Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars191
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 June 2003
I watched this film recently and as an adult, LOVED IT! The animation was so good, I am sure the Hawaiian tourist board will benefit.
The characters are all great and Lilo & Stitch totally adorable. So there are lots of laughs to be had by watching this film for ALL ages.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2003
Lilo and Stitch, I have to admit, is not what I thought it would be at all. It is funnier than I thought, more touching than I thought, just better than I thought it would be. So the outline? Well...
Lilo is an orphaned little girl who lives with her big sister Nani, in Hawaii. Lilo is quite eccentric, and after a visit from social services (the terrifyingly named Mr Bubble), goes to the pound and adopts Stitch. Stitch has a bit of a background, namely being that he is an indestructible experiment gone wrong. He is banished to earth by his people, being fired into an ocean (he can't stand water), but lands on Hawaii. Stitch subsequently causes havoc in Lilo's house, and there are people after Stitch as well, sent by the ruler of the aliens. What follows is a hilarious and heart-warming story about the importance of friendship, and the importance of Ohana (family).
Admittedly, things get a little silly towards the end, but then again this is Disney, and if not having silliness in Disney is like having a breadless sandwich.
So, Lilo and Stitch ranks up there among the best of the modern Disney films - really, the ones since The Little Mermaid. The animation is lush and vibrant, despite being in 'outdated' 2D, and it lends the film a friendly, fun feel to it. The story is the most inspired thing to come out of Disney for a while, the characters are great, and realistic - Lilo and Nani's sisterly bickering remind me of arguing with my little brother - and all these factors combined add up to a fantastic film. Not one to be missed.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 September 2003
Lilo and Stitch is a return to classic animation and story telling for Disney. No computer generated characters, but real animation, set in Hawaii. The backgrounds used are gorgeous, and the Hawaiian physique is exaggerated.
Stitch is a genetic experiment gone wrong. Sentenced to imprisonment, he escapes and after some hilarious escapades, lands on Earth. Here he is mistaken for a dog and taken to the shelter.
Meet Lilo and her older sister Noni, who is trying to raise Lilo after the death of their parents. Things aren't easy and social services is threatening to intervene. In an effort to cheer Lilo up, Noni takes her to the pound, where she can pick herself out a dog. But instead, Stitch picks her in effort to escape his would-be captors.
This is a classic Disney story, with Stitch trying to find a place to fit in, and Lilo and Noni, struggling to stay a family. It's not done in a schmaltzy way, but instead handled well, and will undoubtedly cause you to shed a tear or two.
The use of Elvis songs throughout strengthens the film, adding to the humour and sadness. There are plenty of funny moments in this film, mainly featuring Stitch. Bred for fighting and causing chaos, Stitch's skill is in "flooding sewers, turning signposts around and losing socks."
This is my favourite recent kids film by a distance. Laughs and tears gauranteed, but you can bet that it all works out in the end. A great soundtrack, fitting in with the present Elvis revival.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
My partner and I both adored this film when we were children but hadn't seen it in some time. Whilst she loves all Disney films, I've found my enjoyment of them to have faded in recent years so it was with some trepidation that I bought it for her for her 21st birthday.
Thankfully, all of my fears were unfounded! This film holds up much better than other animated films from my childhood (I'm looking at you Brother Bear!), in fact I'd go so far as to say that we both enjoyed it more than when we were kids!

The film follows an eccentric, yet lonely girl who makes her older sister's (Nani) life difficult with her said eccentricness. She loves Elvis, feeds fish weird sandwiches (one of the highlights of the film) and clashes at her classes with the spoilt Myrtle and her gang of followers. Whilst ther initial set up for the film is played largely for laughs there are a lot of sad and emotional scenes that both children and adults will pick up on (for different reasons). There's also a sub-plot regarding Nani and a large, intimidating social worker (Cobra Bubbles), which again, is played for laughs but becomes more emotional when it becomes a main part of the film.

Once Stitch is introduced to Lilo the laughs come fast as he struggles to adapt to being a pet for Lilo (the best scene in the entire movie involves coffee), but again the joy and laughs are counter balanced brilliantly with some emotive scences which culminate in a very satisfying and emotive ending.

There are pleny of other great characters in this film (Jumba, Pleakley, David), but to go into detail about them would ruin the film. Overall the film is great for children and adults alike with messages aboout family and acceptance. A very funny film with a melancholy feel in many aspects (until the end which again, has a very happy feel to it), this is one of the best films Disney has created and I would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
Plot: mad scientist creates an "evil monster" (monster is blue & fluffy so not that scary...) which escapes from the galactic law keepers and crashes on Earth. Trying to evade recapture the creature pretends to be a pet & gets adopted by an outcast Hawaiian orphan girl, Lilo, whose sister is desperately trying to provide a stable home for them both.

Subtext: can nurture overcome nature? Stitch starts the film as a nameless genetic experiment created for evil (programmed to steal everyone's left socks apparently...) but gradually learns to appreciate what belonging to a family can mean even if the family in question is "little and broken". It's not as saccharine as it sounds although there are a couple of moments where the more cynical among us may cringe slightly.

Memorable characters - everyone loves Stitch - and a fun script. Some good songs too. This is the first of three films about Lilo & Stitch and paved the way for a Disney series where the pair locate other genetic experiments, turn them good then find the one place they can truly be appreciated.

Practically speaking the blu ray seems to be a good transfer - far clearer picture than the DVD, particularly on my 60" TV!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 November 2015
Firstly Lilo and Stitch, like many things, is not what it at first appears. From the artwork and the opening scenes you’d think it was a typical schmaltzy Disney tale about a little girl who lives on Hawaii and is learning how to Hula. How wrong you are. Lilo and Stitch is an out and out Science Fiction adventure classic.

Stitch is an Alien from outer space created by an Evil Genius, who escapes from his home planet and crash lands on Hawaii. Lost and lonely he befriends Lilo and they become, after some teething problems, best friends. When stitch is located by those sent to retrieve him, Lilo and her sister have to convince Stitch and his pursuers that Ohana (family) means no one gets left behind. Can they save Stitch and keep their new family together? With Lilo and Stitch essentially in the same situation can their friendship traverse time and space?

With stylish animation, great characters, a funny script, and an endearing story about family and belonging, Lilo and Stitch is completely unique. The opening song with the Hula girls dancing on stage is quite beautiful and apparently increased attendees at Hula lessons no end. Watch out for Stitch doing an impression of Elvis.

Great fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2009
While our household already owns the regular 1 disc edition, this is one of our all-time favourite Disney films, so I couldn't help but purchase this for the extra content. As always a pleasure to watch this feature, a funny and charismatic tale told in an unorthodox way. If you're not too fussed about extra features then choose the 1-Disc Edition, but if you like to go in a little further, this is definitely for you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2012
Lilo & Stich is a great video, good fun for children and adults with a young spirit too. Shame that apparently Disney have bought the copyrights of the songs that are in the movie and now the locals cannot use them in public, these songs actually being part of their cultural customs... I don't know details, but it's a shame, as the story is lovely and nicely presented as well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2003
Lilo ans Stitch is a fast paced Disney film, complete with fun and adorable characters. The film is different to other Disney films with an original plot and can be enjoyed by audiences of all ages. The DVD is packed with bonus features, including a Hula Lesson, and documentaries on how precise the animation was. All in all it is a fun film and will be loved by all.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2003
Lilo and Stitch is like no other Disney movie. It's fantastic and Stitch is adorable, though definitely no Bambi. He's a "cute and fluffy", evil tool of destruction and devastation; the ultimate weapon who must cope with overcoming his genetic programming to become part of his newly found, broken family in Hawaii.
Not only is Stitch unusual in his nasty adorableness, but the humour is also different to many other Disney movies. There's far more quirkyness, for example in the problem child Lilo. The film appeals even more for its unusual humour and it is touching for its understanding of what it is like to be different.
The animation is colourful, soft, and easy on the eye, there isn't a lot of tedious singing (in fact not really any) and there are at least a couple of recognisable celebrity voices. Definitely a new twist in the Disney saga and will appeal even to those not already a huge Disney fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.