Customer Reviews


157 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece!... in a nicer box
Here it is. The cleverest film this century has to offer so far, has made it's way onto Special Edition DVD. Though the movie itself is worth five stars alone, I found that the special features surprisingly let it down.
Written and directed by the critically acclaimed Christopher Nolan (The Following, Batman Begins), while including talent such as Guy Pearce and Joe...
Published on 13 Jan 2005 by Meatbag

versus
12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Puzzled, drained, intrigued
The film is a bit of an ordeal of understanding - it takes a lot of focus and concentration to keep up with the clues and what the significant moments are in each scene. I wonder if this was done to help us all appreciate how difficult it must be to make sense of things without a short term memory, because that is the film's plot. A man loses his short term memory, via a...
Published on 9 Aug 2007 by Wregula Renta


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece!... in a nicer box, 13 Jan 2005
Here it is. The cleverest film this century has to offer so far, has made it's way onto Special Edition DVD. Though the movie itself is worth five stars alone, I found that the special features surprisingly let it down.
Written and directed by the critically acclaimed Christopher Nolan (The Following, Batman Begins), while including talent such as Guy Pearce and Joe Pantoliano, this is by far the most inventive film in years. Starting with a horrific yet beautiful scene where Leonard (Pearce) kills a man in cold blood, the film begins to track events that took place before the incident. We soon discover that his actions were fuelled by the revenge for his dead wife, while a rare disorder means he is unable to keep new memories. Nolan manages to put us in Leonard's shoes by shuffling the scenes in reverse order, meaning that we too are unaware of the previous events that took place. To remind himself where he is, and what he is doing, Leonard constantly makes notes so he can carry on tracking down his wife's killer. The film quickly becomes sort of a 'why dunnit' than a 'who dunnit' by effectively taking us back through time to the story's origin. Even while having Leonard's various messages to work from, the film still manages to pull off a few suprises, ending with a truly unexpected final twist.
Apart from the addition of the director's commentary, I was actually quite disappointed with the special features in this edition. Don't be fooled by the idea that the extra two discs are full of new goodies. Because to be honest... they're not. There's about one or two more documentaries than the original edition, and an additional option where you can view the screenplay while watching the film, (very useful for budding filmmakers!). But this is hardly enough extras to fill TWO WHOLE DISKS! Considering only big-budget epics (such as 'Lord of the Rings') have enough extra features to manage this. However you may enjoy the hidden 'Easter Egg' where you can view the whole film in chronological order. Even though this feature was also included in previous editions.
I very much recommend you getting this if you haven't already. If you already own an older version however, I would advise you not to bother buying the Special Edition just for one or two extra features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful stuff, but forget the hidden extra, 21 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Memento [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
There's not much to add to what's already been said about this truly excellent movie. It works because of the way it's made - the trick of telling the story in reverse puts you right inside the head of Leonard and leaves you as confused as he is. My only gripe about this DVD is the thing most other people seem to like - namely the hidden feature which plays the scenes in forward order. I'd seen the film 5 times before I watched this 'forward' version and each viewing was a splendidly confusing experience; the film made more and more sense every time - each viewing held new revelations. Now, having watched it 'forwards' and having had my deductions confirmed, I've rather lost the will to watch the 'normal' film again which I think is a great shame.
So, buy the disc, watch the film again and again, but only watch the 'forwards' version if you're totally confused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the moment it ends, you'll want to watch it again., 13 Dec 2006
If you're looking for something intense, suspenseful, and different than your usual effects-packed thriller, this is the best movie you will see in a long time.

The movie starts with a murder -- a revenge killing, in fact. But was the right person killed?

Leonard Shelby (Guy Pearce) is a man with no short-term memory. He hasn't been able to form new memories since the night his wife was murdered. Now he's on a hunt to find the murderer but with no way of remembering names, dates, places, facts and faces. I am not going to say more not to spoil the numerous surprises. Trust me though, it's really great!

Don't worry about trying to empathize with Leonard because Writer/Director Christopher Nolan puts you right in Leonard's shoes. You live the story in reverse order so that you never know more than Leonard does. In one scene you see Leonard getting information from a person who knows him -- maybe a good person; maybe bad. In the next scene you see a previous meeting between the two which sheds more light on their relationship. Later still you see how they met. But is that all of the story? You've yet to find out... and you won't know everything until the last scene. By living it backwards, you, like Leonard, have no knowledge of what came before.

It's brilliant story telling. But you might get frustrated because you don't know what's going on. In fact, that's the whole idea. Just sit back, try to relax (though that's difficult in this movie), and find out just how twisted and complex Leonard's world is.

This film will leave its own memento on your mind, and you'll have a hard time forgetting how much you enjoyed it. At least, that worked for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember You Are Mortal, 2 Mar 2008
By 
Joe Cutts (Sheffield, south yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Memento [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
Memento is a truly complex and engrossing thriller, full of twists and ambiguous peripheral sub-plots which only the most observant of viewers will catch. If you can get interested enough to explore beyond the basic experience, it's as about as cerebral anything committed to celluloid in its depth and deliverance of narrative.

Leonard Shelby has a memory span of around 15 minutes (not a hard and fast rule - this can change dependent on stress) due to Anterograde Amnesia - meaning he can remember the past but cannot make new memories - as the result of head trauma suffered during an attack in which his wife, we are lead to believe, was killed. Now, with only notes and Polaroid pictures to remind himself of what he is doing, he's searching for the killer in order to extract revenge.

Okay, so it's an original story, and it's also really original insofar as it's a plotline which is told in neither a linear or non-linear fashion, but in reverse chronological order, however even beyond that (if you followed it) there's so much more beyond the confines of what we do see and hear, that it leads to an incredibly complex and wonderfully intricate story.

If you only watch it once and understand it completely you're a genius because it's taken me several viewings to get the entire picture. I was also lucky enough to find the "Easter Egg" (possibly the best Easter Egg on any DVD ever - if anyone knows of a better one, please let me know) and found that even after watching Memento in chronological order, it was still engrossing and deeply intricate.

The special features on the region 2 disk delve a little deeper into the history of storyline also, giving us some hints and clues as to how Leonard Shelby ended up in the time and place we join him, and even the special features themselves are cryptic and accessed only through careful examination, analysis and exploration. EVEN THEN, there's a great deal of symbolism (torn out newspaper clippings in the shape of America, references to the nihilistic nature of a life lived without cognisance of actions etc.)

It's clear that writer/director Christopher Nolan invested a lot in this, creating a story that can be disregarded as `decent' or explored as magnificent in its dimensions.

Top marks, and some of the best special features on a DVD, but I can also see how some people wouldn't enjoy it simply because it's not mindless enough. However, if you're an obsessive mind and the sort of person who likes to look beyond the surface, you'll love this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memorable, 13 Jan 2005
Christopher Nolan's 'Memento' is an unusual, extremely innovative and most importantly brilliant piece of filmmaking. Guy Pearce plays Leonard Shelby, a man left incapable of forming new memories due to brain damage suffered following an attack in his home. The attack also left his wife 'dead' and this inspires Leonards motivation to live - to hunt down and kill the people responsible.
Because of Leonards condition, he is forced to make notes throughout his investigation in the form of tatoos, journal entries and notes on the back of photographs. As the film progresses, it becomes apparent that Leonard is facing a uphill battle to acheive his goals and is an easy target for those who wish to manipulate him.
The supporting cast are also excellent - Carrie Ann Moss as Natalie, a female Leonard befriends and Joe Pantoliano as Leonards friend Teddy. For many, it may not be a particularly easy movie to view due to the order that events are sequenced in the film - Leonards phone conversation is placed in between the scenes of the film which run in reverse. However, a feature on the dvd is a special edit of the film which runs in chronological order.
One of the most original and best films of the decade so far which gets better with repeated viewing (the ending will definitely leave you thinking). Memorable and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star without a doubt, 2 May 2007
By 
Mr. A. Sands "Sandsman" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I'm not sure if the previous reviewer was watching the same film as the rest of us as I (and most people) think it is brilliant.

The pivot of greatness that this film rests upon, and it's unique selling point, is the way the film flows. Yes it plays "backwards" but it's so much more than that. Each scene plays for about 5-10 minutes before cutting to the next scene, which again, lasts for around 5-10 minutes, but it ends exactly at the start of the previous scene! (Hope you're with me!). This is done in such a clever way and always keeps you guessing, even know you know the eventual outcome!

Not only this, but there are black & white "flashback" narrative scenes throughout the film which actually play in the correct sequence! The way these two styles blend together is truly astonishing. By the end of the film, I too wanted to see it again! Not only is the story/plot itself good, but it's the way it's presented that really gives this film the wow factor.

Give this film a go, you won't see another film like it for a while!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is one of the best I have ever seen, 2 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Memento [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
This is not just a film to be watched but experienced. The premise is superb; the plot twists back and around on itself, each scene making you question what you have seen before. From the end at the beginning to the opening climax (you'll understand when you watch), the film is superb as you join Leonard in his quest to find the truth.
And a hint - I'd strongly recommend the DVD version so you can rearrange the scenes into a more logical order - this might spoil the 'flow' of the disjointed scenes, but it clears up an awful lot of confusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memento - in depth, 28 April 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (New Malden, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Amongst cinema fans Memento has been seen as a true classic and rated very highly. The film has had almost a cult following and its complex, and twisting plot with hints of information rather than the full story ideally lend it to such a following. Much has been made of the way the film is told backwards, but its more complex that this. There is a narrative that is told in reverse - but at the same time another narrative that runs forward, and in the last scene of the film the two combine.

Given its complexities and the chronology of events Memento is a film that has to be seen more than once. Thus it a perfect DVD purchase. This special edition comes on three disks with lots of extra featuers, of which my favourite was the 'Anatomy of a Scene'. This documentary takes you behind the scenes with detailed information that take your enjoyment of the film to another level.

Overall this is one of the best DVD special edition releases you could by. Highly recommended to everyone and a must for the memento fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 18 Jan 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memento [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
Writing a review for Memento is a job in itself, how to not spoil a gem of a movie everyone should see, yet encourage people to look at the movie - but with giving them a real motive for it without destroying, what I'd consider a masterpiece of the century, and it is only really the beginning.

Christopher Nolan's classic is bold, daring and just beautifully put together - with the central character Leonard (Guy Pearce - Ravenous) suffering a memory lapse which he got during an accident. His memory is very short, so he writes everything important on his body, and keeps Polaroids with messages on the back for his short term mementos of what's going on in his life.

Here we see short snapshots, played in reverse of his life, and how he comes about to finding out why and who killed his wife, and the significance of all the characters and places in his life. Characters like the shady Teddy Gammell, who seems to be abusing the illness - and the stranger Natalie with her ulterior motives.

This movie is the best thing about this decade, well sculpted and scripted, an absolute classic, not one dull moment can be found here. I know a lot of people have doubted this movie, but I think they have failed to notice the intricate detail Nolan put into this, Guy's showstopping performance which will probably eclipse everything else he's ever done and going to do, and the fact that the filming and non-clichéd style really makes this a worth while viiew.

I would hold out of the Blu-Ray if you have the next generation player though, as this is what high definition was made for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intruiging, 22 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Memento [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
Some films have an intriguing premise but don't deliver on it. Christopher Nolan's Memento delivers in spades!

The story of a man searching for his wife's killer but unable to retain any short term memories is obviously intriguing.
Nolan adds twists by telling the story in reverse and having our "hero" aid his memory with tatoos and instant photos.

By the end of the film the viewer's head is spinning and we don't know what to make of the previous 90 minutes. Thank God for rewind buttons on DVD remotes!

The film is about memory. Nolan brilliantly plays with the viewer's own memory. At first we feel sympathy for Leonard, trying to piece together enough information from his disabled memory to get revenge on his wife's murderer.
At the conclusion we realise that in the course of the film we may have played tricks on our own memories. Were the assumptions we made in following the story completely wrong? Were our sympathies misplaced?

A lot of the film hangs on the performance of Guy Pearce in the main character and he is brilliant. Carrie Anne Moss and Joe Pantoliano are also excellent in the main supporting roles.

Quite simply, one of the best films of the last ten years. You have to watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Memento (Limited Edition 2 Disc Set) [2000] (REGION 1) (NTSC) [DVD] [US Import]
Used & New from: £1.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews