Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comic, heartwarming, rather old fashioned tale.
Based on a true story, Greenfingers is about a man that gets transferred to an open prison and is befriended by an older inmate. As their friendship develops, he helps him find a purpose to his life after serving a sentence for the murder of his brother. From a gift of a packet of Viola seeds, we see the transformation of the prison garden and inmates, until they take...
Published on 3 Feb 2003 by dax68

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Passed a couple of hours.
A pleasant enough film with a predictable outcome. I enjoyed it but I won't be in a hurry to see it again.
Published 18 months ago by M. Michael Hardcastle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comic, heartwarming, rather old fashioned tale., 3 Feb 2003
This review is from: Greenfingers [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Based on a true story, Greenfingers is about a man that gets transferred to an open prison and is befriended by an older inmate. As their friendship develops, he helps him find a purpose to his life after serving a sentence for the murder of his brother. From a gift of a packet of Viola seeds, we see the transformation of the prison garden and inmates, until they take their place at the prestigious Hampton Court Flower Show.
It is a comic, heartwarming, rather old fashioned tale with excellent performances from Clive Owen and Helen Mirren. This film draws its audience from armchair gardeners everywhere who sit glued to the many gardening makeover programmes which have found such popularity over the past few years. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little beauty, 8 Jun 2009
This review is from: Greenfingers [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Where has this little beauty of a film been all these years? I loved it. It is a great little story with all the elements of a classic that one wants to visit again and again. Colin, the downcast hero, in prison and almost resigned to a life without hope learns that life is like a seed that is planted reluctantly, grows against all odds and blooms to bring delight to many. In the process, his life mirrors the flower, grown on tough soil, defies his odds, finds true love and lasting friendship with a motley crew of delightful characters. Set against the background of the Hampton Court flower show, this film is a wonderful experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming tale, for when you're under the weather., 7 Feb 2008
By 
Prof TBun (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greenfingers [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
There are times in life when you need things to be simple. To find pleasure in simple things, to watch life bloom in surprising ways and relax in the company of friends. That is what this film is about.

The cast are all old friends of ours, who help us breifly to forget our troubles, by showing us the restorative value in watching nature grow.

The perfomances are understated, there are no great lines delivered, no dramatic intensity. It is the clever use of flowers and plants that puts life into the story.

I recommend you watch this movie whether you are a gardener or not. However save it for when you are feeling low. It is all smiles from start to finish and is sure to cheer you up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Green Fingers, 21 Aug 2010
This review is from: Greenfingers [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is a film with much dry humor, and pathos, I watched twice and each time found more to think about, The main character is very good looking which is a bonus, and the story about prisoners building a beautiful garden shows what can be done, Helen Mirren as usual is brilliant, and all the cast played thier parts well. I recomend this film wholeheartedly . Yes some of the humor is black some strong language,but who not help but enjoy the performance of DVID kELLY as the old lag who is the inspiration the the rest of the inmates. A film I will watch many times, and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old english fun, 11 July 2009
By 
A. Lowe "AngelicImp" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greenfingers [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this film. Good solid english actors and well made, the story is interesting and if you want, even educational. Not that I will be running outside to sort my garden in a hurry... But if you like Clive Owen or Helen Mirren and are looking for some entertainment, then this just might be the film for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting!, 20 Aug 2010
By 
Alison Petrie - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greenfingers [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
First caught this film on a flight, not an ideal way to my mind to watch a film, and fell asleep halfway through due to jet lag. However, what I had seen had captured my imagination and watched it when it was shown on TV. Since then I have seen it about four times and it never fails to lift the spirits.

Everyone in it is a joy, very well cast, but for me it is David Kelly who steals the show portraying great pathos when playing a man who knows that he only has himself to blame. You don't have to love (or even like) gardening to enjoy "Greenfingers", just sit back and enjoy a treasure of a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brit flick at its best !, 18 Feb 2012
This review is from: Greenfingers [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is a superb film for anyone who enjoys Brit humour & is based on real events, its in the same vein as "Made in Dagenham" & "The full monty" full of character & sentiment with a good plot & a cast of well known actors. A great film for relaxing & watching of an evening with a loved one !.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film to cheer you up, 14 July 2012
This review is from: Greenfingers [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Perfect film for a rainy day to cheer you up Helen Mirren and Clive Owen in a lovely film about simple past time of gardening having a very healing effect of previous problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful story, 14 Jan 2012
By 
S. Fleischer (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greenfingers [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is a film that will suit the whole family. It is based on a true story and in today's violent world of noisy, gun-happy films, this is a real treat of calm. It is easy to watch and leaves one with a 'feel-good' feeling. Can definitely recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greenfingers, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greenfingers [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Greenfingers DVD
We liked the DVD very much, great endearing actors and very good idea for the setting and reasons
for it all. I would recommend this film for all ages and tastes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greenfingers [DVD] [2001]
Greenfingers [DVD] [2001] by Joel Hershman (DVD - 2002)
6.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews