Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Damned Delightful
Queen of the Damned is the sequel to Interview with the Vampire, however it is very different in both pace and style. You might say that it is akin to an MTV movie video of a Vampire film, and indeed music does play a very important part in this film, however it is much more than that.
The story-line is fairly simple. Lonely Vampire (Stuart Townsend) is woken up by...
Published on 12 Nov 2003 by bylco

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Queen of the what now!?!
This is a bit of a complicated one. If your a die hard Anne Rice fan and Interview with the vampire offended you DO NOT watch this film because you may choke on your own fury. Really this film should be watched as a stand alone vamp flick and NOT the sequel to Interview. Personally I really love Interview and if I knew that this film was the intended sequel and not just a...
Published on 16 Feb 2007 by Mellymoo


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Queen of the what now!?!, 16 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Queen Of The Damned [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is a bit of a complicated one. If your a die hard Anne Rice fan and Interview with the vampire offended you DO NOT watch this film because you may choke on your own fury. Really this film should be watched as a stand alone vamp flick and NOT the sequel to Interview. Personally I really love Interview and if I knew that this film was the intended sequel and not just a 'based on' rip off I probably would have hated it. Saying that I watched it as a stand alone and thought it was pretty entertaining. Stuart Townsend plays the lucious Lestat who goes to sleep for a few hundred years but is then awakened by a new wave of metal music and a change in humans attitudes. Then decides to join a band and releases vampire secrets in his lyrics to p1ss all the other vamps off. In doing so he awakens Egyptian Queen Akasha(Aaliyah), the mother of all vampires who wants to make Lestat her new King and rule mankind. Aaliyah surprisingly does a pretty good job and Townsend does his best in this one even though hes obviously working with a script that is a bit daft 'Her blood is like liquid fire, MORE!' and he does comes off as a homosexual Bela Lugosi impersonator but if you watch this film with a bit of humour it can be pretty good. The soundtrack is really impressive and the featurettes on this dvd show the special effects, one about the music with Chester Bennington(Linkin park) and a tribute to Aaliyah which is quite touching. I would say give it a chance. It's not the best but it's a job well done for a genre of films that can go so wrong so easily and go and check out the soundtrack and the score which I can definetly say are totally awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Damned Delightful, 12 Nov 2003
This review is from: Queen Of The Damned [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Queen of the Damned is the sequel to Interview with the Vampire, however it is very different in both pace and style. You might say that it is akin to an MTV movie video of a Vampire film, and indeed music does play a very important part in this film, however it is much more than that.
The story-line is fairly simple. Lonely Vampire (Stuart Townsend) is woken up by Rock Music. Lonely Vampire decides to become a rock musician and to challenge all the world's vampire's to reveal themselves. Meanwhile, Lonely Vampire's music inadvertently wakes Akasha, Queen of the Damned (Aaliyah)who sees human's as food. Lonely Vampire must decide whether he will rule the world with Akasha, throw himself to the mercy of the other vampires or spend eternity roaming the earth with the investigative librarian who's taken a shine to him.
Stuart Townsend and Aaliyah look amazing with both having all the sexy vampiric qualities you could want from an over-zealous bloodsucker. The sound track is fantastic... very Rock/Metal/New Punk-ish and dripping with sliding chords and waning metal guitar semi-tones (and definitely worth buying).
All in all, whilst this Vampire film isn't a classic, it does have all the things you'd want. Over-dressed long-haired, beautifully preserved young vampires. Plenty of blood sucking and spontaneous combustion. Tortured, mournful vampires who've grown very tired of their lonely existence and all this wrapped up in a stylish, musical montage.
Definitely worth having in your collection... just don't expect anything too intellectually challenging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poor imitation, 16 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Queen Of The Damned [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
If you've read or plan on reading The Vampire Chronicles, on which this is based, do not bother with this film. It will leave you highly irritated and you will rant incessantly about it.

If however, you're not arsed about reading the books, give it a go and you'll probably enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its worth a look, 23 Nov 2002
By 
Ms. Amy Dawson (Middlesbrough, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Queen Of The Damned [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I have to say this is one of my favourite films,Aaliya was perfect as the title character & Stuart Townsend carried of everyones favourite brat prince flawlessly & not forgetting the really good supporting cast too!
I do have a few bad points to say although it is a good film and the character are true to the books (well mostly), The anchients play a very important rule in the book but are hardly if at all featured. Some of tose who appeared but didn't make it to the film were,are Mekare(Mharet's twin sistetr,they make a up a large amout of the 3rd book),Louis(interview's main character),Gabrielle(Lestat's mother and 1st fledgling),Daniel Malloy(the boy from interview),Magnus(Lestat's actual maker),Eric(Mharets companion),Baby Jenks,Azim &theres afew more but I dont want to bore you.
Although it wasn't really that true to the books it did work in its own right as a really enjoyable vampire flick and adds a more likable Anne Rice character to the big screen aposed to the evil version of Lestat in Interview with the Vampire. Also he makes a much more enjoyable hero to watch,then the ever depressed Louis.
Oh and how could the film also boasts an outstanding soundtrack featuring the likes of Chester Bennington(of Linkin Park), Marlin Manson,Wayne Static (of Static X),Jay Gorden(of Orgy) to name a few.
This film really is worth seeing. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEX, BLOOD, ROCK AND ROLL, 1 Feb 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Queen Of The Damned [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Vampire Lestat ( Stuart Townsend) takes a nap for a few hundred years because the 18th and 19th centuries were boring. Apparently life begins at a NIN concert. Lestat joins a band and somehow is instantly a success in an age before Simon Cowell (must be a chapter they skipped from the book). He openly claims to be a vampire to the dismay of vampires in hiding and taunts them, "Come out come out whoever you are." It didn't take long for him to pick up the modern accents and slang.

There is a lot of loose talk of loneliness and "the dark wasteland of eternity" apparently a theme designed to appeal to the immortals among us, for some reason I failed to connect to it.

Our title character (Aaliyah ) makes her first real appearance about halfway into the film. Catchy title, but it really was all about him and not her.

The film is a modern erotic thriller without sex and nudity, something that most filmmakers can't accomplish.

Now what if "Concrete Blond" was composed of vampires and they had a battle of the bands...

I did not read the Anne Rice books, so I don't know how bad the adaptation was or wasn't.

I enjoyed the music in the film more than the acting. Stuart was great in his role and I am still scratching my head at Aaliyah's accent. Was that was supposed to be ancient Egyptian or something? Sounded more Akkadian.

Some f-bombs in music lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Queen of the Damned, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Of The Damned [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I bought this for my partner. She loves anything vampire related and she really enjoyed watching this film. The best in the series of films relating to the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A one time watch., 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Of The Damned [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Having read and enjoyed the book I thought I'd give it a go. It's okay. I enjoyed it but it's nothing special and not a patch on Interview With The vampire.If you've read the book I'd suggest you might be disappointed as the sensuality and graphic horror within the book is seriously lacking in the film hence it's 15 rating but entertaining enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very divisive film, 16 Oct 2013
This review is from: Queen Of The Damned [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
For fans of Anne Rice's vampire chronicles and/or the film of interview with a vampire looking for a sequel, this film is, quite frankly, an abomination. As a stand alone vampire film (that doesn't take itself too seriously) with dark, sexy vampires and an awesome soundtrack, it's worth watching at least once. Nowhere near a masterpiece but if it's cheap thrills you're after it might just hit the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but far from great, 18 Sep 2013
By 
M. Brookes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Queen Of The Damned [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Although it is the sequel to Interview with the Vampire this is a very different beast to the first film. Nobody from the original is in this and it has a much younger, more goth music video feel to it. In a sense that's not necessarily a bad thing as I quite enjoyed the music in the film.

The story centres around Lestat who has woken after a century of slumber and decides to go public with who he really is. This angers the other vampires and makes him a target, meanwhile the queen of vampires has arisen and seeks to make Lestat her king.

It's a fun watch even though it does stray into romanticising vampires, although they do remain monsters. The music video feel keeps the pace quick and punchy. Unlike the first film it lacks quality, the cast do a reasonable job, but no-one really stands out, except for Marius, for some reason I enjoyed his character more than the others.

Overall it's entertaining enough, far from great but a fun watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only if you love Aaliyah ..., 14 Sep 2013
This review is from: Queen Of The Damned [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Chances are you are only going to like this film if you are a big fan of Aaliyah and even then maybe not because she is not really up to this role having neither the stage presence nor voice for this part and I feel it was unfair of the film-makers to put her in this role. But to be fair they had no idea about the rest of the casting either since only the actor playing David can actually act well in the part they've been given.

Add to that the terrible hash up of the plot ripped haphazardly from the pages of Anne Rice's two books and given the most awful corny cliched dialogue that you spend most of the film laughing and it isn't much of a film at all.

The supposed great music isn't so great either or at least the way the sound is treated in the film makes it insipid and uninspiring. Unless you are a huge fan of Aaliyah or you are having some friends round to watch a bad film for a laugh don't bother. If you've read the books then don't expect anything even vaguely resembling what you've read.

One spoiler to press this last point so stop here if you don't want to know -

In the book the vampires do not attack Leystad at the rock concert, which makes sense. They are angry with him for revealing their secrets publicly so attacking him en masse in front of a huge crowd of humans as they do in the film is, well, just a bit daft isn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb51df678)

This product

Queen Of The Damned [DVD] [2002]
Queen Of The Damned [DVD] [2002] by Michael Rymer (DVD - 2002)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews