Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic album which didn't receive the acclaim it deserved, 30 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Foreigner 4 (Audio CD)
This is a spectacular album. When I heard "Urgent" first played on the radio, I wondered, who is this band I want to hear more. When I realised it was foreigner, I remembered "Feels like the first time" (good, but not a patch on the best of this album). Buying Four felt like a great discovery, it was a treat in itself and ultimately lead me to the classic "cold as ice". 4 is superb, from the haunting "waiting for a girl like you" and the equally beautiful "girl on the moon" (why wasn't it also released as a single?)to the pulsing "urgent" and rocking "juke box hero", this is a well crafted album which appeals to every mood. There's not a dud track present. Buy it and prepare to be surprised...this is how rock albums should be delivered. A strong contender for inclusion in the greatest 100 of the twentieth century...no kiddin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic light tuneful rock., 26 Nov. 2001
This review is from: Foreigner 4 (Audio CD)
Picture the scene. Looking out of your classroom window. A tune filters it's way into your head. Classic rock rythm, melodic tune, fantastic music. O.K. so I may be going back a bit but the chances are the song you are thinking of came not only from this band but from this album. Rarely do rock bands have such a constant stream of songs that could all be hits to remember. Foriegner 4 has got to be one of the most underplayed over loved albums written. If your not as old as me go on, try it. You will be impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As great as I remember from my childhood, 23 Mar. 2011
By 
virgo47 (Bratislava, Slovakia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4 (Expanded & Remastered) (Audio CD)
My dad had this album on a cassette and I loved to listen to it. Foreigners always had a lot of drive in their music and I can't compare 4 to their other works (except for some Best Of) but as we know - this was very important album for them. And they made it very well. Tension on Juke Box Hero, slow Waiting for a Girl... or Urgent with that sax, you can hardly add anything to it. Actually you can, Break It Up, Woman In Black, I'm Gonna Win... those are hardly just some throw-ins. Of course there is something lighter too (Luanne), but then - why should the album be all that serious, right? And talking about adding - on this CD you can find two songs in their "nearly unplugged" versions - nice bonus, I like both of them.

These are Foreingers in their best - singing is freaking crazy high, music is as hard as needed, but also popy, rocky and everything in nice balance. And for the price, it's no brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4king Brilliant, 3 Aug. 2011
By 
Jamie Donnelly (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 4 (Expanded & Remastered) (Audio CD)
I absolutely adore this album. All you need to do is flip it over and see that it was produced by no other than Robert John "Mutt" Lange, the legendary producer responsible for the tastiest sounding AOR ever heard.

In typical Mutt Lange fashion, every single song is a hit, and I would recommend this record to any AOR fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic album!, 18 Sept. 2007
By 
This review is from: 4 (Expanded & Remastered) (Audio CD)
This is one of the best Foreigner made, and certainly a classic. The songs are very listenable, and Lou Gramm's distinctive vocals shine on all of the songs. All the songs are consistently good. It is a product of it's time, the early 80s, but the combination of Lou Gramm's amazing vocals, and the excellent songwriting has made what I believe to be a timeless album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic rock n roll release well worth your coin., 3 July 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 4 (Expanded & Remastered) (Audio CD)
This was the band at their peak both musically and professionally. They would still have several big sellers to come but they would never get to this height again. Everything just clicked here. The songs here are really cool; with great ballads 'waiting on a girl like you' to great rockers like 'urgent' ( a club favorite that year with dance crowds having a blast dancing to that song) and of course 'juke box hero' which is a song of it's time as today it would be internet hero. The remaster is a good deal with several extra songs to enjoy as well. This was their fourth great release in a row. Each of this bands first four are just great rockers and that's a fact. After that they are good enough but not up to the level of this solid release probably. This had three big hit singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for a girl like you, 2 Oct. 2007
By 
for whom the bell tolls "a.ka. enter sandman" (seattle, san francisco, san diego usa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 4 (Expanded & Remastered) (Audio CD)
wow what a lovely song this song is Waiting for a Girl Like You. it is so lovely and beautiful and pretty and sweet and every time i hear it i feel like loveing it because it makes me think of a girl whom i love so much. and it remains one of my favorite songs of all time besides the metallica and satriani songs. i love the lovely lyrics as well as the beautiful music, in fact, Gramm did a nice job singing it, this is my favorite foreigner release due to that lovely romantic song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4 (Expanded & Remastered) (Audio CD)
Not one duff track on this remastered classic. More hit tunes than you can shake a stick at (whatever that means.) Simple, excellent, no frills rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real bonus, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4 [Expanded] (MP3 Download)
Only had this on cassette before. The digital version is tremendous. Some tracks (Girl On The Moon and Woman in Black) sound so much sharper, and the bass is tremendous.
The inclusion of 2 extra tracks, previously unissued, were a real bonus.
Sounds great in the car too.
Like this album a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Foreigner 4 5 Stars, 13 Mar. 2013
By 
V. P. Mulvey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4 (Expanded & Remastered) (Audio CD)
Excellent remastered enhanced version of a classic AOR album at a great price
The bonus tracks make the purchase a must for any Foreigner aficionados
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

4 (Expanded & Remastered)
4 (Expanded & Remastered) by Foreigner (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews