Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtroom drama par excellence..
Frank Galvin (Paul Newman) has all the odds stacked against him. His career is heading nowhere fast, a wrecked personal life, his legal partner has had enough, and a whisky habit that could kickstart an economy. Stanley Ellin in The New York Times Book Review wrote that "the story, digging deep into the mysteries of medical, legal and clerical practice, has everything...
Published on 14 Jan 2010 by Peter Buckley

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Dark Prints
I didn't remember what a great film 'The Hustler' was. The audio commentary, although interesting, is mostly just a collection of memories rather than in depth analysis or description of technique. Both 'The Hustler' and 'Verdict' were very dark prints on the set I've got. Haven't watched 'Butch Cassidy' yet.
Published 14 months ago by A. Mackay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtroom drama par excellence.., 14 Jan 2010
By 
Peter Buckley "peter15115" (Dyfed, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Verdict [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
Frank Galvin (Paul Newman) has all the odds stacked against him. His career is heading nowhere fast, a wrecked personal life, his legal partner has had enough, and a whisky habit that could kickstart an economy. Stanley Ellin in The New York Times Book Review wrote that "the story, digging deep into the mysteries of medical, legal and clerical practice, has everything going for it, and makes dramatically potent use of each element."
With near zero preparation, Frank takes on the might of St Catherine's hospital, two eminent doctors, the trial judge, and a slick city legal team headed by Ed `prince of darkness' Concannon (James Mason). The case: A woman is in a coma after a routine delivery went wrong, and the outcome depends on a key witness who won't testify, and Frank doesn't know why.
This courtroom drama involves you on every level. You feel you need Frank to win, yet the despair of the patient's family is your despair. In a sense, justice itself is on trial. Does everyone and every principle have a price? Can a jury be trusted to see the issues in a complex case?
It is gut-wrenching when we finally realise Laura (Charlotte Rampling) isn't all she seems, the implication is she motivated him to win ( `I don't do failure!') but even so, we want things to work out for her and Frank. He may be reprieved as a lawyer, but his personal life will have to wait a little longer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Newman's ultimate performance, 12 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Verdict [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is indubitably Newman's finest hour. His considered and perfectly drawn portrayal of the consummately unsympathetic character of Frank Galvin - troubled,alcoholic,damaged though initially brilliant lawyer, reduced to ambulance-chasing - now facing the most difficult case of his life, should certainly have gained the 'Oscar' for which he was nominated.This case is metaphorically his downfall or salvation.
Lumet has used his favourite themes of the flawed and somtimes blind aspect of the law in opposition to it's 'justice'.
James Mason is at his oleaginous best as Galvin's nemesis and opponent in court and Charlotte Rampling and Milo O'Shea put in beautiful supporting performances....fantastic !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Eddie Butch and a lawyer named Frank........., 27 May 2010
By 
George Henderson "GMH" (SLIGO ROI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
....all star in this nifty little box set.Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid must be one of the coolest westerns ever great chemistry between Newman and Redford and excellent cinematography an adventure well told The other two movies Newman plays rather darker characters the self obsessed pool shark Eddie Felson a role he would later win an oscar for in the sequel Color of Money.The hustler is Eddies' first foray into movies and while not a bad character lovable he sure aint.The third movie sees Newman play an ambulance chasing alcoholic lawyer given a chance at redemption by winning an unwinable malpractice case another unlikeable character given empathy by Newmans' abundant charisma. Each movie has extras all have commentaries not a bad package for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great acting, 3 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdict [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
Pretty much everyone has a good role in this movie which allows them to demonstrate their acting skills. Newman shows what he can do with an entirely believeable role as a washed up ambulance chaser who finally tries to redeem himself and do the right thing. Rampling is a bit two dimensional in this portrayal, but the others do a great job supporting a movie which is all about self respect and honour, but without being sentimental or self-righteous. James Mason is convincingly wicked and scheming and O'Shea cynical and hard hearted. In the end, the outcome is a bit predictable, but that seems to be inevitable for such a story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 good films, 16 Dec 2010
By 
Adam Brown (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can i say. Paul Newman is a class act and every film fan will agree that his films are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a timeless classic, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdict [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
I think this has to rank amonst Paul Newman's greatest films. The ambulance chasing lawyer barely capable of running a business takes on a hopeless case. The big money lawyers buy off key witnesses, but he perseveres and the finale is pure class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Newmans finest films, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdict [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
I already had this film, i bought this copy for my barrister who i employed so that i could retain custody of my youngest daughter, who has issues with her mother. Its a fantastic film, probably in Newmans top three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NEWMAN SHOULD OF WON OVER KINGSLEY!, 21 April 2013
By 
Mr. E. A. Dobson "dwardstings" (West Yorkshire,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdict [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
Ben Kingsley won the Oscar that year for Gandhi.Many people including myself thought it was Newman`s year,he would of course win eventually for a lesser film,The Color of Money(1986).I think this film is great,great acting,darkly lit/moody photography(which suits the film) and although the outcome itself is predictable,one thing which really wins me over everytime i watch it is the ending(by ending i mean after the outcome of the trial).I watch so many good films that lose whats gone before in the last few minutes but i don`t think they could of ended this one in any better way.Please note this has been a review of The Verdict only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasurable collection, 13 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely because we get a glimpse of Newman as a young actor in The Hustler, As an accomplished big name alongside Redford in Butch Cassidy and a latter day pro in the Verdict.

All three are classics undoubtedly. His performances in the verdict and the hustler are surely Oscar worthy. I am captivated by the pool room drama of the Hustler and the court room drama where newman plays an alcoholic to perfection.

This collection is worth your buck as it delivers with three great films, unlike other actor boxsets which have included fillers alongside the actor's best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MARVEL AT THE MAVERICK, 28 Sep 2008
This review is from: The Verdict [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
this is a hard-hitting and truly honest look-brutally so most of the times-at both american health-care and judiciary and it takes 2 geniuses to give the final verdict -the system is so flawed it is futile to ask for fairness -unless you know how to extricate it ,which happens if you come across a rarity -a honest professional -whether in medicine or law.

It might be rare but lumet and paul newman have delivered a seething satire and brilliant drama which is so unassuming in it's realistic portayals that you feel like experiencing the milieu of repugnant lies and vapid corruption -the truth is obscure but lumet shines with his genius and paul newman proves why he is the greatest actor ever from american screen -the movie is so posthumously brilliant that you are stunned every time you see this masterpiece -that it tends to look at the darker aspects of the american dream while balancing it with reality makes it even more affective and incredibly intelligent -this is an artistic peak in american cinema for two giants .

charlotte rampling is the feminine foil and she is spledid as the reluctant and silently repentant victim of circumstances-they all come together in a final act which blows your mind away to leave you shattered with emotion and awe-in an artistic explosion .

usman khawaja
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7623780)

This product

Verdict [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Verdict [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] by Sidney Lumet (DVD - 2002)
6.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews