Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're looking for authentic Irish music, here it is.
So many of the Irish based groups are straying far from their roots, and they shouldn't be criticized for that. A person whose life is entwined with music doesn't want to be bound to tradition for the rest of that life.
However, there are those of us hungering for the real stuff and while groups drift into basic pop and rock or into new age or other eclectic...
Published on 12 Feb 2003 by Neal Reynolds

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy a different Clancy Bros album
All the reviews here relate to the group themselves. I can agree that the Clancy Brothers with Tommy Makem have a fantastic repertoire of classic and not-so-classic folk songs from Ireland, Scotland, England, and elsewhere. They are brilliant. This album however is a collection of poor recordings from live shows and TV appearances. If you want to experience them at their...
Published on 19 July 2012 by M. D. Rivers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're looking for authentic Irish music, here it is., 12 Feb 2003
By 
Neal Reynolds (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of The Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem (Audio CD)
So many of the Irish based groups are straying far from their roots, and they shouldn't be criticized for that. A person whose life is entwined with music doesn't want to be bound to tradition for the rest of that life.
However, there are those of us hungering for the real stuff and while groups drift into basic pop and rock or into new age or other eclectic directions, it's good to have the Clancy Brothers and Tommy Makem. They bring us Irish music with no apologies. The opening number, "The Rising Of The Moon", signals what's ahead...drinking songs, political songs, a couple of tender ballads, and all displaying the Irish wit and passion. So if you want the real Irish sound, this is one of the best CDs you're likely to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Irish Magic, 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Best Of The Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem (Audio CD)
Bob Dylan famously said that the late Liam Clancy was the best Ballad singer that he had ever heard. Liam and co were all in fine form throughout this collection of their work. Highlights are "The Patriot Game", "Paddy West" & "Jug of Punch" among others. This CD is a fine introduction to the Clancys and well worth the very reasonable purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy a different Clancy Bros album, 19 July 2012
By 
M. D. Rivers (Luton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem (Audio CD)
All the reviews here relate to the group themselves. I can agree that the Clancy Brothers with Tommy Makem have a fantastic repertoire of classic and not-so-classic folk songs from Ireland, Scotland, England, and elsewhere. They are brilliant. This album however is a collection of poor recordings from live shows and TV appearances. If you want to experience them at their very best - don't buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the jumpers put you off, 14 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Best Of The Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem (Audio CD)
I came to the Clancy Brothers after reading "Patriot Games" by (strangely enough) Tom Clancy. I am neither Catholic or Irish but I love this band and I recommend them to anyone tiring of other Irish music (Clannad etc.) Great music and (where appropriate) real passion. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 22 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Best Of The Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem (Audio CD)
I bought this as a present for my father in law and he loved it. He is a big fan of the Clancy Bros and couldn't believe I had found a cd of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars christmas present for husband, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem (Audio CD)
over the years I have bought these for my husband and myself but they were so old so saw this and gave to him as a Christmas present really love their voices
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Diddly Diddly just reached new heights, 28 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem (Audio CD)
Shane McGowan or someone similar chose one of these boys numbers for their 8 desert island discs - so as is my want - i went all in. pointless to download a track at a time when you can have the 20 odd here at less than 30p each.
And i am shocked. I really really enjoyed the lot.
throw in a couple of really very funny jokes between a few of the songs - and this just might me my suprise find of 2011.
Obviously if you hate all things Irish - look elsewhere. But for the rest of us open-minded souls - we are rewarded with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Clancy Brothers, 14 July 2011
This review is from: The Best Of The Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem (Audio CD)
another Clancy Brothers Gem to add to my collection. A few tracks I have already on other cd's but others I have not heard before. Cd in prime condition. Arrived within 3 days of ordering. Very happy with service from Amazon as always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great introductory CD, 19 May 2011
This review is from: The Best Of The Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem (Audio CD)
Having taken a particular liking to Irish folk music, my Irish friend recommended The Clancy Brothers to me. This is an excellent introductory album with several live performances and includes a few humorous anecdotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of The Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem
The Best Of The Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem by Tommy Makem (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews