Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A re-watched classic!!!
My brother, and I, first saw Big trouble..., when we were about 8 years old. We were just about to go on holiday and my father rented this video, immediate addoration!!! I mean it sounds silly now that I'm older, but my brother and I still have a copy each, it's true! Of course the subject matter is a must for all John Carpenter fans, (i.e. horror, sorcery, Kurt...
Published on 7 May 2002 by T Waits

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a UK version! German packaging beware!
Be aware that despite the front cover this is actually a German import with a German sleeve. The back of the cover which isn't shown on the product page is fully German!! The disc does default to UK English but there was no clear mention this was not a UK version. Misleading to say the least. The product description at the top should clearly state it's a German import...
Published 8 months ago by James


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A re-watched classic!!!, 7 May 2002
This review is from: Big Trouble in Little China -- two-disc Special Edition [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
My brother, and I, first saw Big trouble..., when we were about 8 years old. We were just about to go on holiday and my father rented this video, immediate addoration!!! I mean it sounds silly now that I'm older, but my brother and I still have a copy each, it's true! Of course the subject matter is a must for all John Carpenter fans, (i.e. horror, sorcery, Kurt russell).Whilst admitting it never reaches the genre-defying heights of The Thing, or Halloween, the film never tries to be anything other than pure theatrical madness, check out Russell's performance for instance, never will you see a bigger all-american hero wannabe than Jack Burton. The special effects are great, the fight scenes are amazing, (the street fight in the alley especially between the 'wing-kong' and the chang-sings') and the script is, admirably, taking the mickey out-of-itself. All these elements make for a real good film, and with this DVD you get the extra bonus of deleted scenes, commentary, alternate endings and a much looked forward to music video starring, yes its true, John Carpenter himself...MAGIC!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy Comedy at its best!, 26 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Big Trouble in Little China -- two-disc Special Edition [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
A tale of sorcery, romance and bravery in the tongue-in-cheek movie! After visiting his friend Wang, Jack Burton is thrust into a world which he cannot believe. Trying to save Wang's Fiancee, Jack finds himself fighting the evil sorcerer Lopan, in a quest to save the world (and his beloved truck). With action, comedy, magic and superb characters (including
Kim cattral as reporter Gracie), this is a worthy addition to anyones dvd collection! Who cares about extras when you have such an enjoyable, fantastic movie! A must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gimme your best shot... I can take it., 14 May 2008
This review is from: Big Trouble in Little China -- two-disc Special Edition [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
They don't make 'em like this any more. Big Trouble is a self-assured and knowingly absurd action/fantasy/adventure, and was not only one of John Carpenter's last great films, but perhaps the best work of both the cult director and his favourite leading man, Kurt Russell.

The plot is Chinese mythological hokum with an edge of comedy and modern-day Americana. Trucker Jack Burton, whose confidence and assuredness in his own capabilities seems unshakeable, gets embroiled in a street war between sorcerer Lo Pan, his henchmen the Three Storms and their gang Wing Kong, and the good guys, the Chang Sing. But before we know it his best friend's fiancée has been kidnapped, his prize truck (The Pork Chop Express) is stolen and we learn Lo Pan is trying to recoup his diminished power.

Teaming up with tour bus driver Egg Shen and the few remaining Chang Sing warriors, as well as intrusive reporter Gracie Law, Jack and his friend Wang descend into the literal underworld of San Francisco to stop Lo Pan and rescue Wang's fiancée Miao Yin.

What follows is one of the most colourful, elaborate and fantastic adventure movies of the '80s. Russell is perfect as cult hero Jack Burton, and his overriding uselessness is almost the comical antithesis of the other Carpenter/Russell favourite, Snake Plissken - in the final battle here Jack manages to knock himself out and spends most of the fight incapacitated. The special effects are still surprisingly good, the soundtrack is excellent and the cast brilliant all around, including great support from Victor Wong, Kim Cattrall and James Hong. This is backed up by some great fight scenes, an assortment of likeable characters and some perfectly pitched humour.

If you haven't seen this quiet classic yet then do yourself a favour and check it out. One of the most fantastically enjoyable and quotable films ever, and truly a perfect example of one of the best cult directors ever at the peak of his Golden Era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chang-sings, Wing King, Egg Shen............ confused?, 14 Sep 2005
By 
M. JONES "mj1001" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Trouble in Little China -- two-disc Special Edition [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
It's a hard task trying to rate this film. On one hand I'm looking at the whole film and on the other I'm just thinknin of Kurt Russell's terrific Jack Burton. This film and Prince of Darkness mark the dying days of John Carpenter's golden era.
The plot follows trucker Burton who, with his best mate, become inadvertantly involved in a supernatural gang war in Chinatown, San Francisco. On their journey deeper and deeper into the underworld they encounter street punks, demons, and a 2000 year-old sorceror who wants a green-eyed girl to make him mortal again.
Though utterly ridiclous in every way, the set-pieces are always entertaining, particuraly the first scrum-down between the two rival gangs in an alleyway and the encounters with the 'three storms'. There are lots memorable sequences and dialogue, most involve Burton's mis-guided, all american hero making an idiot of himself.
It's easy to see why this panned by critics, but at the same time, its great fun and pure escapism. I'd recommend this to people looking for a good laugh. The commentary between Carpenter and Russell isnt as sharp as The Thing's and meanders a bit but is still good to listen to unliken some commentaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Carpenter classic, 4 July 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Fortunately I have managed to miss this film over the last 22 years. I'm saying that because I suspect if I had seen it when it first came out I wouldn't have appreciated it. Now though, following Kill Bill and many other martial arts epics this is a refreshing change from the usual Hollywood stodge.

Kurt Russell is superb as Jack, a wise-cracking truck driver who accidently stumbles upon an extremly unlikely plot revolving around two girls with green eyes and an ancient magician who is seeking to gain ultimate power by marrying one or both of the girls. As intimated above the magician, who is called Lo Pan, has a vague similarity to Mei Pei in Kill Bill. Kim Cattrall is one of the two leading actresses, who is now of course much more famous for 'Sex and the City'.

This is all done with tongue firmly in cheek. Most of the time Kurt Russell uses a John Wayne voice which is completely inappropriate, but somehow its perfect for this film. Frequently the film is very funny and Russell's character is in general the butt of most of the jokes. The special effects are beginning to look dated now, but given that this film was probably made on a relatively low budget they actually stand up remarkably well.

This is a throughly entertaining film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars welcome to the Hell of Upside-Down Sinners!, 24 Dec 2003
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Critics shredded and diced this movie so I really went to the theatre expecting to see one sick puppy. Instead, I was delighted and I continue to be delighted every time I watch this marvelous movies. John Carpenter created an original howl of a time, with tongue firm planted through the cheek and simply went wild with fun and throw away lines, that will keep you coming back again and again. The Critics just did not get the JOKE!! Sigh...fortunately, the public did not agree.
A great cast Kurt Russell, Kim Cattrall, Dennis Dun, Kate Burton (Richard's Daughter), Victor Wong and James Hong take several wrong turns and end up in a war - kung fu style - kidnappings and all sorts "some very unreasonable things". Originally the manuscript for the second Buckaroo Banzai movie, Big Trouble hits bulls eye where BB just missed. It's over kill to the max, but such a great way to go as Jack Burton - Russell doing a BAD John Wayne Imitation - runs headlong into the magick underbelly of Chinatown. One critic put down Russell's performance as "was so poor, it was like he was doing a poor John Wayne imitation" WELL, DUH???? Earth to LM!!
Russell is taking Dennis Dun to pick up his bride to be, but she is mistakenly snatched. It's up to Russell, Dun, Wong and crew to try and get her back. Instead, they lose Kim Cattral to Hong as well as Burton's Peterbuilt "the Porkchop Express", so old Jack has to get mean.
If you don't want to laugh so hard your ribs hurt, you don't enjoy parodies, you don't enjoy bad John Wayne imitations...fine give it a pass. But everyone else wanting a great time, this is one you should not miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you really believe in magic?, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been after this classic for ages on blu-ray. There's something timeless about it. I'm not going to review the film itself but can say that the transfer will not disappoint. Most importantly, I can also confirm that although the disc is coded as Region A it plays fine on my LG BP125 which isn't even a multi region player of standard DVDs. I was wary of buying and very anxious when I put the disc in as thought it might spit it out. However it worked! If you truly love this movie like I do then go for it! I hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "China is here? I don't even know what the Hell that means!"., 11 Mar 2008
Everything about this movie is absurd..and purposefully so. Try to read the plot aloud without laughing: A mullet-wearing truck driver, Jack Burton, teams up with his Chinese-American buddy to battle ancient Chinatown demons commanded by the ethereal 2000 year old Lo Pan and rescue their respective green-eyed (would-be) girlfriends, all with the aid of local magician/tour bus driver Egg Sheng and his lazy-eyed sorcery.

Yet, somehow, it all works perfectly. Kurt Russell is a riot as the hero, Jack Burton, a bumbling and inept, yet surprisingly hardy, truck driver with a lot of buddies in Chinatown who has to take on a world of Chinese legends. His loud-mouthed bravado at all times (presumably he's intended to be a classic jerk American foreign devil) forms the basis for his irrepressible camaraderie with the other heroes in the movie. He may have no idea what he's doing..... but he's gonna do it anyway. Some viewers may be misled (as I was) into thinking this was some sort of cheesy martial arts film. It isn't. This is a flat-out comedy that just happens to involve a lot of swordfights, demons, and electrical discharges. Some classic examples of the typical humor drenching the film include 1) several Chinese elders and mystics sitting around a table discussing ancient curses while Jack Burton shouts at his insurance carrier about the loss of his big rig truck in the background, 2) At the start of the climactic pitched battle, Jack Burton, in a fit of adrenaline-stoked fury, fires wildly into the air with his gun and dislodges a rock from the ceiling that knocks him unconscious, 3) Jack Burton facing off against evil demonlord Lo Pan while wearing lipstick from his smooching of one of the female love interests.

And I haven't seen a film this packed with quotable comments since Predator: "Great, a six-demon bag! What's it do, Egg?" "Are you crazy? Is that what your problem is?" "... and let me drive right over him? With light coming out of his mouth?!" "Whaddya mean there's no listing? There better be, honey, 'cause I pay 'em 6 grand a year in premiums."
"China is here? I don't even know what the Hell that means!".
"Its all in the reflexes."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, 18 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Big Trouble in Little China -- two-disc Special Edition [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
This film had a big impact on me when I first saw it when I was 12. The feeling of being pulled down into a magical underworld was very compelling. Nowadays many films have a lot more magic in them, but they don't produce the same feeling of being in a place of magic. It's a similar sensation to the best sequences of Indiana Jones movies, but extended over a longer period.
There's a lot of extras in this two-DVD set, but the standout for me is the commentary track with John Carpenter and Kurt Russell. They have a great time talking about the film, filmmaking in general and range of other topics. Very good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Film I've Ever Seen, 20 Aug 2000
By A Customer
One of John Carpenter's masterpieces, Big trouble in little China has it all; Action, Adventure, Sorcery and of course, Kurt Russel playing Jack Buton, a fast-lovin', smooth talkin' trucker. The supporting characters (Uncle Egg in Particular) and wonderful dialogue (e.g. Jack: 'Ready? I was born ready') all tie together creating a grand work of cinema. To anyone who hasn't seen this film, you won't be disappointed. From the opening theme and titles to the climactic ending, Big trouble in little China is a rollercoaster of thrills and excitement which cannot fail to amuse with its timeless humour and superb special effects. Two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Trouble in Little China -- two-disc Special Edition [DVD] [1986]
7.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews