Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars more complete than the 2002 BBC version
A reminder of a great day for English football. This DVD has a running time of 114 minutes whereas the match lasted for 120 minutes. It states that it is 'dead ball edited for the first 90 minutes'. It is certainly more complete than the BBC DVD which I had previously bought from Amazon. (But bearing in mind that the BBC produced a 1991 VHS with a running time of 130...
Published 24 months ago by Alan D

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars edited highlights - not the complete match
A great match but I was disappointed that this DVD does not contain the full match (about 35-40 minutes is missing). The whole match is/was available on VHS and a version with only about six minutes missing is available on DVD. Personally I would not recommend this version: I would recommend buying one of the more complete versions.
Published on 6 July 2010 by Alan D


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars more complete than the 2002 BBC version, 2 Nov 2012
By 
A reminder of a great day for English football. This DVD has a running time of 114 minutes whereas the match lasted for 120 minutes. It states that it is 'dead ball edited for the first 90 minutes'. It is certainly more complete than the BBC DVD which I had previously bought from Amazon. (But bearing in mind that the BBC produced a 1991 VHS with a running time of 130 minutes, containing the complete match, I am surprised that nobody has simply converted that version onto DVD.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great DVD of the Greatest Match, 1 July 2002
This review is from: 1966 World Cup Final [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not old enough to remember the 1966 World Cup Final but sure I've heard about it but I never saw the match full. So I got this DVD and, although it doesn't have the entire match (40 minutes or so is missing), it does show you what a great day that day was.
The entire programme is digitally remastered and it looks as if it could have been watching the programmes first ever airing, it is so clear, the picture.
The extra are good though not always the best. The audio commentary is amazing as Jack Charlton amongst others explain what was happening during the match and their experiences of it. The documentary gives some good insight in the 1966 World Cup and the interviews, with the late Kenneth Wolstenholme and Bobby Moore's wife, are interesting. Maybe a list of all the scores from the tournament would have been nice or maybe some more photos for the gallery.
But this DVD is a very special DVD, it recollects back the memories of that afternoon and is a special DVD to have in your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Football "came home" for the first and last time., 8 July 2000
By A Customer
Due to the consistent failure of England teams to recapture that glory, the World Cup Final of 1966 remains the only day on which England regained the game it had given to the rest of the world. Let us not forget, though, that it was a great game of football. Geoff Hurst became the first and only player to date to score a hat-trick in a World Cup Final ( remarkable, really, from a player who many believed should have been dropped in favour of Jimmy Greaves ). Hurst's second goal may not have clearly crossed the line ( the Germans certainly didn't think it should have counted ) but that could take nothing away from an England team that kept battling and, overall, were the better team on the day. Sadly, the late Bobby Moore remains the only England captain in history to hold the premier trophy of the game his country gave to the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars edited highlights - not the complete match, 6 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1966 World Cup Final [DVD] (DVD)
A great match but I was disappointed that this DVD does not contain the full match (about 35-40 minutes is missing). The whole match is/was available on VHS and a version with only about six minutes missing is available on DVD. Personally I would not recommend this version: I would recommend buying one of the more complete versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 1066 World Cup DVD, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1966 World Cup Final [DVD] (DVD)
This was bought as a stocking filler for my grandson for Christmas. He said the DVD was a bit short but he was
able to get the gist of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1966 World Cup Final (DVD), 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1966 World Cup Final [DVD] (DVD)
Have not watched this DVD yet as it is a Christmas present, but as its football i guess it will be ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1966, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1966 World Cup Final [DVD] (DVD)
Every home in the country should have this film. A classic showing REAL footballers producing the goods when they had to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When England where top of the world, 14 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1966 World Cup Final [DVD] (DVD)
Its just great to watch this as it would have been watched that fateful day back in 1966, when people crowded around the nearest television to see all that wonderful drama unfold in glorious black & white. Imagine not knowing what the result would be. By the end of that day England were crowned champions of the world, and who was to know that we would all still be waiting for another glorious day like this. A wonderful piece of history and at least you can relive England winning the World Cup once upon a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1966 WORLD CUP FINAL DVD, 3 Jun 2011
By 
Norman Ferguson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1966 World Cup Final [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic value for money and received within 3 days , post-free.
Extra interviews etc. compared to original video tape .
A must for football supporters to suit modern equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars England at its best, 22 Dec 2009
By 
Robert Hill (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1966 World Cup Final [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant. England at its World conquering best. One of the best matches I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1966 World Cup Final [DVD]
1966 World Cup Final [DVD] by 1966 World Cup Final (DVD - 2002)
£4.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews