Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars19
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2002
Photoshop has long been the software package of choice for those who are serious about their digital images.V6 was a significant improvement over previous versions particularly in the creation of images for the web. Version 7 builds on that by providing a number of new features (the 'instant website' feature, aimed at novices, is especially useful) and a tweaked, more user-friendly interface.
As always with Photoshop the real power is under the hood. Professionals will be pleased with the new file browser and the 'metadata pane' which displays hidden information stored in digital images. The clone tool has been updated and is now called the 'Healing Brush' enabling a retouched area to more closely match the image around it (ideal for removing spots and wrinkles).
Die-hard Photoshop users will be pleased with the new additions and those just coming to the package will not find it as daunting as previous releases. They may find the price a little off-putting and I can't help thinking that Adobe price the full version a little high. However, given that there is nothing else on the market to touch it in terms of power and usability, I believe the upgrade option is well worth the money. My verdict? If you have a qualifying version the upgrade is a no-brainer. Newcomers may want to gird their loins and wait for the trial version before stumping out. But be warned, once you try it you won't want to live without it.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2003
I'm a long time photoshop user. Version 6 was a pretty exciting
upgrade but I couldn't really get excited about 7.
If you have PS6 stick with it 7 isn't worth the price of the upgrade. If you've never owned Photoshop before then 7 is of course the one to go for. If I'd never used photoshop before I'd have given it 4 maybe even five stars.
If your not earning 100% of your income from digital imagery then Photoshop 7 is way too expensive. Buy Photoshop Elements and save yourself bundles of money.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 2 July 2002
Photoshop 7 ranks as the best version upgrade for a long time. having been using for a couple of weeks, on occasions where i have had to go back to 6 ive missed the features ive already come to depend on in 7, which speaks volumes in itself.
Firstly the interface has been improved and streamlined, the context sensitive options bar speeds up workflow enormously, and finally after all these versions the ability to save custome tool settings, if you constantly find yourself retyping cropping tool settings et all, then youll appreciate what an advancement this is.
More layer blending modes to play with, improvements to most of the workhorse image adjustment areas, curves has had a major overhaul, and has become much more user friendly, not least with the ability to expand the size of the dialogue box.
The new tools are in fact great, the healing brush has that real wow factor, and is a great accomplice to the rubber stamp.
Even the texture generator seems to have some applications for creating original artwork.
The file browser is welcome, although for anyone who used to use Corel Photopaint, its merely something which has been missing from Photoshop for a long time.
Despite intitial scepticism, i think this is the best upgrade to Photoshop in a long time, although most of the enhancements should have materialised a couple of years ago, at least they have finally been incorporated.
0Comment|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 14 June 2002
This latest version turns out to be a very pleasant suprise, and i would already find it difficult bto return to vers 6.
The new interface is lovely, unlike some new software which looks like the interface was designed with three crayons.
The tweaks such as too the dialogue boxes was an unexpected bonus, as now much finer adjustments can be made, also new and more powerful curves features. dint personally see too much benefit from auto colours but i guess itll prove occasionally handy.
The file browser is long overdue, this was one major feature i always preferred from Corel Photopaint, and finally we have it in Photoshop, maybe four years too late but nonetheless usefull.
The major enhance ment for me is the ability to save tool settings, not least the Crop tool, each tool can be configured with customised settings, which means no more painful typing in the same settings 50 times a day. Again its a case of why didnt we have this in version 5, but better late than never.
The new tools are pretty cool, i love the patch tool, it literally has taken my breath away, magic is not the word. the healing brush isnt quite as user friendly and as obviously useful to me , but this will no doubt make a bit more sense after further use.
The pattern maker has proved to be quite interesting and can actually be used to create some new twists when tinkered with enough.
I find this version (running on XP) runs a little faster.
all in all worth the upgrade.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2002
Photoshop has long been the software package of choice for those who are serious about their digital images.V6 was a significant improvement over previous versions particularly in the creation of images for the web. Version 7 builds on that by providing a number of new features (the 'instant website' feature, aimed at novices, is especially useful) and a tweaked, more user-friendly interface.
As always with Photoshop the real power is under the hood. Professionals will be pleased with the new file browser and the 'metadata pane' which displays hidden information stored in digital images. The clone tool has been updated and is now called the 'Healing Brush' enabling a retouched area to more closely match the image around it (ideal for removing spots and wrinkles).
Die-hard Photoshop users will be pleased with the new additions and those just coming to the package will not find it as daunting as previous releases. They may find the price a little off-putting and I can't help thinking that Adobe price the full version a little high. However, given that there is nothing else on the market to touch it in terms of power and usability, I believe the upgrade option is well worth the money. My verdict? If you have a qualifying version the upgrade is a no-brainer. Newcomers may want to gird their loins and wait for the trial version before stumping out. But be warned, once you try it you won't want to live without it.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2002
How I disagree with the comments made by the software user in the UK. At first glance this upgrade may look like it offers little new other than the healing brush, but a little closer inspection shows that there are a multitude of new tools including the Healing Brush, the Patch tool, the new brush options, the ability to create your own new tool presets and workspaces, enhancements to the liquify tools, the introduction of the pattern maker, the new auto-colour command, support for JavaScript, AppleScript and Visual Basic scripting, and numerous other introductions and enhancements. Granted not every enhancement or new feature is relevant to everyone's workflow especially because both print and web designers use the application - but to dismiss it out of hand as a meagre upgrade is shortsighted. Maybe it just takes a little time and patience to find all of those new features.
Just by having a look at the table of contents for the Photoshop 7 Upgrade Essentials book - the TOC is on the Amazon.com site - you'll get a better idea of all those features. Then you can consider for yoursel whether to invest in the latest release!
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2003
Adobe has excelled again - Photoshop is indeed a great package, giving you so much graphic power in one product.
Special attention seems to have been paid to tools to increase productivity on the web graphics side of things (though I am speaking as a new user of recent versions of Photoshop - my last version was 3.0, I believe).
On the plus side, Photoshop is quick and efficient at handling its pictures. It provides seemingly endless tools and methods to touch-up, produce or even degenerate images.
There are a couple of niggles, however:
1. The price - slightly on the extorsionate side - Corel bundles loads of tools into its equivalent for a lot less.
2. Some odd interface quirks make it a little less intuitive than others - Photoshop seems to hide many of the more exciting features away under context menus in obscure locations (if in doubt, right-click everything!).
Overall, however, I would still recommend Adobe Photoshop over any other raster editor.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2003
firs things first, its difficult to get to grips with the interface but when you do, the improvements it makes over paint shop pro etc are amazing.
Photoshop also comes with imageready, an animated gif making programme for those of you without flash.
Its very expensive and that is the only real letdown considering it cost about 10 times more than a standard game and it costs much less to make.
in all, this is worth it if you can afford it otherwise, dont save up, get something like paint shop pro or the photoshop elements instead
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
I am highly delighted with this Photoshop 7.0. I had this program on one computer, but have bought a new one and could not find the original CD, so am very happy that I can use it again. It arrived safely and speedily and am very pleased to recommend this supplier to everyone. 5*****
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
Can't fault the product, what I do have a problem with is ethics... and I am a fine one to talk as I purchased this CD kind of knowing what I was buying into. Someone is onto a good money spinner (better than lining the fat cat's pockets perhaps). I purchased this because I have recently moved, lost my Photoshop disc in transit and my computer had to be rebooted so lost some packages along the way. Didn't want to pay full price again, bla bla. On the one hand, thanks for making it affordable for me to reboot cheaply, but on the other..... If this is the 2nd disc as purported, there are a lot of 2nd discs if you have 10 reviews already!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)