Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Minor Blu-Ray Report
I never saw this film on first release and got to know it only now as a BD release. The first thing to say is that the sound quality is spectacular. Whether listening to the futuristic weapons and flying devices, the wild action sequences, or just about anything you remember from the film, there is a good chance that you will be very impressed by the power and clarity of...
Published on 11 Jun. 2010 by Mr. Blu

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everybody Runs......
Murder is virtually eliminated, thanks to an elite law enforcing squad.

They use three gifted humans("Pre-Cogs") with psychic powers to see into the future and predict crimes beforehand.

John Anderton heads the unit and believes in the system's flawlessness. But the Pre-Cogs predict that Anderton will commit a murder himself in the next 36...
Published 9 months ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Minor Blu-Ray Report, 11 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I never saw this film on first release and got to know it only now as a BD release. The first thing to say is that the sound quality is spectacular. Whether listening to the futuristic weapons and flying devices, the wild action sequences, or just about anything you remember from the film, there is a good chance that you will be very impressed by the power and clarity of this HD soundtrack. The localisation of surround effects and the power chanelled to your subwoofer for Low Frequency Effects are also truly stunning.

What you will think of the video quality depends on your attitude to grain. Like "Saving Private Ryan" this is a film where Spielberg cultivated a grainy, almost grimy look at times, and HD makes grain more apparent! Having said that, I thought the film looked fantastic and accepted the grain, the somewhat reduced colours and occasionally unsettling contrasts as part of Spielberg's dystopic vision. None of this prevents the film from demonstrating exceptional sharpness in close-ups and giving a real sense of depth and plasticity to the image in mid-range shots and close-ups. There is no lack of detail, and that is the good side of grain. Remove the grain with DNR and you lose detail.

The film itself is packed with great perfomers, particularly Max von Sydow and Colin Farrell. It is a long-ish film but does not outstay its welcome, spinning a fascinating story with a perfect tempo and a generous smattering of twists and turns. The ethical issues it touches on are most compelling, even if they are in the end somewhat ducked by the nature of the film's resolution. I hope it's not a spoiler - (stop reading now if you don't know the plot and don't want to know anything about it) - to say that if the system had indeed been perfect then the moral questions would have been much more interesting.

A great film to watch and rewatch, sounding great in HD and looking great too. If you hate grain, switch your player's processing on and reduce it according to taste. For purists there is nothing to worry about.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Minority Report - Steelbook UK Edition Blu-ray, 10 Feb. 2011
Packaging
- Loving the steelbook cover design, at least it was nicer a lot than normal UK edition or US edition which I found it look ugly. UK edition was release by Fox where the US edition was release by Paramount.
- Include 5 exclusive art cards, well printed and nice.
- BD is region Free which cover 3 regions A, B & C.
- Additional Digital Copy disc is included for iPod/iPhone or Windows Media format, you need a valid UK iTunes account before you can redeem on it for iPod/iPhone format.

Story
- For me this is by far the greatest movie act by Tom Cruise before he gone mad on Scientology.
- One of the best Steven Spielberg directing film.

Extra Features
- All new features is in HD quality and well done, I specifically loving the new added "The Future According to Steven Spielberg".
- "Minority Report: Commercials of the Future" is another nonsense but fun extra features, it did well like World of Precrime is really exist. ha! ha
- Old DVD features is included in SD quality as well in two categories "2002 features" & "archive".

Picture Quality
- Extremely well transfer in BD, even though this UK release is only 27GB for film itself & include the extra features in same disc which is by far means lower bit rate use than in US edition as film itself already hock up to 47GB and extra features all in 2nd disc.
- From web review, it seems not a big different in PQ at both conversion which you hardly notice the differences thus UK edition even eliminate a top & bottom "tramline" issue in US release. Well done Fox.
Slightly grain in acceptable level and best suite to the film.
- The color in overall has been change compare with what I seen previously on theater or DVD. Less bluish but well tones in overall, the new recolor which even more outstanding the film feel.

Audio Quality
- I don't own any HT or even a HTiB, Ops! , but the sound is already crazy outstanding even out only from TV speaker itself. Loving it!
- Ops! maybe I not qualified judge on this

A must have in BD collection. 10 out of 10 score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everybody Runs......, 29 Oct. 2014
Murder is virtually eliminated, thanks to an elite law enforcing squad.

They use three gifted humans("Pre-Cogs") with psychic powers to see into the future and predict crimes beforehand.

John Anderton heads the unit and believes in the system's flawlessness. But the Pre-Cogs predict that Anderton will commit a murder himself in the next 36 hours.

But Anderton doesn't even know the victim. He decides to get to the mystery's core by finding out the titular report which means the prediction of the female Pre-Cog Agatha that might tell a different story and prove Anderton innocent.

After the opening scene, you begin to realise that this isn't your normal Spielberg summer movie. In fact, next to War Of The Worlds, this is his darkest blockbuster.

From the dystopian setting, which is ironic considering the whole concept, to the bleached film stock, it isn't the most joyous summer movie, but it's a lot of fun, if it is twenty minutes too long.

As soon as Andertons name is etched on to the ball, it doesn't let up until he meets Crowe, who subliminally is his maker.

As with the majority of Spielberg summer films, nuclear family, or the concept of the nuclear family, is a big part of the film, and the Director gets the loss of Andertons son to be a pivotal part of the film.

Cruise excels as the desperate father, and he isn't the character you'd expect him to be. Here he is an addict, desperate, but at the same time,exudes an air of wanting to give up at certain points.

Standout scenes are the chase that ends with a yoga position, the search for Anderton with the spiders, and the jet pack sequence.

the camera-work is wonderful here, and some of the images stay with you a longtime after the film, like when Anderton is holding Agatha in the hotel foyer, just beautiful.

There is a lot of exposition in the film, hence the weighty length of the film, it didn't need to be this long, and the scene with Sydow and Farrell is ripped straight from L.A Confidential.

But all in all, it's an effective thriller, Cruise is brilliant, and Spielberg breathes a Hitchcockian element into the whole proceedings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful high tech futuristic thriller, 8 April 2013
By 
Mr. G. Robinson "garyrobinson15" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Based on a short story by Philp K Dick, Minority Report is a tremendously exciting futuristic thriller from Steven Spielberg.

John Anderson (Cruise) a detective at Pre Crime (police who can see crimes happening before they actually happen) believes totally in the system and has no problem locking people up who haven't actually committed a crime, having been caught before the actual crime takes place. His world is turned upside down when he sees himself commit murder. He runs and becomes an outlaw.

With philosophical overtones about free will and the nature of freedom in a modern complex society Spielberg teases out a superb thriller full of tension, excitement and just knockout performances from Cruise, Colin Farrell and Max Von Sydow. The future world in which our story takes place is very recognisable, it's not too far in the future and as a result feels contemporary rather than science fiction. In my book that really cements the film in a reality that gives the drama an edge that may have been lost otherwise.

As you would expect there is plenty of thrilling action and the story itself is very satisfying. The special effects are superb as you would expect, but they do not overwhelm as sometimes great effects can. Shot with a certain look, the film sometimes looks over bleached or overexposed. This was a deliberate decision on the part of the filmmakers and was used again later on War of the Worlds, however with less satisfying results.

Minority Report is tremendous fun and never lags. At 139 minutes it's quite long but the action and story never let up. Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ONE-EYED MAN IS KING, 31 Jan. 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
In the year 2055 everything is nice and neat and orderly except for John Anderton's (Tom Cruise) apartment. In Washington D.C. John works for an experimental pre-crime division. Using "pre-cons" they are able to predict murders before they happen. People are arrested and imprisoned for crimes they were going to commit. After a successful nine year experiment, the Justice Department has begun to question how can you find someone guilty of a crime they didn't commit? You would think that would have been challenged before 9 years by legal groups, but hey, just go with it.

After we see how the pre-con system works, we find that John sees himself killing a man he doesn't know in a premeditated crime. This sets off a long series of twisted events that make this a good sci-fi mystery crime thriller drama. Yes, everything but zombies.

This is a film made in 2002, but considering our advances in micro-drone technology and revelations about the NSA, it questions what lost of freedom are people willing to fore go on their civil liberties to be safe in their home from any murderer.

The film is a bit long, but relevant to today.

Parental Guide: 1 f-bomb. Sex. No nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Minority Review Probably, 14 Jun. 2013
I do revere Mr S's films - Duel, Sugarland Express, Jaws, SPR etc. are all superb in their way, no doubt. However, what to make of this? On the downside, there's quite a lot. The colour is murky and then at the end goes all orange signifying something ethereal just like at the end of the awful War Horse. Then there are the 'characters' - or caricatures - who cares about them? Then the appalling crying bits - you just want to laugh. Why? Because you haven't established any reason to care for them because they are caricatures. Then the visual jokes - which are just unfunny - so he seems to be straining for something he never had to do in Indiana Jones etc. Then the plot which is just dressed up simple mystery. Then the pretentious, potentially interesting but overblown, central conceit - badly treated kids who can somehow 'see the future'. Then the morality/ideology - what's it 'saying'? Something vaguely liberal? Who cares? Then the ending. Then the script - policemen say 'Damn' to show they are upset. Then the SFX. I hate SFX when you have to start thinking 'Ooo - that's a good effect' or 'nooo that's not such a good effect'. Then the appalling product placement: Lexus, for god's sake, and Bulgari and Guinness and all the rest. When Ozu uses Coca-Cola in Late Spring - that's special. When Spielberg uses Pepsi, you should be railing at the emptiness of the whole thing. I think I'm annoyed. And then there's 2 hours and 20 minutes - it's based on a P.K.Dick SHORT STORY - do it in 90 minutes - but that wouldn't be commercially viable - you couldn't get the product placement in. And then there's the waste of a talent. Go back to Duel and see what a great filmaker you were. You must be 60+; we know you can do SFX - think of your legacy. Challenge yourself to do it with a camera and some characters, Steve! Yours, Mario. It's 'ok' I suppose, but just makes me so angry - I'll go and have a lie-down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars minority report is magnificent, 29 Nov. 2010
By 
A. Carter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Absolutely incredible. I am not a fan of the Hollywood machine, but when a movie like this this is produced I can't help but feel glad it exists. Spielberg is a pure visionary and to oversee the production of something so grand in scale is talent and intelligence of the highest calibre. Tom Cruise is a good choice as the lead and is pretty much fail safe on a project like this. he has been criticised endlessly of his ability, but I do believe he is one of the best and there are not a lot of actors out there who can do what he does. He has the ability to ride a movie like this and really draw the viewer/audience in without distracting from the overall concept and story. He is no Daniel day lewis, but Daniel Day Lewis is no Tom Cruise. They are both wonderful at what they do and they both have there places in film making. Other talent arises in the Likes of Colin Farrell and Samantha Morten. Again praises should go to Spielberg and the team for the casting here. The tension in scenes between Cruise and Farrell is so strong it could be cut with a knife. The emotion throughout the entire movie is also handled well, and really tugs at the heart in places.

Everything from visual style, set pieces, camera tracking, design, music, editing, acting and of course the story itself is all just breathtakingly good. the feature runs at over two hours, but does not drop in pace and is always moving with a real energy and tension which kept me glued, with some really nice subtle comedic moments too(burgers being cooked by a jet pack and a yoga class in mid session are highlights!!!)

So if you are wishing to add a gritty, intelligent, well made and pretty much all round polished movie to your collection then Minority Report is a must. All Science fiction fans will be thrilled with this as well im sure. Nice to see the genre being taken seriously for a change!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some good ideas, 7 May 2011
By 
R. Hughes "Grumpy Old Git" (Deepest Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Another film based on a Philip K Dick story so a must-see for all those sci-fi fans out there. I have to say that I did enjoy this film. I like sci-fi and to me it was a good sci-fi film. There were a number of interesting ideas about what would happen if the future could be predicted reliably. If you know that someone is going to commit a crime, can you charge them with having actually committed the crime if you stop them before even they know that they are going to commit the crime?

With a genre film you need to go with it and see how the ideas develop so I am a little perplexed that some people have criticised the film for being a Spielberg film or a Tom Cruise film when they presumably must have realised this from reading the back of the box. The film is deliberately dark with an underworld where the scenery would fit in well with Blade Runner or Brazil. Some viewers have said that the film was unnecessarily unpleasant but they must have a very squeamish disposition as there is nothing in the film that couldn't be seen on TV before the 9pm watershed.

The version I have is the two disk Definitive Version. People have pointed out elsewhere that it does not seem to be any different from the two disk version that came out in 2002. Just the box looks a little different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not bad really, 4 Nov. 2008
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not a Tom Cruise fan, I need to say that from the start.

I look at his films with a degree of trepidation. This one, however, isn't bad at all.

Cruise plays John Anderton, a drug using pre-crimes cop who is forced to go on the run after the pre-cogs show that he will commit the premeditated murder of a man he doesn't know. The film follows Andertons attempts to discover who the man is and why he's going to kill him. Once he has discovered who and why, he has to decide what to do next.

Yes, it raises the obvious question over free will, there is always a point in crime when you make the decision to continue or to stop. Which reminds me of the UK Government's intention to look for the "evil" gene so it that criminals can be institutionalised before they commit crimes. Such preemption can only cause problems, no matter the reasoning behind it, it assumes that all people will act to type, that children born into a family of criminals will become criminals, that children of murderers will murder, and so on. Free will isn't just the right of the politicians or the rich, it is a basic right of all. This film touches on that.

Overall, it was an interesting film about an interesting idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pre-criminal dawn, 10 Jun. 2012
Having not seen this Tom Cruise starring sci-fi movie, made by Stephen Spielberg no less, since it was released in cinemas a decade ago, I'd forgotten what a cracking movie it is. Cruise's boyish intensity perfectly suits the role of John Anderton, Captain of the city of Columbia's Precrime division, who use three so-called pre-cognitives to predict crimes before they occur, thus enabling them to arrest the future perpetrator and prevent the crime ever taking place. Of course this throws up many claims of dubious morality, however Cruise is a staunch defender of the system, until one day his own name appears in the list of future murderers, and everything changes.
Fast-paced but intelligent, this film also stars Colin Farrell as Department of Justice agent Danny Witwer, determined to see Anderton brought to book for his precrime, the ever-sinister Max Von Sydow as Anderton's boss, and Samantha Morton as chief amongst the three pre-cognitives, Agatha.
Apart from the typically Spielbergian cheesy ending, this is a great film with a strong cast and memorable visual style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Minority Report --Two Disc Set (DTS) [DVD] [2002]
Minority Report --Two Disc Set (DTS) [DVD] [2002] by Steven Spielberg (DVD - 2004)
£1.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews