Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Improvement!
Fifa World Cup is a great cover up to Fifa 2002(Which wasn't great)The graphics are great, The camera angles are pretty good BUT There has to be a down side,Some personal graphics are RUBBISH!! Example,Ronaldo,Scholes and others, Also, Everything is limited I.E. You can only do the World cup and freindlies. But overall aVERY good game.
Published on 23 Aug 2002 by davidorient

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EA Sports Such a captive audience they dont need to try ?
I have bought every EA sports FIFA football game since 1997 and i have always considered them to be the best. That is until i bought FIFA world cup 2002. It is by far the worst game i have ever played on the playstation.It is very difficult to find words to explain how bland the game play is and after the picture shakes,freezes and judders as you kick the ball from one...
Published on 1 May 2002 by M. R. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EA Sports Such a captive audience they dont need to try ?, 1 May 2002
By 
M. R. Evans (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2002 FIFA World Cup (PS2) (Video Game)
I have bought every EA sports FIFA football game since 1997 and i have always considered them to be the best. That is until i bought FIFA world cup 2002. It is by far the worst game i have ever played on the playstation.It is very difficult to find words to explain how bland the game play is and after the picture shakes,freezes and judders as you kick the ball from one end of the pitch to the other it is also difficult not to lose your temper with the game.It seems to me that EA Sports have turned this game out as an after thought just to satisfy what it must think is a captive audience waiting for the world cup.I strongly recommend you not to buy this game and i have sent my copy back as it is so poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Improvement!, 23 Aug 2002
This review is from: 2002 FIFA World Cup (PS2) (Video Game)
Fifa World Cup is a great cover up to Fifa 2002(Which wasn't great)The graphics are great, The camera angles are pretty good BUT There has to be a down side,Some personal graphics are RUBBISH!! Example,Ronaldo,Scholes and others, Also, Everything is limited I.E. You can only do the World cup and freindlies. But overall aVERY good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why did I buy it, 15 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 2002 FIFA World Cup (PS2) (Video Game)
When you buy a game that has FIFA on the top, you would assume this would be the best, but this one fell.
The grafics are above average, but the player details are nothing to nock.
When it comes to playing the game the set up is fine, but doing the actions is way off line. This cannonball shot comes out of no where and on the replay shows a Beckham curl. Moves are minimun and it sure isnt the hardest game to play, thats including the hardest level!
I would rent it for a night it with some mates, but would NOT buy this game...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An alright attempt, but could be better, 4 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 2002 FIFA World Cup (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is definately a lot more skillfull and more realistic than other Fifa titles, but in my oppinion what it offers in its more skillful game play, is at the expense of enjoyable gameplay. One of the major factors that have appealed to me in the past about the EA sports Fifa series was that they were very fun to play, even if they werent the most skillful. On the positive side the Intro's to matches and player likenesses are amazing, even though this is not the best game graphically.
It depends what you look for in a football game, the detail used to capture the atmosphere of the world cup is verry succesful, and there is a wow factor, when you first play this game. In all i think 3 stars is a fair reflection of the game, this will probably appeal more to the critics of the Fifa titles, as the gameplay is very different to previous titles, but Fifa fans may be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Respect, 8 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 2002 FIFA World Cup (PS2) (Video Game)
Finally fifa have tired something new... The game feels and plays supurbly. There is a new system so that if you barge a player and they are very strong they will probably retain the ball and on the other side will fall over if they are weak. They have made the game more enjoyable by trying to return it to it's roots with more special skills while keeping it challenging and doing away with one button passes. Everything needs to be powered up and timed correctly and this makes it a much more enjoyable experience. The look of the game is fantastic too... never has a football game had such realistic players and the motion capture of how they fall down etc is supurb. Even my friends who are Pro Evolution addicts have concieded to the fact that the new fifa is the best football game available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good game play, but so much lacking..., 28 April 2002
This review is from: 2002 FIFA World Cup (PS2) (Video Game)
The gameplay of World Cup 2002 is indeed very good. Visually also, the game is splendid; the "Blade Runner" announcer at the start of each match along with the light show is a nice touch. This could have been a great game - possibly as great as World Cup 98. But it isn't.
And here's why. There is so much lacking. The extra video clips are awful, and will get looked at about once, for curiousity value. What is missing are all the features that made FIFA games such fun... the bits that alowed you to tweak the game... and even Euro 2000 had those!
You cannot randomise the World Cup groups, and are stuck with the official roster. Teams like Holland have been left out. Yes, I know they didn't qualify, but neither did the Czech Republic or Israel and they are there! For those of us who are Welsh or Northern Irish, our teams are not there (and no! Playing as the Irish Republic is NOT an adequate substitute!!). There is no training mode in the game, which would have been nice for getting used to the controls. There are no penalty shoot out and classic modes two of the features that made World cup 98 fun (I was able to rewrite the injustice of 1974, and have Cruyff's Holland beat West Germany!!). Frankly, playing as the Euro All stars just does not have the same appeal.
The list goes on. You cannot edit players. There are no hotkeys assigned for free kicks, goal kicks, corners and throw ins. There are no players stats, where you can check goals scored, and cards accumulated, there is no schedule of all the scores from each match to give yu an idea of how strong opponents are. You cannot select more than two teams at anyone time unless you have a multi tap (though the PC version may differ in that respect).
Given what a Playstation DVD can hold, I feel somewhat short changed. The game is fun to play, and does look marvellous, but given what EA Sports came up with 4 years ago, this is a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the FIFA World Cup in all its glory., 6 May 2002
By 
This review is from: 2002 FIFA World Cup (PS2) (Video Game)
Before this the last football game I bought was FIFA 2001 on the Playstation. When I played FIFA World Cup 2002 (for the PS2), most of the problems with 2001 had been sorted. The gameplay has been changed significantly. The power bar and the airplay system makes the game more of a simulation, the through runs feature works very well and the effectiveness of special moves has been brought down. You now need to think about your attacks, timing runs and weighting passes. The power bar allows you to score a diverse range of goals from outside the area and crossing has to be a lot more accurate.
So the gameplay has been changed for the better, but what always attracts me to FIFA games is the presentation, graphics, commentary, music, sound effects and FMV sequences. None of these dissapoint. The atmosphere is the best yet, with crowd specific chants and you really feel like it is the world cup. I was amazed by the graphics, I was actually recognising players. The commentary is from Motson and Gray. Andy Gray provides a lot of statistics and history on teams but repeats himself too often. The official World Cup anthem is used on the menus, intros and even goal celebrations which dramatises the whole game. Even a consolation goal is celebrated like a last minute winner.
What lets the game down is the lack of options. Only Friendly and World Cup modes are offered. There are bonus features like an interview with Motty but with the change in gameplay, a training mode would have been greatly appreciated. Winning the world cup unlocks hidden teams but you can still only use them in friendlies. I am a huge fan of the world cup and this game is hugely enjoyable for that aspect. But if you want more than the World Cup, buy FIFA 2002.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far and away the best game I've played on the Playstation 2, 9 May 2002
This review is from: 2002 FIFA World Cup (PS2) (Video Game)
When I saw that there was to be a new game in the FIFA Series, I knew I'd buy it. I downloaded the PC demo and didn't really think it was anything special. It was a bit late to change my mind about the Playstation version. When it came though, I certainly wasn't unhappy. Actually, quite the opposite. The game play is great, and the detail to character is inch perfect. It almost looks like David Beckham is taking the free kick, not some cheap computerised version. If I had to find a feature about this game that makes it better than the other FIFA games, its the fact you can convincingly score from free kicks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST FOOTIE GAME AROUND (PS2 VERSION), 25 Jun 2002
This review is from: 2002 FIFA World Cup (PS2) (Video Game)
All that can be said about this game is that for one, the graphics are superb, the crowd and atmosphere is electric, the stadiums are brilliantly re-created, all the players are there, all FIFA FANS out there who are still pondering on whether to buy this game or not - STOP PONDERING AND BUY IT... NOW!!!
All the players are recognisable, the star players have better attributes and can do more spectacular things than just your average players, a truly fantastic edition to the FIFA SERIES and my most favourite FIFA game so far.
BUY IT NOW, OR YOU'LL REGRET IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok... ish, 10 July 2004
This review is from: 2002 FIFA World Cup (PS2) (Video Game)
Amazing or disappointing?
This game has some good points yet some minor bad points.
Good: It has a really easy start up menu and you can get into the game immediately. When you go to world cup mode, everything is sorted and you can start playing straight away. When you come onto the pitch, the commentry is there, and it shows great stadium graphics. The commentry is really annoying but that is not bad, every football game is like it! When you play, you can dribble, run, and sprint, which is brilliant for those who want absolute accurate shooting.
Bad: The graphics are crap! sorry, they are not that bad bad but they need a lot of improvment. The players don't really look like their actual 'character'. And - too bright, its like a Dysney! not good! But apart from that, the graphics are fine, just me being picky. The controls are ok if you get used to them. To sprint you constantly have to press triangle, over and over and over. If you want you could sue the game makers for giving you repetative strain injuries. Yeh you can change the controls but you still have to keep pressing a certain button again and again. And if you want to tackle a guy who has the ball, you got to do all of the finger exercises just to catch up, then who have to tackle! All I can say right now is "grrr" but hey!
It is still a really good game and would recomend it if you want a game with an international cup!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

2002 FIFA World Cup (PS2)
2002 FIFA World Cup (PS2) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews