the example it sets to youngsters etc. This really isn't the forum for that kind of discussion but it's hard to see how this game would want to make your 13 year old child want to go carjack some granny or gun down a businessman. I know they're not supposed to be playing that but those who are are 18+ and aren't too likely to be enticed into a life of crime and violence either (unless they already are). Bottom line this is a computer game, and a damn good one at that. Doom didn't have me thirsting for demon blood, this is unlikely to have a similar effect.
That said, it rocks. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gta 3 rocks the pc world, 6 Mar 2004
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PC) (Video Game)
well....what can i say about this game apart from it's the best game that ANYONE could buy...inside the game itself..theres hour upon hours of fun...you can Never get bored. the music is fab...the cars are great...but why stop there? since the gta franchise began.the controversial gta (original.with the now naff look down view) was not quite finished in my eyes...and then things began to change after the disgraceful gta 2. Now with it's 3d looks and the superb gameplay...gta3 is not just a sequel...it is a beginning to a whole new gaming world..anyone who loved this should buy vice city and the upcomming SAN ANDREAS...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it now, 24 Mar 2003
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PC) (Video Game)
very good game and it is better than it sounds. You get one of the words best 4x4 in the whole world. Vice city is not as good belive me just buy gta111
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PC) (Video Game)
Arrived timely, worked well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, best game yet!!!, 30 Oct 2002
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PC) (Video Game)
Rockstar and Take 2 have done it, GTA3 has got to be one of the best games on the new market! Firstly, the graphics are excellent, although a more powerful video card is required, no game in its class has a chance of competition. Secondly, the gameplay is so exciting and also addictive, you could find yourself playing all day. Thirdly, the fact that 'Liberty City', is so like any real city, it just adds to the true gaming experience. And finally, my favorite aspect of the game are the cars, so many to choose from, and they all handle differently! I recomend this game to anyone, I have had GTA3 for severaly months, and am still playing it. Also if you are a fan of mp3's, you will find the mp3 player quite handy, it allows you to choose mp3's to play as a radio station in the cars. Overall, a great game in every aspect, buy it now!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its groundbreaking but has its bugs, 31 Mar 2003
By 
R. Wells (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PC) (Video Game)
After its success on the ps2 i couldn't wait for the conversion to the pc and i wasn't dissapointed i honestly player this game solidly for a day but after the initial thrill of wondering around a living city listening to the sounds of lazlow on chatterbox i began to notice so bugs like every so often you would fall into "Blue hell" or in other words under the city.
if you have a good enough Pc to run this game smoothly which i do on a 1.2ghz athlon then this will keep your playing for months even after you have finished the main game you will keep driving round making pile up's and killing random people whilst listening to MP3's imported into you own radio station.
I would recommened this game but make sure you PC will run it first to avoid dissapointment although there is bugs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the worlds best game, 18 Nov 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PC) (Video Game)
GTA 3 was a breath of fresh air for rockstar productions. with the hits of GTA 1 and 2, they hit a new angle with 3. the layout is now in 3rd person instead of the old fashioned birds eye view and eveything seems so modernised in the game. the weapons are incredible, the graphics as well and the strong storyline caps off rockstar's greatest achievement. Of course following this we have GTA: Vice City and GTA San Andreas. however it was GTA 3 that starts off the trend of this new style and will continue to do so. this is certainly a must own for any fan of the GTA series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good show, old bean, 23 Feb 2003
By 
Redmans Cobe (Waldbillig Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PC) (Video Game)
I won't bang on about how great this game is. This fact is generally acknowledged by the multitude. I will simply state the good points, and the bad points.
Good points:
-Amazingly large "play-area"
-Taxi Missions up to the level of crazy taxi
-Freedom, Non-linearity
-Really good sub-missions.
You don't have to play the game to play the game, you can just fool around a lot.
Bad points:
-The usual things that make a game like this unrealistic; the cars' exploded debris dissappearing, for example. Clear-up men with a truck would have added a whole new side tothe game.
-Cars disappearing. I happen to like the taxis, so I press the "look behind" button, and think "oh, look, it's a taxi". I turn my car around and Presto! all the cars which were behind me a second ago have vanished, to be replaced by a big red van. This annoys me.
-Likewise, cars you have left (except tanks, thankfully) disappear soon after, or at the latest when you save.
All in all, a brilliant game, marred only by those points I have mentioned above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GTA: 3, 9 Jan 2003
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PC) (Video Game)
GTA: 3!! I mean, what words can i think of that can describe it? A few that come to mind are; Incredible; Incitive; Fun; Ultra Mega - Mega Mega Playable!! If you get bored of doing the missions (which almost never happens!) You can do almost anything else!! You can just go around killing people or hijack a car and take it the docks and get paid for it... ram it off the edge of a ramp or go for a nice drive around the country. Maybe driving over some helpless victims on the way. The game GTA started it's big name on the playstation with, lets face it, a crud interface. You have a single birds eye view looking down on a yellow blob and the cars would blow up if you hijacked them. Now the producers have really thought and come up with great ideas!! They must have been up all night because there is so much stuff in Liberty city to do.. You WILL be hooked for hours!! I haven't seen one bad comment about this game!! (One bad thing springs to mind though, after 3sequels to the game... why haven't the police caught him whilst sleeping??? Ah well, it doesnt matter!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious but flawed., 14 Feb 2003
By 
D. Moss "systemj" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PC) (Video Game)
GTA 3 may have briefly been the peak of console gaming, and its long awaited return to the PC may have been one of the most hyped moments of 2002, but overall, this game is over-hyped in my opinion.
Graphically, it isn't exactly cream of the crop, and certainly has been badly converted to the PC. It will demand a monster system for smooth play in busy areas. My Athlon 1000 with 320 RAM struggles on 640x480, and it is patched. Anyone with a lower system should give up right now. What's even worse is a plethora of errors in running the game, as well as multiple in-game bugs.
If you get it to work, GTA 3 will offer some fantastic entertainment. Initially it is a thrill just to wonder the city and listen to the radio stations, aggravate gangs and police and generally just live. However, the game may be hyped as "free-form" but most missions are fairly linear, and the process of unlocking islands is frustrating. After a while, you lose interest in playing fair and cheat constantly to complete the game.
After a couple of weeks play, you lose interest and jst wander round, finding secrets and going on rampages. The game loses any long term appeal, and playing fair limits your enjoyment.
What saves the game is the sheer depth of it. Running over dozens of pedestrians, ploughing cop cars into the sea, causing huge car bonfires- the list of things to do is endless. Little things like kill-frenzies and super jumps keep things itneresting, and you can always arm yourself to the teeth and take on a group of gangsters.
There are corrections to the PS2 original. The aiming system is now the typical FPS arrangement, which is a relief. There are also plenty of graphical options, such as increasing draw distances. Driving with a keyboard is surprisingly smooth, but still pales compared to using the PS2 controller.
Unfortunately, this game just doesn't have enough long-term appeal. Most people I know who own it admit that they hardly ever play it, and after the initiall joy wears away, prepare for boredom. Only get it if you don't have a PS2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto III (PC)
Grand Theft Auto III (PC) by Rockstar (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews