Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bull Durham: nostalgia or syrup?
This is first and foremost a thoroughly enjoyable romantic comedy. Kevin Costner has a believable role at the centre of a fine ensemble cast (Susan Sarandon, Tim Robbins, Robert Wuhl). He is no method actor but seems very well suited to play 'Crash Davies', a mildly cynical minor league baseball professional brought in to act as part coach/ part father figure to Tim...
Published on 2 Sep 2002 by Charles Jackson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated
Another of those classics I've never seen and I have to admit I'm surprised by the number of 5 star reviews here. I'm wondering if others saw it on first release and have either not seen it since or it has taken on a nostalgic hue. To a 21st century newcomer I found it rather dated - not just the clothes and look but the whole feel of the film with its mock profound...
Published on 25 Jun 2012 by J & K


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bull Durham: nostalgia or syrup?, 2 Sep 2002
This review is from: Bull Durham [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
This is first and foremost a thoroughly enjoyable romantic comedy. Kevin Costner has a believable role at the centre of a fine ensemble cast (Susan Sarandon, Tim Robbins, Robert Wuhl). He is no method actor but seems very well suited to play 'Crash Davies', a mildly cynical minor league baseball professional brought in to act as part coach/ part father figure to Tim Robbins' young cocky pitcher. Susan Sarandon provides both plot and love interest.
The great thing about this movie is the affectionate but not mushy portrayal of small town America and the reality of baseball outside 'the show'. My American friends tell me it is very believable.
Finally, I won't spoil the plot (for what it is), but watch out for a couple of great one-liners from Robert Wuhl, a veteran of the American stand-up comedy circuit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Baseball Movie, 12 Jun 2007
This review is from: Bull Durham [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Kevin Costner and Susan Sarandon burn up the screen. Costner in particular is excellent, showing a knack for verbal comedy and physical heroism that he put on a shelf until "Tin Cup." And Tim Robbins turns in a memorable performance as Nuke Laloosh.

I see no reason in going into the plot details, as everyone who has seen the film knows what "Bull Durham" is about, and those who haven't seen it are in for a wonderful treat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Baseball Atmosphere And Wonderful Comedy, 26 July 2006
By 
Peter Kenney (Birmingham, Alabama, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bull Durham [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
BULL DURHAM is an excellent movie about minor league baseball in North Carolina. It has enough authentic atmosphere to appeal to any baseball fan - particularly anyone who has ever followed a minor league team. The acting is first-rate and the script is loaded with humor. Kevin Costner, Susan Sarandon and Tim Robbins are superb and director Ron Shelton deserves high praise for producing an admirable film similar to his later WHITE MEN CAN'T JUMP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crash, Nuke and Annie Savoy., 27 Nov 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bull Durham [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Bull Durham is written and directed by Ron Shelton, it stars Kevin Costner, Susan Sarandon, Tim Robbins, Robert Wuhl and Trey Wilson. Music is by Michael Convertino and cinematography by Bobby Byrne.

Annie Savoy (Sarandon), small town groupie of the Durham Bulls minor league baseball team, takes a different player from the team into her bed each year and in the process imparts her considerable knowledge of the game on them. This year is tricky, though, two candidates catch her eye. One is young air-head, but talented, pitcher Ebby Calvin LaLoosh (Robbins), the other is the wise older veteran of the leagues Crash Davis (Costner), who has been employed to be the Bulls' catcher and mentor to LaLoosh. Annie and the two men's lives are about to change considerably.

It's a rare old thing is this, a sports movie that manages to be funny, tender, romantic and spirit lifting all in one. Writer/director Ron Shelton draws on his own real life experiences of the minor leagues to tell his story with skill, whilst cloaking it in authentic looking splendour. His tale is boosted by three excellent lead performances from Sarandon (savvy and sexy), Robbins (ebullient naivety) and Costner (charismatic and natural), with the added bite that, refreshingly in a male dominated environment, it's Sarandon's Annie who is the centre of the story (she narrates also). True enough to say that some of the sports dialogue will not be to everyone's liking, erm hello non baseball fans, but in the main it's a wholesome and mature romady that keeps on giving rewards with each subsequent viewing.

Clearly about more than baseball, it's a film that's easy to love and laugh along with. 8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Baseball and romantic comedy all rolled into one!, 8 May 2013
By 
Steve.J (Glos. UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bull Durham [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
This 1988 film features a great cast of Kevin Costner, Susan Sarandon, Tim Robbins, Robert Wuhl and Trey Wilson, in this sports / romantic comedy about one season in minor league baseball, set in the Carolinas states of the U.S. I don't think it matters if you are a baseball fan or not, this film is just a wonderful look at life in the lower levels of professional sport, where people are just earning a living, not mega-bucks superstars. The director, Ron Shelton does a superb job of bringing this story to life and hopefully satisfying the sports fan and rom-com addict at the same time.

Costner plays a veteran catcher brought in to mentor a talented but wild young pitcher (Robbins). Sarandon plays a teacher and baseball fan that takes one player under her wing (and into her bed) every year, and provides her own baseball wisdom, coaching and life experience!! The difficulty for her is who does she choose, the veteran or the rookie? Meanwhile, the manager (Wilson) and his assistant (Wuhl) are desperately trying to get the team out of their losing streak. Full of some great, witty dialogue and earthy one-liners, this film does have its share of sex and bad language (it is rated 18) so be prepared for that, but it plays with a very natural and fun feeling to it. My wife and I have watched this a few times now and I am sure we will watch it again (and my wife is no great sports fan). It does reflect the time at which it was made, so settings and costume seem a bit dated, but that just adds to the slightly nostalgic feel - brilliant viewing for 100 minutes or so!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kevin Costner at his best, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bull Durham [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
I do feel this is one of Costner's best performances, but giving that he had Susan Sarandon and Tim Robbins along for the ride, he had a lot to live up to.

I do love this film, the story of a man at the end of his baseball career in the minor leagues, still great but just not GREAT, realising slowly that there has to be more to life and finding it in Sarandon, who also seems to avoid reality by obsessing over baseball and 'breaking-in' a player each season readying them for their baseball career.

The speech Costner makes to Sarandon: "Well, I believe in the soul, the cock, the pussy, the small of a woman's back, the hangin' curveball, high fiber, good Scotch, that the novels of Susan Sontag are self-indulgent, over-rated crap. I believe Lee Harvey Oswald acted alone. I believe there oughta be a constitutional amendment outlawing AstroTurf and the designated hitter. I believe in the sweet spot, soft-core pornography, opening your presents Christmas morning rather than Christmas Eve. And I believe in long, slow, deep, soft, wet kisses that last three days. Good-night."

Fantastic :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bull Durham [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
can't help it i love this movie. being an american who cant stand america and has left and especially dislikes hollyweird it is amazing that i have seen this one around ten times and just bought it again. saranden and robbins really pull it off. all in it are likeable. the sexy bits are lovely. its funny, it's ridiculous. but it even gives one a feel for baseball that isn't just a giant yawn. fun stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film !, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bull Durham [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
A great film at a great price ! Dvd arrived promptly and in perfect condition. The film itself is the best sports comedy/drama ever !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In the minor leagues, 24 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Bull Durham [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Story of an aging catcher who is brought in to the low minor leagues to mentor a pitcher with a big arm but little control. Meanwhile, the local girls hook-up with the players. A love-triangle with some good one-liners. Insightful and engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bull Durham [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Great film well worth seeing again as it's been around for nearly 30 years , it's a film that grows with age each time i see it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bull Durham [DVD] [1989]
Bull Durham [DVD] [1989] by Ron Shelton (DVD - 2002)
6.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews