Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film to make you think
Considering this movie covers extremely hard hitting subjects such as suicide and self harm, it was surprising to discover that the film actually came across as a very tender story.
After a failed suicide attempt Jonathan (Cillian Murphy)is admitted into a treatment center where he and his fellow inmates promise their doctor not to harm themselves until after new...
Published on 14 Jun 2003 by Mr. C. R. Smith

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
From the blurb, it seems to be a very worthwhile and interesting film idea. But it did not deliver at all. Really rubbish film, I'm nnever rewatching it, and I don't recommend it.
Published 18 months ago by Juliet Blue


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film to make you think, 14 Jun 2003
By 
Mr. C. R. Smith (jersey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On The Edge [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Considering this movie covers extremely hard hitting subjects such as suicide and self harm, it was surprising to discover that the film actually came across as a very tender story.
After a failed suicide attempt Jonathan (Cillian Murphy)is admitted into a treatment center where he and his fellow inmates promise their doctor not to harm themselves until after new years day. Although he fights the doctor's attempts to make him talk, and the other patients seem to be a crazy lot, he manages to build relationships with them, whilst coming to terms with his own confused feelings.
This is a captivating movie, with some superb acting from Cillian Murphy and Tricia Vessey who plays Rachel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking yet funny - a surprisingly great film, 17 Oct 2007
This review is from: On The Edge [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
A standout performance by Cillian Murphy as well as an excellent supporting cast make this small Irish film a hidden gem. Jonathan Breech is not a cookie-cutter character and Cillian's performance really highlights the pain and depression he feels but covers with sarcasm and wit. After a failed suicide attempt he is admitted to a mental institution where he re-discovers his will to live, through building relationships with some of the patients. The best scenes include his therapy sessions with Stephen Rea, and those with Toby, one of the patients he befriends.

The film also has some interesting songs played throughout, in particular "Seven Day Mile" by The Frames and "Catch the Sun" by the Doves. There some very funny moments too and despite the topic of self-harm and teenage suicide you'll feel hopeful rather than depressed by its ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong but Beautiful stuff, 4 Jan 2009
By 
John Ferngrove (Hants UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Edge [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I may be wrong but I would suspect that if you have never suffered major depression with 'suicidal ideation' as it's politely called, or you have never had to care for such a person then this film might leave you baffled and unsure. But please don't let me put you off.

If, however, you do suffer, or have suffered, or care or have cared for sufferers then you will praise the harsh and improbable God that someone who understands has made a film for people like you. If you do suffer I recommend you don't watch this alone. It bought up some painful things for me, and I was very glad that my dear wife was there to reflect off when it finished. It raised enough strong emotion to shift me out of a medication numbness, allowing me to feel rather better the following day. So it qualifies as therapy in my book.

The ending is bitter-sweet and not remotely happy ever after, but those who do survive walk into a new stage of their lives, with a bit more of a reason to carry on (that being love).

Cillian Murphy is a brilliant actor who always makes the most of interesting roles. The supporting cast are memorable too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 9 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: On The Edge [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is an excellent film that looks at adolescent life from a very different perspective. It is filled with sarcasm and wit which provide comic relief in this serious film. The ideas and thoughts on suicide that are put forward are very thought provoking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film about depression that's never depressing, 13 July 2010
By 
Katharine Way "Wild Kat" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On The Edge [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is a real gem. A movie about depressed teenagers, self-harm and suicide that is moving but never depressing. I wouldn't know if it was written by someone who's actually been a psychiatric in-patient but it feels real, and there's keen eye for the absurdities of institutional life (the Velcro darts, the enforced wearing of horrible pyjamas).
I did worry that this was going to be a Therapy Movie. You know the kind of thing: Cillian Murphy's character won't accept help, then finally breaks down, admits that he needs rescuing, and develops a good therapeutic relationship with Stephen Rea's wise and fatherly therapist...BUT NONE OF THAT HAPPENS. There is some hope at the end - despite the fact that one of the main characters dies - but it doesn't come about in the (predictable, cliched, Hollywood) way you expect it to. And the patients feel like real characters, rather than just case histories. Despite their extreme situation and emotions and problems, they behave like teenagers anywhere - escaping to the nearest pub, not quite having sex and writing terrible poetry. The film humanises them; it never make them freaks.
And the performances are great. Murphy's brilliant (no surprises there) in what must've been one of his first film roles - certainly it predates 28 DAYS LATER. His character Jonathan is cocky, intelligent and a magnet for trouble - when he's not stealing cars or pissing in someone's pint, he's taking the piss out of the entire therapeutic process, but even as he's trading sarky comments, Murphy shows the pain and uncertainty beneath. Watch the bowling alley scene, it's worth the DVD price alone; you suddenly see how destructive and self-destructive his character is. Stephen Rea's wonderful in the least showy part as a patient and world-weary therapist and Tricia Vessey and Jonathan Jackson (what else have they been in?) are achingly vulnerable.
Sweet, funny, sad, and ultimately life-affirming. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating Film, 30 April 2010
This review is from: On The Edge [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Could watch it over and over again. Stunning performance from Cillian Murphy, interesting character developments, really, really weird at times but in an intriguing and thought provoking way. Potentially depressing subject matter treated with humour and a fresh perspective. Watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant DVD, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Edge [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
one fantastic film of death and depression in the male of the species. Funny suicide attempt that only broke a finger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - a must see!, 14 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Edge [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This film is only 1 hour and 20 minutes in length, but it is a very lovely and touching film. I didn't know what to expect and as one reviewer has already said, I wasn't sure it looked that promising from the DVD description/cover, but decided to check it out anyway, as I was keen to see more Cillian Murphy films. Despite the 'subject matter' it's actually a really funny film and hilarious in places! I found myself bursting out with laughter so often, at the characters and situations and the sarcastic wit of the main character, Jonathan, who is played with brilliant humour and sensitivity by Cillian Murphy. He is also supported very well by Jonathan Jackson and Tricia Vessey, who portray the vulnerability of their characters so well. All of the characters in this are very likeable and I really felt for them. It is a thought provoking and touching film - it made me laugh and cry in equal measure - it has a couple of sad moments, but in my view it's absolutely no way depressing as one reviewer here said! I actually found it more funny than anything. It's a beautiful film and I'd really recommend it and if you're a CM fan you'll love his performance in this. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge by the cover - it's a surprisingly good film, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Edge [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I bought this DVD as I'm a big fan of Cillian Murphy and I wanted to see some more of his films. I was initially put off by the cover and didn't expect much, but I was pleasantly surprised. Good acting (especially by Murphy), a well-rounded plot and great soundtrack - there's a lot more to this film than the tag line would lead you to believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful story of troubled times, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Edge [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Beautiful story if understanding oneself learning to support and understand others without judging and falling in love in the tue meaning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On The Edge [DVD] [2001]
On The Edge [DVD] [2001] by John Carney (DVD - 2002)
£4.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews