Customer Reviews


150 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic
At last, the unreleased, much talked about original ending to Little Shop of Horrors is available for the first time in full colour and sound quality as part of the full movie! This ending was hated by test audiences on the film's release for a few reasons (which I won't mention here for spoiler reasons). However, I firmly believe that this original 20 minute ending is...
Published 18 months ago by Dale Hudson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie.. Lousy transfer
Love this old movie. But this DVD that I just recieved (Elstreet Hill Entertainment) .. jeepers.. The picture "quality" is just awfull. The VHS copy I bought some 20 years ago was far better. It is really really bad!!! To make matters worse I just found the full movie on youtube. Where the picture quality is superb!! So much for "trying to support the industry"..
Published 10 months ago by Hansen


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Dale Hudson (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last, the unreleased, much talked about original ending to Little Shop of Horrors is available for the first time in full colour and sound quality as part of the full movie! This ending was hated by test audiences on the film's release for a few reasons (which I won't mention here for spoiler reasons). However, I firmly believe that this original 20 minute ending is far superior to the theatrical ending most of us have been seeing over the years. The media book itself is beautifully presented and has some wonderful pictures and the special features are a lovely bonus. You get the choice to watch either version of the movie through the menu. I thoroughly recommmend this to Little Shop of Horrors fans, and indeed, to fans of musicals in general! It's superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray review, 6 Oct 2013
By 
Chinatown Blue "cthulhoid" (S-O-T, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just to be clear, I am reviewing the Region Free Director's Cut blu ray. I was wary of buying this at first because I wasn't sure if the theatrical cut was included, but in the end I chanced it. It does include the theatrical version, as well as some excellent extras and the wonderful director's cut. I won't go into too much detail about the story - if you are looking at this you probably have seen the theatrical version before and to say too much about the director's cut would spoil it. But as one who loved the 'happy ending' version, I have to say I really enjoyed the version as originally scripted just as much. And it is a crying shame that the special effects finale has been unseen for so long. I cannot praise this blu ray highly enough, in fact. The picture quality is superb, the sound excellent, and the extras genuinely entertaining. And it definitely works without the slightest hitch on a British blu ray player, so if you had any worries about that, put them from your mind and buy this- you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUDDENLY SEE MORE !!, 9 Oct 2012
One of my all time favourite films was already reasonably covered by the dvd release. This Blu ray however, is outstanding. Alternate versions of some other movies don't always warrant the hype especially alternate endings (alien resurrection comes to mind) but this is a full blown alternative in top quality picture and sound, not just a tacked on bad quality addition. I didn't realise how much was originally shot and then excised. (some 20 odd minutes)

In fairness the effects although impressive have that 80's touch but as the whole production is very "in studio" that doesn't matter one jot.

The studio wanted a more upbeating ending after bad preview screenings, hence the original ending and the whole tone does seem to shift. However,this version brought an early small tear to my eye before some big smiles at the extent of the restored footage.

The previously mentioned outtakes are ported over from the dvd but have a few funny moments.

And it IS region free so us region 2 only users get to see it too.

AND IT COMES IN REALLY SMART DIGIBOOK PACKAGING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mean green mama from outerspace, 9 Mar 2000
By 
jrc118@york.ac.uk (Portsmouth, England) - See all my reviews
This has to be one of the top films ever made. The plot of the film is the story of a nerdy, unsuccessful shop assistant, Seymour, who finds a mysterious blood-eating plant that brings him success and riches, only to discover it is intent on taking over the world. Add to this a naive heroine, scheming shopkeeper, sadistic dentist (Steve Martin at his best), and a host of cameos; you get a fantasticly worked musical black comedy that plays on the classic b-movie genre. With superb music from pre-Disney Alan Menkin (Aladdin, Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast) and lyrics and script from Howard Ashman, muscials rarely come any better than this. 5 stars barely comes near to doing this film justice.....buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Treasure, 14 April 2003
By A Customer
'Little Shop of Horrors' is one of those movies (and musicals) that no-one seems to have heard of, and I was one of them until recently when my music teacher mentioned it to me. It really is hidden treasure coz it's hilarious. It's a musical but is outrageous and doesn't even attempt to be serious like soppy trash like Les Miserablés and Phantom of the Opera. You'll have the songs in your head for months. If your a fan of 70's trends like blues and soul (shoo wop, do woo!), you'll most probably enjoy this.
People say it has similarities to the disney films Beauty and the Beast, and the Little Mermaid because they were also written by Alan Menken and Howard Ashman. I don't think so though. Little Shop of Horrors is nothing like any of the Disney musical films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slant on your run-of-the-mill musical....., 4 Jan 2004
By 
N. Oliver ""pinky"" (barnstaple, devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Entertaining horror/comedy/musical directed by Frank Oz starring Rick Moranis (Ghostbusters) as Seymour Krelborn, an orphan who lives and works in a florist shop run by Mr Mushnik (Vincent Gardenia). Seymour dosen't have much going for him apart for his love of exotic plants and his secret love for shop assistant Audrey (Ellen Greene). One day he is sold a strange and interesting plant by a chinese man, after a total eclipse. Taking it back to the shop, he finds that the only way to make it grow is if he feeds it drops of blood! Soon the plant, named Audrey II, is growing and talking (!) and demanding more blood. Flesh, human blood. Seymour finds himself in a dilemna - should he give the plant what it wants and make all his dreams come true?
If you don't take it too seriously, which lets face it you can't, then its a very enjoyable, laugh out loud film. Some wonderful effects and brilliant casting including Steve Martin as Audrey's sado-masichist dentist boyfriend (just don't watch him work if you are afraid of the dentist!), John Candy as weird Wink Wilkinson the DJ and Bill Murray as a dental patient who just loves pain.
Some nice song and dance numbers will have you tapping your feet and put a smile on your face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Suddenly, Seymour is standin' beside you...", 19 May 2005
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This 50's-style musical/comedy/satire is sure to put a smile on your face and have you rockin' to the tunes. Rick Moranis stars as Seymour, a clumsy, nerdy florist who secretly pines for his ditzy co-worker, Audrey. Seymour gets a mysterious plant that amazingly brings him fame and fortune, but it grows at an alarming rate, and it drinks... blood. What is Seymour to do?
Rick Moranis gives his best performance to date as the quintessential loser who melts your heart. He has that puppy dog face and over-sized glasses, and a lot of talent. In the film's funniest scene, Steve Martin plays everybody's nightmare: a sadistic dentist (with Bill Murray as his too-willing patient). There are a lot of fun, bouncy songs, plenty of laughs, and some touching moments, too. Heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Comedy Classic, 7 Sep 2003
If ever a film deserved accolades for bringing a successful Broadway musical to screen,it's Litttle Shop Of Horrors. It deserves it more so than other film adaptations like West Side Story, as it brings something entirely new into the experience. It's definetly a hilarious film, and every song is instantly unforgettable.
This DVD also includes a good 40 minutes + of bonus material that is quite intereting and funny to watch. There's also a commentary by the Director Frank Oz, which is very informative and pleasant. And another excellent feature is to watch the film, so that only the songs get played without the sounds of the film.
It's nice but if you've got the films soundtrack, it's rather pointless.
If you love musicals or just love comedies, this is a film you can't go wrong with.
Bill Murrays performance alone should warrant it's purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Havin' some fun now..., 21 Jan 2001
By A Customer
If you haven't seen this film, you haven't lived!! This is one of those films that you can watch repeatedly and not get bored of it, and with a soundtrack that'll have you reaching for the hairbrush and waking up the neighbours. The main attraction is Audrey II, the 'mean green mother from outerspace'(voiced by Levi Stubbs), and with fantastic actors including Rick Moranis as the nerdy Seymour and Steve Martin as the sadistic dentist Orin it's not a film to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feed me Seymour...Feed me all night long!, 26 July 2000
By A Customer
Are you a blood sucking vampire from another world? If you love that stuff then get stuck into Little Shop of Horrors. Or should I say suck in! (Joke) Rick Moranis plays the geeky ophan who is in love with Audrey played by Ellen Greene. Keep the lights low and tuck up in bed with your cushion at the ready because Audrey II is comeing to get you. Sing-along-songs involved and always remember NEVER BUY A PLANT AFTER A TOTAL ECLIPSE OF THE SUN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little Shop Of Horrors [1960] [DVD]
The Little Shop Of Horrors [1960] [DVD] by Roger Corman (DVD - 2002)
6.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews