Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HEAVY METAL AT IT'S BEST!, 26 April 2002
By 
ldoylelynn@aol.com (CHESHIRE, UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wages of Sin (Audio CD)
This is one of my favourite cd's, i've had it about three weeks and i must have lisened to it about eighteen times, and i'm still not sick of hearing it.The guitaring is raw, intricate and heavy, straight from the depths of hell, the FEMALE singer put most men to shame.This is what heavy metal is all about.If you love classic metal(ie. metallica, slayer)with a little more darkness you should love this cd. You won't regret buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU'LD NEVER KNOW IT WAS A WOMAN!, 18 Mar 2002
This review is from: Wages of Sin (Audio CD)
So it's album number 4 and what a killer! Vocalist Johan Liva is gone and in his place is Angela Gossow, the surprise is though that far from cooing softly into the mic, Angela spews forth a stream of vitriolic gurgle previously unheard from a female throat (except maybe from Linda Blair!)...and jolly splendid it is too!
The new album is admittedly a tad more polished than before, but it's still Arch Enemy. It's more down to the production and the slightly less brutal guitar sound I think. The video track 'Ravenous' (which is included as a bonus for those of you with PC's) is a real cracker and even tips a nod to Mike Ammott's former band Carcass just after the solo. Apparently Arch Enemy are absolutely massive in Japan and maybe this is were the influence to become more METAL and less DEATH METAL has come from.
The album also comes with a bonus disc of covers etc, along with some amusing notes in the booklet from Mr Ammott. So if you like Judas Priest, Europe (!) and Iron Maiden then you might like to hear their material brutalized by Arch Enemy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal Heaven, 7 July 2002
This review is from: Wages of Sin (Audio CD)
I love metal. From 'Fear Factory', 'Slayer' and 'Sepultura' to 'System Of A Down', 'American Head Charge', Decapitated' and 'Killswitch Engage'. The only problem I have with the newer bands is the lack of guitar solos. The new 'Killswitch Engage' album is amazing, but it would be even better if it had lead guitar solos. 'Arch Enemy' on the other hand have got solos in spades. Great heavy riffs, amazing drums and really great guitar solos. The vocals are amazing, you would never know it's a woman. Never. Right from the start, with 'Enemy Within', the music is relentless. Fast, crushing riffs, heavy drums and amazing solo's, It does not get much better than this. More melodic sections interlink mega heavy parts, and the end result is something really special. The second disk has older stuff from the digipak versions of earlier albums, and is a good compliment. A couple of videos rounds off one off the best metal albums in years. If you love metal, then I really recommend you get this as soon as possible. You will not regret it. Top class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars oh dear lord,melodic metal masterclass, 2 Mar 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wages of Sin (Audio CD)
i first heard of this band when i heard the heartstopping 'ravenous' which is on this album,oh the melodies were almost too much for me,the guitars were like sounds from heaven,the screaming was so intense and brutal that i would never have guessed they were performed by a woman,which of course they are,there are no clean vocals on here ,but they have more melodies per minute than maybe any band in metal,in flames are melodic metal,this is a different kind of melodic metal,the guitars provide the melody as opposed to clean vocals in a chorus,get the idea?,good!this is startling,seriously it is,if the opening riff to trhe first song 'Enemy Within' doesnt melt you into a puddle then i will be surprised ,its world class,all in all a superb album,there isnt enough superlatives to throw at this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Melodic Metal at its Best, 3 Oct 2005
This review is from: Wages of Sin (Audio CD)
The first things that blows you away about this album the opening track, Enemy Within, which has one of the greatest dual guitar riffs every put to CD.
The rest of the album continues with brutal metal with melodic soloes that complement each other perfectly.
The instrumental work on this album is incredible, with both Mike and Chris sounding incredible.
Drums = brilliant
It takes a little time to get into Angela's vocals, they are not as melodic as Anthems of Rebellion work, but still sound impressive
Overall, an xcellent album with catchy riffs and lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wages of Sin, 5 July 2006
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wages of Sin (Audio CD)
For their 4th album Arch Enemy have a major line-up change with original vocalist Johan Liiva making way for new singer Angela Gossow. Any fears that the addition of a female vocalist would lead to Arch Enemy going soft however prove unfounded, as Angela gives full-on death metal screams throughout of such harshness that the changeover isn't that much apparent. Musically this is the same Arch Enemy of old, with their highly melodic death metal collision of the intensity of Carcass and the hooks of Iron Maiden. Inevitably a couple of tracks smack a little of filler, but for the most part the quality control is very high, with some highly infectious metal riffing (not least the `Hanger 18'-style `Burning Angel') and a stunning production. Great melodic death metal.

NB: The best version of this release is the 2 disc limited edition, which not only contains a bonus track and video on disc 1, but a further 7 audio rarities and 1 video from the bands earlier years on the second disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, 27 Dec 2005
This review is from: Wages of Sin (Audio CD)
Pretty much all that needs saying. An utterly flawless album, great melodic and heavy guitaring, harsh vocals, blistering drumming and perfectly placed fast melodic solos. From the onset its remarkable, the first track very well characterising the rest of the album. Reaching a pinnacle for me right at the end with laments of a mortal soul, super heavy, super quick, awesome solo - wow.
The bonus disk is good if u get it, i particularly like the star breaker cover, gives you an idea of their sound before the new female vocalist.
The pace slows only a few times in this album and the times it does, it is for good reason.
By far my favourite album ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars melodic death metal, 31 Mar 2005
This review is from: Wages of Sin (Audio CD)
I do like this album, however i prefer the guitar sound in the band to the singing, somebody screeming stuff doesn't interest me that much. The guitars are brilliant though, and when i heard that the guitarists (mike amott) have been involved with another band, I looked them up straight away! Please have a look for "spiritual beggars" as it is a really good band. It's a different type of genre, more old school rock really, but very good none the less
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like x-metal? then this is a must...., 30 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Wages of Sin (Audio CD)
WoS is, to put it simply, absorbing.
So much so, that i had to listen to the whole thing twice the first time i got my hands on the cd. The intro is so powerful it'll raise the hairs on the back of your neck, and there is enough material here to satisfy even the most cynical extreme metal fan..
Vox: Excellent, from low pitch growl to outright scream, Angela is one very capable front-woman! (how often would you read this in a metal review??)
Guits: Amott bros... enough said? well yes, if you don't know what this means, just buy the album, play track 1, and get addicted to Chris and Mike in action.
Bass: Sharlee on top form
Battery: Daniel Erlandson's statement of intent here couldnt be clearer... the boy has skills and is taking no prisoners!
In-Flames? what's that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWWWWW!!!!!!!!!! YEHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!, 17 Sep 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wages of Sin (Audio CD)
WOW!!! THIS ALBUM...ARCH ENEMY...SUM OF THE BEST GUITARISTS IN HERE. A SCARY SCREAMING WOMAN AND A HELL OF A DRUMMER, IF YUR FAMILIAR WITH SLIPKNOTS JOEY JORDISON, THEN THIS GUY (CANT REMEMBER HIS NAME) WILL MAKE YOU HAVE NOSEBLEEDS THE DOUBLE BASS IS EXTREMELY QUICK AND BRUTAL. FLOWING BEATS ALL THE WAY. ALL METAL DRUMMERS MUST HAVE THIS ALBUM!!!!!!!!!!! SO BUY IT YOU HEADBANGING BEAST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wages of Sin
Wages of Sin by Arch Enemy (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews