Customer Reviews


228 Reviews
5 star:
 (169)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cats is Purrfect!!
What can you say that's bad about this DVD? This is a must buy for every musical fan! I have watched this over 80 times now and i am NOT joking either, it's addictive.The plot, though not very strong is simple, once a year a tribe of Cats meets in a junkyard for the annual Jellicle Ball in which their leader chooses one of the cats to go to the Heavyside Layer where they...
Published on 4 July 2003 by Flower_Child

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another mess from Universal.
This blu ray is not as good as my original DVD. The grain is shocking, the definition poor, colour saturation, contrast and black levels very weak. Having suffered from the Universal/BFI Citizen Kane release (very inferior to the Warner's pristine transfer) and their very poor "Marnie" and "Family Plot" I shall not be pre-ordering any more of their blu rays until I have...
Published 13 months ago by Adrian Drew


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cats is Purrfect!!, 4 July 2003
This review is from: Cats - Ultimate Edition [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
What can you say that's bad about this DVD? This is a must buy for every musical fan! I have watched this over 80 times now and i am NOT joking either, it's addictive.The plot, though not very strong is simple, once a year a tribe of Cats meets in a junkyard for the annual Jellicle Ball in which their leader chooses one of the cats to go to the Heavyside Layer where they can be 'reborn and come back to a different Jellicle life!' The dancing is superb, the singing even though not always up to scratch is excellent in the big numbers. Credit has to be given to John Partridge who makes a fabulous Rum Tum Tugger, Jacob Brent who is adorable as the magical Mr. Mistoffelees, Drew Varley and Jo Gibb as the naughty catburglars Mungojerrie and Rumpelteazer and Phyllidia Crowley Smith who is a very graceful Victoria. Elaine Paige does justice to the role as Grizabella and although i have seen the stage show twice, no Grizabella can live up to hers. The Jellicle Ball is one of my favourite numbers, nearly 13 minutes of solid dance it is breathtaking (the editing of the film is not always brilliant as you do see quite a few mistakes and cameras but only after you watch it for the 50th time will these start to stand out!) and you're guaranteed to be singing Mr. Mistoffelees and memory for days after you watch it! Go and but this, you won't be dissappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Musical DVD, 29 Dec 2006
This review is from: Cats - Ultimate Edition [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This DVD is definately worth buying, especially if - like myself - you did not see the stage show. The performance is full of energy, and the close up shots develop character relationships very effectively.

The bonus features are also really interesting to watch, especially the making of cats, which shows you just how much work went into the show. Elaine Paige's performance as Grisabella is especially worth commenting on, as it was full of emotion and very well acted and sung.

Overall, a brilliant DVD, and one you will want to watch over and over again :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb....., 1 Jun 2003
This review is from: Cats - Ultimate Edition [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This ultimate edition is really worthy of its name. You get 2 DVD discs of absolute gold which will appeal to Cats fans and first time viewers.
I bought the video when it first came out but decided to upgrade to the DVD version for the quality aspect, I was not dissapointed.
You get the production on the first disc which is much better on this format as you hear little noises that were not picked up on the video.
On the second disc you get the "making of Cats" featurette which goes backstage to talk to the cast and the creators. You also get a short make up demo from the make up artist from the theatre and fantastic interviews with Andrew Lloyd Webber, Gillian Lynne, Cameron Makentosh, John Napier, Trevor Nunn and Gerry Schoenfield.
Now that the London production has closed this is the sedond best way to enjoy it in all its glory.
This is a must buy item which will be watched many times over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but the stage show's better!, 13 May 2002
Well the 11th of May marked the end of an era, the 21st Anniversary of "Cats" at the New London Theatre, and its final performance.
Don't despair, however, as you can still take the Memory home with this DVD! Admittedly, it's not as good as being at the Theatre for a live performance because it's been cut in a couple of places (for example, Gus the Theatre Cat links in to a piece called Growltiger's Last Stand, which doesn't really do anything to further the plot, such as it is, and Sir John Mills couldn't do due to his age) but the actual music sounds great when performed by a full orchestra, rather than the 16 piece in the Theatre, even if the cast were lip syching.
I'm glad I saw it before it closed, and can't wait for the National Tour, hopefully in the near future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another mess from Universal., 8 Sep 2013
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This blu ray is not as good as my original DVD. The grain is shocking, the definition poor, colour saturation, contrast and black levels very weak. Having suffered from the Universal/BFI Citizen Kane release (very inferior to the Warner's pristine transfer) and their very poor "Marnie" and "Family Plot" I shall not be pre-ordering any more of their blu rays until I have read prior reviews. "Cats" is such an enjoyable musical - and on this disc there is a splendid cast - it's such a pity that the transfer etc is such a mess!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful - but missing key songs which may ruin it for you, 16 Jan 2008
By 
Mrs. C. Cadogan (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I confess I am a huge Lloyd Webber fan, and having seen Cats myself when I was 10 (22 years ago!) I still remember it in detail. I have always adored the music and recently introduced my children (aged 5 and 4) to the songs on CD as they already adored Joseph. They loved Cats which is why I bought this to them from Father Christmas.

Since they can't see it in the theatre anymore, this is a great way for them to see the Cats show and understand how the songs are brought to life. The Jellicle Cats opening is super, as is The Gumbie Cat, The Rum Tum Tugger, Skimbleshanks et al.

BUT the 2 key changes ruined it for us. Firstly WHY does this not feature the original tune for Mungojerry & Rumpleteezer? The new tune is frankly rubbish and unmemorable. And secondly, John Mills as Gus is all very well but it means that Growltiger (including Billy McCaw) has been cut altogether. This is one of the key pieces in the 2nd act and was the main song that my pirate-mad boys wanted to see. The disappointment when it cut from Gus straight to Skimbleshanks was palpable - we had tears!

If you don't care about these 2 songs but adore everything else, you really will love this DVD. But if you're as familiar with the original as we are, the addition of the Pekes and Pollicles (which is excellent) in no way makes up for the lack of Growltiger or Mungojerry&Rumpleteezer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magical video, 22 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cats [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
This video captures Andrew Lloyd Webber's musical perfectly. The music has been re-recorded and is even more spectacular and the cast are amazing. The "making of CATS" documentary was a little disappointing, it gave a good insight into the production of the film but lacked behind the scene footage. In all, this video is amazing, it could quite easily convert anyone into a musical lover. It is an absolute must for CATS fans and would make an excellent addition to any video collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely magnificent, 29 Mar 2008
By 
David Woodall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was intended to be the definitive version of 'Cats', in in most respects it is. Admittedly it lacks the intimacy or 'buzz' of a live performance, but this is more than made up for by the close-ups (which allow you to see details you might otherwise have missed) and, most particularly, what is probably the best cast this musical has ever enjoyed.

It would probably be unfair to single out individual members of the cast, as they're all first rate, but I'm going to anyway! Elaine Paige cuts a terrifically tragic figure as Grizabella and - at the other end of the scale - John Partridge makes for a gloriously over-the-top Rum Tum Tugger. Veerle Casteleyn is a charming Jemima (though dubbed with the beautiful purity of Helen Massey's singing). John Mills's Gus is thoroughly moving, whilst Rosemarie Ford's Bombalurina, together with Aeva May as Demeter, make a sexy and sensual pair. As for Drew Varley and Jo Gibb, I cannot praise their interpretation of Mungojerrie and Rumpleteazer highly enough - just perfect.

The main downsides are the cuts. The loss of 'Growltiger's Last Stand' is a terrible shame, but arguably worth it to have John Mills. As for the others, I particularly miss the cut verses from 'Mungojerrie and Rumpleteazer', but since this is my favourite song, and stars my favourite characters, I must admit to being biased in this respect!

None of this, however, seriously detracts from what is overall a truly stunning film of this glorious musical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mognificent!!, 5 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Cats - Ultimate Edition [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I got the chance a few days ago to go and see the theatre production of Cats at the Leeds Grand Theatre when the UK Tour came to town and although we were up on the balcony perched like two tweeting birds, I can safely say that there is nothing else [and I have seen Phantom in London] that comes anywhere near the production of Cats played live.

So when we returned home, we bought the DVD with the special features included to get a behind the scenes glimpse at the production. Watch Munkustrap morph from actor to cat and see what I mean!

What memories. Seeing once again [and it was so close to the live show] the dance, the movement, the balletic interpretation and the quality of sound made us both sit there with big cheshire cat grins on our faces, remembering the night out all over again.

This is a fantastic filmed version of the live show, allowing you a close up, front row seat as you watch and listen to all those songs. For us, who have had numerous moggies over the last twenty years or so, it allows us to see something of all of them, now happy in the heavyside layer, and makes for some great memory inducing moments.

This is definitely worth the money. If you have the chance, go to see the show as well. The experience is worth every penny.

Truly mognificent!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great musical but poor image quality, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very poor image quality indeed. I once owned the DVD and it was at least as good if not better in terms of image definition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cats - Ultimate Edition [DVD] [1998]
Cats - Ultimate Edition [DVD] [1998] by Andrew Lloyd Webber (DVD - 2002)
£7.00
In stock on October 30, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews