Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An evocative film version of Solti's recording
This is a film version, made in 1988, of an older audio recording made by the forces at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden conducted by Georg Solti in the mid-1970s. The original Decca recording is good for its age. Solti's conducting conveys the beauty and pathos in Tchaikovsky's magnificent score. However, some cuts were made from the original recording...
Published on 10 Feb 2007 by CM

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Keep away from this one!
I always enjoyed Solti's resonant, but never terribly idiomatic 'Eugen Onegin' on record and cd, but I sincerely cannot recommend this DVD set to anyone. It is filmed on location, but looks startlingly artificial and bland none the less. The wonderful singers were not allowed to act in the film, so they are substituted with a bunch of very anonymous Eastern European...
Published on 5 Dec 2003 by Michael Bo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Keep away from this one!, 5 Dec 2003
By 
Michael Bo (Frederiksberg Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Eugene Onegin -- film version/Solti [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I always enjoyed Solti's resonant, but never terribly idiomatic 'Eugen Onegin' on record and cd, but I sincerely cannot recommend this DVD set to anyone. It is filmed on location, but looks startlingly artificial and bland none the less. The wonderful singers were not allowed to act in the film, so they are substituted with a bunch of very anonymous Eastern European actors, and not very able ones at that. They mime to the singing and do it badly, and, what's more, they look completely out of place. Lensky, our all-time favourite passionate young man, is played by a graying, retiring gentleman who does not look like he has half the passion of Stuart Burrows on the soundtrack. Actually, this DVD is very bad. Buy the CD instead, or go for the brilliant, illuminating and extremely well-sung 'Eugen Onegin' made for Glyndebourne in 1992 by Graham Vick and issued on DVD earlier this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An evocative film version of Solti's recording, 10 Feb 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Eugene Onegin -- film version/Solti [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is a film version, made in 1988, of an older audio recording made by the forces at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden conducted by Georg Solti in the mid-1970s. The original Decca recording is good for its age. Solti's conducting conveys the beauty and pathos in Tchaikovsky's magnificent score. However, some cuts were made from the original recording.

Bernd Weikl's (Onegin) voice has a slightly throaty and nasal timbre which suits the title role. Teresa Kubiak's singing brings out Tatyana's emotions very well. Stuart Burrows (Lensky) sings with youthful ardour.

All the roles are performed by handsome actors rather than by singers. They look their respective roles, particularly Onegin and Tatyana, although the actor for Lensky - with slightly greying hair - looks a little too old for a young amateur poet. They mime the singers to the libretti, but they sometimes look as if they are talking rather than singing. This may be slightly disconcerting at first, but one gets used to the disparity and appreciates the naturalistic acting that brings out the characters' emotion.

The film was shot on location somewhere that looks suitable. All the settings are very well chosen, particularly the duel scene in a snow-covered wood, Tatyana's name-day party scene at the Larins in the countryside and a ballroom scene at a nobleman's mansion in St. Petersburg.

In summary, despite cuts, this is a very enjoyable film version of this operatic masterpiece. There are some DVD versions of performances on stage, but this film would be a valuable addition to the music collection of lovers of this masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A work of genius, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Eugene Onegin -- film version/Solti [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
How I love it when opera is removed from the stage to real-life locations. This is an outstanding example and much preferable to other productions of Eugene Onegin I have seen. The synchronization of filming and music recording is incredible: I watch the lips of the actors and really believe that they are the singers. As always, Solti gets superb performances from the orchestra and soloists. No opera lover should be without this DVD, and it confirms that Tchaikovsky is just as brilliant with his command of opera as he was with ballet and symphonic music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just beautiful all rounder, 14 April 2013
By 
M. C. Digby "Mark" (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Eugene Onegin -- film version/Solti [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The film is a perfect way to appreciate the writing of Pushkin, the highest standard of filming, locations, actors etc etc. Just a dream film I watch over and over again. Obviously if it had been sung as in the opera it would be even more wonderful , but then these actors are not opera singers. I can only highly commend you to watch this one, exceptional!! You will become an addict to it! Combines beauty in every form, a perfect production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty disappointing, 13 Feb 2008
By 
Loge (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Eugene Onegin -- film version/Solti [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This DVD simply doesn't work. The musical recording exists separately on the quite beautiful Decca CD of 1974 (exactly the same recording) and I'd certainly recommend that. ("Onegin" is one of my favourite operas and on CD I'm still torn between the Solti set and Philips' set with Hvorostovsky and Nuccia Focile.)

With this DVD the frankly bizarre idea of having a separate cast of actors "lip synching" to the Solti recording fails on every level. Yes, there are some quite prettily pulled off moments - the ballroom scenes, the duel - but the disjunction between what's going on in the music and what's happening visually is so extreme as to ruin both. At such a dramatic highlight as the letter scene, the actress looks almost disinterested. There is no effort to suggest that these people are in an opera - everything seems flat and unanimated. There is no attempt to marry the lip-syncing to the sound. (I'm reminded of Glen Close in "Meeting Venus". She actually sang the Hall Aria - look at the muscles in her neck - but an operatic voice was over-dubbed. And it worked perfectly)

I really wanted to like this. The recording it's based on is unquestionably great; and it was a gift from a friend. All I can say is that I've been looking for an alternative since I got this. (I think I've found it in the superb Decca DVD with Renee Fleming and Dmitri Hvorostovsky). I'm not really sure how to rate this in terms of stars. Musically it's certainly very worthwhile - get the CD! - but as a DVD this is a poor choice. Feeling generous I'll give it three stars for its musical value (and if you can see the attractive imagery as apropos back-ground: if you can live with the disjunction between sound and image. I can't).

As a DVD this has very little value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfull team, 10 May 2005
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Eugene Onegin -- film version/Solti [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Who hasnt felt for Tatiana and Lensky in this wonderfull opera by Tchaikovsky with all its beautifull music. look no further than this Dvd or Cds to be swept away. The actors do a splendid job and the sets in this production on Dvd are first class. Do not hesitate go and buy this if you love Peter Illych Tchaikovsky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3d1a920)

This product

Tchaikovsky: Eugene Onegin -- film version/Solti [DVD] [2002]
12.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews