Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect follow up to Better Ways�
This Is Where I Stand is one of those rare albums that hooks you right from track 1, and at the end of it's forty-odd minute span, it feels like you've been abandoned by a close friend. For people who own Better Ways To Self Destruct, a number of the tracks will be familiar, as they have been 'evolved' from their original states, and manage to sound so much better - if...
Published on 6 Jun 2002 by C. Armstrong

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing but life affirming...
Easyworld have had it the hard way, starting life in gods waiting room, the holiday home for the elderly, Eastbourne. However, Dav has made the best of his situation, reflecting on everything around him, and for sheer bloodymindedness and pop rock mayhem Easyworld can't be faulted.
However, this cd offers eleven tracks, 5 of which have been previously released on the...
Published on 5 Jun 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect follow up to Better Ways�, 6 Jun 2002
By 
C. Armstrong "chris_n_armstrong" (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Is Where I Stand (Audio CD)
This Is Where I Stand is one of those rare albums that hooks you right from track 1, and at the end of it's forty-odd minute span, it feels like you've been abandoned by a close friend. For people who own Better Ways To Self Destruct, a number of the tracks will be familiar, as they have been 'evolved' from their original states, and manage to sound so much better - if that's even possible. The tracks all manage to evoke a powerful, makes-the-hairs-on-your-neck-stand feel to them, shifting from gentle acoustic riffs to full-on rawk - often in the same track! Easyworld appear to achieve something once thought impossible, and have produced a clever, well-thought indie album that doesn't sound miserable, and yet manages to stay clear of sounding like a pop/indie sell out - The Invisible Band, anyone?
In all, This Is Where I Stand is a superb album, which manages to be both a perfect introduction to the Easyworld sound, and an excellent follow on for fans of Better Ways To Self Destruct. This has got to be worth five stars all round, I reckon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On top of the World, 23 May 2003
By 
Ben Scott (South London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This Is Where I Stand (Audio CD)
Start to finish, this album is one hell of a ride. There is bags of energy on offer and that doesn’t mean it’s just loud and unhinged. The tunes are wonderful, memorable and catchy; you will play them over and over again not just on the hi-fi but in your head too. There is also enough variation to allow it to appeal when you are in different listening moods.
Songs like Junkies and Whores, 100 weight and Demons rise and fall in such poetic fashion that it just seems entirely natural. Ford’s voice soars though songs like By the Sea and Stain to Never Fade while a more abrasive style comes through to good effect on the title track and on Bleach.
Many of the songs have such great single potential (including You and Me) that you really wonder why they haven’t been given the publicity they surely deserve. The world is a poorer place for their absence at the top of the charts.
If you’re a fan of bands such as Radiohead, The Bluetones, JJ72, Suede, Muse, Manic Street Preachers like me, then you’ll love this. Especially superb I find, for some reason, when driving along in the car.
The best advice I can give is this: buy the album, borrow the album, whatever, just get hold of a copy. Turn the volume up, listen to the intro track Armistice and then just try to turn it off. You won’t be able to so make sure you’ve got nothing planned for the next 45 minutes or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 11 April 2003
This review is from: This Is Where I Stand (Audio CD)
What a class album
I absolutely love anytihng by easyworld but this whole album is just fan-dabby-dosy
This is where i stand(the song) is unbelievably inventive, the more times you listen to it the more times it makes you shiver, they totaly went for it with this song and it paid off big time
Even though that is my favourite on the album it would be closely followed by A stain to never faid and you were right but again i have to say the whole album is great
There are bands that match easyworld in some aspects such as muse, jj72, radiohead, pixies.......even placebo but none can match them in every aspect, they are simply too good
dav, jo and glen(the band members) combine silky piano playing with unmistakable guitars and on top of that a voice(dav's) that could match any woman opera singer's for range and strength
the combination of heavy guitars and extremely high male singing just takes your breath away
buy it, in fact buy anything saying easyworld on it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everyone move to easyworld! right now!, 1 Oct 2002
This review is from: This Is Where I Stand (Audio CD)
ignored by the 'music' press and given little airplay, easyword-of-mouth spread quick. finally getting a deal on JIVE records and creating a nearly perfect album. This record has seen them leave the teenage angst behind them and grow into a band that has come up with a great debut. bringing together some rerecorded old as well as some amazing new songs. every song filled with quirky lyrics and great melodies. From the catchy intro opener ARMISTICE to the emotional THIS IS WHERE I STAND and DEMONS to the radio-friendly hit BLEACH you realise brit-pop still lives and brathes in the melodic, colourful place called easyworld. my only complaint is that the band sound alot better live, leaving this album feeling slighty over-produced to seasoned easyworlders. both this, and the mini album are essential purchases. easyworld are destined for greatness and will headline a festival near you by 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sweeeeeeeeeeeeet, 3 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: This Is Where I Stand (Audio CD)
i bought this album through reccomendation, and hadn't heard anything from easyworld, and i wasn't expecting anything like this. from the first second to the last, this album is generally great. standout tracks have to be try not to think, junkies and whores and this is where i stand. dav's voice brilliantly complements everything about the band's music, and there is some SERIOUSLY good songwriting going on here.
i cannot fault the album at all, but i can fault some of the reviews it has had. the only resemblance this band has to muse is that the lead vocal is quite high pitched. so it may sound very slightly like some of showbiz, but there's no apocalypse please's in here. i would describe them more as hundred reasons mixed with placebo, to give an indie/pop/punk generally feel.
damned good, buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 23 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: This Is Where I Stand (Audio CD)
Why this lot are being ignored by the music press is an absolute mystery to me - they're surely one of the best new bands around in Britain at the moment. "This Is Where I Stand" is effectively a widescreen re-write of their debut mini-album "Better Ways To Self-Destruct" but is no poorer for it - the re-recorded songs like "Hundredweight" and "Try Not To Think" have had their edges smoothed and sound much better than before while there's some excellent new songs, "Demons" and "You And Me" notably. Superficially, they're similar to JJ72 with one crucial difference - JJ72 were never anywhere near as good as this. The only thing that prevents me giving it the full five stars is the omission of their best track "Lights Out" (why, why and thrice why?) but this is still one of the top ten albums of last year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely summery power-pop, 24 April 2003
This review is from: This Is Where I Stand (Audio CD)
I bought this album by accident after confusing them with another band! But it was no means a bad mistake to make! Easyworld are fantastically refreshing pop-rock in the same class as JJ72, Feeder, Muse and Placebo. Every track on the album begins understated and mellow before surging into a catchy chorus.
As its the summer, its spinning around my CD player regularly! Not really a bad track on the CD, but the title track is possibly a weak spot on an otherwise, lovely album.
My personal favourite tracks are the recent single Junkies, Hundredweight and Stain to Never Fade. But it really is a feel good album throughout, and strong lyrically too.
So make sure if you stumble upon this album, buy it!!! I did and feel much better for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great indie rock., 7 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: This Is Where I Stand (Audio CD)
i borrowed this cd from my sister and she didn't see it again for the next 3 months till i bought my own copy which rarely finds its way out of my cd player. Best tracks 'try not to think', 'stain to never fade' and 'demons'. This album is the best indie rock i've bought in ages (shame they broke up- check out david ford's solo album). i'd say their closer to the style of placebo than muse, they aren't quite that heavy. If you like this you might like Everclear or Idlewild.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just amazing, 17 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: This Is Where I Stand (Audio CD)
If you buy nothing else this year, then make sure you buy this amazing album and the new one out in february. The album is in the same vein as JJ72 and on many tracks including armistice, the better tracks of the (also amazing) Cooper Temple Clause first album, "See this through and leave."
All the tracks leave you feeling good and this album is a very good buy with great melodies, riffs and fantastic lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Full length debut, 5 Jun 2002
This review is from: This Is Where I Stand (Audio CD)
This album has just dropped through my door and I have to say that I am suitably impressed. I bought the album on the strength of Bleach and 100 Weight and the album lives up to these wonderful tracks. Junkies and whores is one of the highlights and the tracks just keep on coming with you&me and this is where i stand real gems. They may be accused of lacking invention or treading the same line as indie hopefuls seafood or trying to sound a bit too like matt bellamy of muse but this is a worthwhile purchase from a band who can surely only get better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Is Where I Stand
This Is Where I Stand by Easyworld (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews