Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!
I love this album! Ashanti has featured on many great tracks, and her singles have all been brilliant and the album is no dissapointment! It brings together pop,hip hop and r'n'b in such a unique way.My favourite tracks on the album are 'Foolish' and 'Leaving (always on time part 2). Ashanti is very individual in her style and very promising!
Published on 14 Jan. 2004 by lil_miss_shady

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars definitely one to listen to ... a rising star
Brilliant first album by a rising star. She writes her own lyrics and sings them like she owns them. Foolish and Rescue are definitely the best tracks on the album, they stand out, are unique and well produced.
Her voice still sounds quite young, unlike people like Alicia Keys - who seems to have reached her vocal peak and belts out tunes full force, and very...
Published on 14 May 2002 by handizive


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars definitely one to listen to ... a rising star, 14 May 2002
This review is from: Ashanti (Audio CD)
Brilliant first album by a rising star. She writes her own lyrics and sings them like she owns them. Foolish and Rescue are definitely the best tracks on the album, they stand out, are unique and well produced.
Her voice still sounds quite young, unlike people like Alicia Keys - who seems to have reached her vocal peak and belts out tunes full force, and very emotively.
Ashanti seems to hold back on the rest of the tracks & loses stars on that. Maybe she wasn't really "feeling" them. But having said that, there is alot of room for development.
Her voice has a smoothness and a sensuality to it but she needs to put in a bit more energy and emotion. I would still recommend you get it and look forward to what she has to offer next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 14 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Ashanti (Audio CD)
I love this album! Ashanti has featured on many great tracks, and her singles have all been brilliant and the album is no dissapointment! It brings together pop,hip hop and r'n'b in such a unique way.My favourite tracks on the album are 'Foolish' and 'Leaving (always on time part 2). Ashanti is very individual in her style and very promising!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unfoolish, 30 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Ashanti (Audio CD)
Ashanti Douglas was a star even before anyone had heard any of her solo material, with r'n'b hits "whats luv" and "always on time" alongside Fat Joe and Ja Rule respectively. "Foolish" was the single with which the mainstream truly embraced her, and it isn't hard to see why. The song shows off her chilled-out voice and has a funky beat. Other highlights are "happy", "leaving", "scared", "rescue" and "dreams". While one must admit that two or three of the tracks featured ("voodoo",""movies") are hardly outstanding, you never really want to skip the track. Other reviewers have claimed that Ashantui's voice is yet to develop but personally I think it's beautiful as it is, but one thing that came across to me was that in places Irv Gotti(executive producer) appears quite inexperienced producing tracks for and r'n'b starlet such as Ashanti. The skits here, especially "shi shi" are sweet, funny and charming, which is really the same feeling the listener gets for Ashanti by the end of the album. While not up to the classic status of "the miseducation on lauryn hill" and "miss e...so addictive", "Ashanti" will certainly establish the princess of Murder Inc as one of today's biggest female vocalists. It won't go down in history but by album two I suspect that she(and irv gotti) will be up to the challenge. Despite this, Ashanti has an album of r'n'b greatness here, one of the albums of 2002, so I can only recommend you buy it as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder Inc. bring out the singer!, 17 Aug. 2002
This review is from: Ashanti (Audio CD)
Ashanti finally releases solo after being a year on Murder Inc. Records. We got a good intro of her from Ja Rule's "Always On Time" and Fat Joe's "What's Luv?" So we know what she's about. She's not one of those R&B Ballad Female singers who doesn't give any emotion and just sings about hating a man. She actually doesn't have man-hating songs on her album which is what makes it quite a good album. She also has her own unique style of writing a song which is good for a new singer, I mean most singers just copy the usual R&B way of writing a song. Ashanti is highly original when it comes to songwriting, singing and making records hot! Her debut single "Foolish" is a good introduction of what Ashanti's album is about, there's R&B, Soul, Hip-Hop and a bit of Neo-Soul as well. Her second single "Happy" has given us more of her Neo-Soul and Hip-Hop side. Good R&B typed songs are "Foolish" "Movies" "Unfoolish" and "Leaving (Always On Time Part 2)" which also features a Rap verse by Murder Inc.'s most sucessful Rapper Ja Rule. Good Neo-Soul and Hip-Hop songs are "Happy" "Call" "Scared" "Rescue" "Baby" "VooDoo" and "Over" which is also sort of a good dance-ish song. Her other two songs "Dreams" and "Thank You" are inspiring songs which give you motavation for anything in life! The skits are good! "Narrative Call" is about Ashanti talking about her and guy who she would run too. "Fight (Over Skit)" is an acted out skit where Ashanti is arguing with a guy who cheated on her. "Shi Shi" is a skit where her sister Shi calls her and it's really a good intro to "Dreams" which is nice. My advice to you is if you liked artists like Jennifer Lopez, Lauryn Hill and Erykah Badu you definitely need to buy Ashanti's debut! You won't regret it, trust me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And I Rarely give 5 Stars..., 15 Aug. 2007
By 
P. Lockhart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ashanti (Audio CD)
Ok so i'm a pretty new ashanti fan. My favourite song is Only U, so i decided I'd give her debut a go,not knowing any songs past Foolish. But I am now a big fan and looking forward to her new album in October. Heres what I think of the album:

1/Intro-I wont give it a rating cos its not really a song, but it plays ashantis work before the album.
2/Foolish-Brilliant!It was no.1 for months in The U.S, and its just...great!10/10
3/Happy-The second single,and a good summer song.8/10
4/Leaving-Love this song,shouldve been a single!Great Chorus 10/10
5/Narrative Call(Skit)- A skit,thats pretty laughable at.
6/Call-Good enough,catchy,but one of the weaker songs.8/10
7/Scared-Love this one!Great lyrics and good chorus.One of the better hits 9/10.
8/Rescue-Good also,but why is there 3 minutes of just the beat at the end. No need for it,but still good song. 8/10
9/Baby-Third single. Really likeable and has good lyrics "He's like the lighter to my cigarette,Watch me smoke"...Brill! 9/10
10/Voodoo-Another great song,and love the chorus!Really catchy! 9/10
11/Movies-A bit dull,but is the kind of song that will be stuck in your head days after you listen. 7/10
12/Fight-(Skit)-Couldve done without...
13/Over-Another Smash! Love this one aswell. Very catchy. 10/10
14/Unfoolish-Good remix of Foolish.Will be stuck in your head aswell. 8/10
15/Shi Shi(Skit)- Pretty Pointless
16/Dreams-Ok.Not that great,but most people like it!6/10
17/Thank You-Not really a song,just ashantis dedication to her Grandparents and showing her vocal ability...

Well this is what I thought of Ashantis Record Breaking Debut! I advise you to but the album. Ill close with my Top 5:
Foolish
Leaving
Baby
Over
Voodoo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Part Of My Life, 29 May 2005
By 
This review is from: Ashanti (Audio CD)
I remember the day I bought this album...it was a tough point in my life and I was so restless and sad that day, the only positive thing in my head was "Foolish" because the single was just coming out...The song is hypnotic and emotional and I just decided to walk out the door and buy the album!! I loved it, maybe just because it was literally the soundtrack to my summer and playing it simply takes me back..Its quite sad actually, I can't think of it in terms of an album, more like the backgrroung music in my movie (lol)

So as an album, it is of course flawed and also rich in talent and sensuality. I remember thinking that it was such strange music to listen to and although the songs are distinctively different its as though they roll into one...in that same hypnotic way. It is almost like magic or something that takes you away for an hour.
My favourite tracks on the album are Foolish, Rescue, VooDoo and Baby. I have to admit I find the ja R.U.L.E bits soooo annoying esp. since I can't stand him!!! Ashanti as an artist is no Whitney, she is however her own person, no copy!! Her music is individual and she has a good voice and has put her imput into the writing and her mark and presence into the CD...
She is not one of my favourite artists and her music isn't up there at the top in my mind, but Its up there somewhere and this album will always be one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ashanti, 7 July 2002
This review is from: Ashanti (Audio CD)
Ashanti is a fairly new girl in R&B as a solo artist, and this album shows that. The songs are mainly based around teenage issues, which is OK if you've got good lyrics and a great voice, but Ashanti doesn't. There are at least 4 good tracks on the album though- Foolish, Unfoolish, Rescue and Happy, but the rest don't do much for her. She's got a good voice but the tracks all have a 'sameness' about them- once you've heard one, you've heard them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh, funky and a bit different, 12 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Ashanti (Audio CD)
Ashanti is the debut album from rising Murder Inc. superstar Ashanti, and this is your typical J-Lo, but with a twist. Her sound is fresh, unique and, importantly, music you can relate to at all levels, that might want to make you get up and dance or simply chill-out. Stand-out tracks include storming current single Foolish, the Ja Rule co-starring Leaving and Happy, plus the super-sexy Movies. The album climaxes on a slower note, with the mid-tempo ballad Dreams, and an a cappella Thank You.
Good Tracks - There are 17 tracks, 3 of them are skits. Out of the 14 real songs, there are 12 good ones.
Best Track - A tie between the bouncing beats of Happy and the storming, bitchy lyrics of Unfoolish (No more/giving you everything/no more/telling your lies to me)
Worst Track - Thank You is quite sickening and tasteless, it'll either inspire you or nauseate you.
Verdict - While admittedly the quality does wane slightly in the middle, Ashanti is a fresh, funky slice of r'n'b, with a slightly more instrumental and inspirational sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The talent is there , but the best is yet to come., 20 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Ashanti (Audio CD)
Ashanti's debut is good in my opinion- there are alot of nice songs which i like, but i think that either they've been overproduced or that the producers didn't give much thought to the songs. It's obvious that there's a lack of emotions in most of the songs, and instead we settle for beats that seems to be repeated at some times. However, the songs do have something that makes it fun to listen to. And so does her voice- it's good, but there's something in it that attracts the public ear. The lyrics are good, she writes them, and it's also a good point, but i think that in the future if she wants to succeed, she should put herself more into the music. Highlights in the album are: Foolish, Happy, Scared, Rescue, Over and Dreams (Dreams and rescue do manage to deliever emotions and it makes them real good songs.)
So, I'd recommend you to take a listen- see for yourself, but wait for the next album. maybe she'll get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Half and half, 26 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Ashanti (Audio CD)
5 stars for the album itself, this is real RnB through and through.
0 stars for the seller, I was completely skunked out of my money for a blank CD-R in the album case.

None the less,chris album is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ashanti
Ashanti by Ashanti (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews