Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Handbag?!
Wilde's fantastic play could have not asked for a better adaptation than this. The characters have a fantastic chemisty on screen and fit into their own personal roles wonderfully. Firth and Everett are the perfect orphan boy and playboy turned earnest. I don't image many will be unfamiliar with the plot but here's a quick summary:
Firth plays Jack, who lives in the...
Published on 9 Jan 2005 by Reader

versus
27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Wilde about this
I've already discovered that people don't vote on reviews because of their content but on whether or not they tally with their own views so I will expect to see 'not helpful' votes pile up but here goes anyway.

If you're looking for a mildly entertaining bit of froth with generally good actors you will probably enjoy this. What you will NOT see is Oscar...
Published on 1 Oct 2010 by KJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent adaptation, 5 July 2006
This review is from: The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is a brilliant, witty satire of the superficiality of Victorian society, presented with a great deal of irony and humour. I bought the film with some hesitation, wondering what Reese Witherspoon is doing in a film the essence of which is Englishness - but she is perfect for the role of Cecily. Her accent is faultless, her mannerisms immaculate, and I can't imagine anyone else playing her obsession with pre-Raphaelite daydreams and diary entries with so much grace and innocence. The Rupert Everett - Colin Firth duet Lady Come Down is unforgettable (they actually DO sing it!), while Judi Dench as formidable Aunt Augusta delivers a stunning performance. I watched this film because of my interest in Oscar Wilde, but have made all my friends watch it since, and everyone loves it, so I am sure that even if you are not a big fan of adaptations of classics you will still thoroughly enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 29 Aug 2009
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
In Victorian England, two young ladies are convinced they can only fall in love with men named "Earnest," so wealthy Jack (Colin Firth) and his scoundrel friend Algernon (Rupert Everett) adopt that name and the result is unrestrained hilarity. (NOT.)

This misguided version of Oscar Wilde's well-loved stage play suffers from poor direction at every turn. The sets and costumes are too brightly colored, the actors are too tanned and robust, and their mannerisms are so distinctly modern that one never believes it's the 1890s. One really vulgar addition to the original has two characters getting their beloved's names tattooed, colorfully, on their bums. *shudder* Colin Firth and Rupert Everett are both handsome, but they don't capture the period and they often mumble, which is unforgivable since the language is the best part of the show. The two young ladies are sadly miscast: Although Reese Witherspoon does a respectable English accent, she has to work so hard at it that it's distracting and she looks very 21st century. Frances O'Connor as Jack's love interest is pushy and unlikable. The real star of the film is Judi Drench who displays the perfect regal elegance and snobbiness her part requires.

The movie is pretty boring until the last 30 minutes, when all the (supposed) wackiness of two men calling themselves "Earnest" finally starts to make sense and several coincidences pay off. Overall, however, this dismal reworking of a hilarious play has neither wit nor humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
i like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the rare films which are actually as good as the books they are made by. A brilliant mix of the sophisticated with the hilarious, with plenty of childishness added for a good measure. Excellent cast. Unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, Great Amazon service as usual. Great product delivered next day.
DVD itself:
Oscar Wilde at his best and a really great cast make this (in my opinion) the best version of this play that has been filmed several times.
So, you think Oscar Wilde is 100 years old and old fashioned??
Forget that !
This play stands up today as well as the day it was written, even though times have changed.
The humour is crisp and intelligent with a bit of slapstick thrown in for good measure.
I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good comedy excellently done ....
AND, not a swear word in sight.
I can't recommend this too much !
Buy it now and enjoy a couple of hours of easy to watch, great entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
i had already seen the film at the cinema, so this was a purchase for re-watching a really excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Frothy & Witty, 18 Feb 2014
It wasn't as funny as I was expecting but I still really enjoyed it. The filming and costumes were lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice and fun film, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this comedy of manners, performed by a very impressive cast. I also thought it was a very good adaptation of Oscar Wilde's play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Silly, 12 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I knew the story already, but it comes very silly in this film anyway.
I like some of the actors, but I would never recommend it to someone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cast and unsurprisingly, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent cast and unsurprisingly...excellent acting. Great yarn from the main man Oscar Wilde and what better way to pay homage by producing a very fine portrayal of this much loved favourite. It is as good if not better than the original!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [2002]
The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [2002] by Oliver Parker (DVD - 2003)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews