Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars34
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
31
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2001
I've bought all Nik CD's in the past and I was very anxious to here the new one "to be Frank". The last album "15 minutes" was really great and it's hard to top it. But this album really does it! All 11 songs are terrific in it's own way. After the carribean "Wounded" I find highlights in "Die Laughing" (what a melody!!!), "hello world" (you get in a huge temper when you here it!) and "Already". Everyone outthere should take al look on that stuff! If they do, they will love it! I think Nik Kershaw is the most underestimated songwriter and singer in the UK!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2001
This CD is absolutely magnificent. I thought that nothing could ever match the brilliance of 15 Minutes but To Be Frank is a true masterpiece. From the Latin beat of Wounded to the tugging at the heart strings of Show Them What You're Made Of, every second of this CD is Excellent with a capital E. There are songs that will make you laugh, others that will make you cry, but most will make that urge to sing along at the top of your voice prove to be irresistable. Nik has proved, once again, that he is a lyrical and musical genius and long may he continue to provide his fans with such greatness.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2008
Hmmmm...i took ownership of my copy at the weekend & to be...totally honest, this is a gem! Clever, intelligent & deep lyrics as per usual from Mr Kershaw with some fine musicianship. The fact that this was released in 2001 & still sounds much superior to any of 2008's contemporaries is testament to a gifted singer/songwriter!! It kills me to have to say that as im a big HOWARD JONES fan lol. [ Lets rake up all that 80's rivalry again ]
I believe as recent as 2007 Mr Kershaw had a new studio album out & on the strength of TO BE FRANK i'll be making enquiries into this.....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2002
This is a truly excellent album, filled with bitter/sweet, heart-felt and world-wise offerings. The perfect opener, "Wounded", gets you off to a great start, and the quality of the melodies is constant throughout a musical journey to the final destination, the beautiful "Show them what you're made of". If you're turned on by songwriting of the highest calibre, buy this immediately and forget the 80s-mullet preconceptions. Only vague comparison possible is the excellent "Together Alone" by Crowded House/Neil Finn. Thanks Nik. Thanks Amazon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2001
TBF is a creative and musical masterpiece. I just read in Nik's website that he has decided to stop promoting this album due to the ongoing frustration of fighting against record labels only interested in passing fads instead of music. Anyone who appreciates music and believes that this world needs true artists should buy this album. It's a wonderful listening experience and it will help company executives realize that good music still matters. Thank you Nik for your beautiful music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2003
Well you are really only going to think of buying this album if you liked Nik in the first place but think again. He is one of the artists from the eighties who could actually write intelligent lyrics with some talent. A fantastic album showing a maturity not found in most of todays plastic pop bands. Listening to the lyrics on 'Wounded' and 'Die Laughing' shows you this. If you get it make someone else listen to it, I bet you it suprises them!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2001
Wow, this album really blows my mind! :) I never thought Nik would make a "come back" after The Works, but then he showed us that he's a genius with 15 minutes. And now this!! This shows even more of his fantastic lyrics and catching tunes. Perhaps not the sound he had in the 80's but we all have to develop right? :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2012
Another simply wonderful collection of songs from possibly the most under-rated artist in the history of popular music.

Not a single weak track on the whole album.

Brilliant, just brilliant...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2002
This is a truly excellent album, populated not only with some wonderfully catchy music but also some brilliant lyrics, instrumentals, singing ..... etc.
Wonderful. Buy it or miss a true gem.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2010
thought i would catch up on niks collection prior to seeing him on live tour.wished i had bought it earlier,great tracks think its stuck in car cd player!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.66
£14.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.