Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Melodic, Assured, Witty
I have been listening to Motorhead since 1977. I still anticipate each release in much the same way as I did waiting for "Overkill", "Bomber", "No Sleep" and "Ace of Spades".
The question that most listeners will ask, is this album up to scratch? The answer, an emphatic yes.
What the trio have delivered is a melodically assured hard rock album. The majority of...
Published on 6 April 2002 by Robert Todd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Motorhead
I am a huge fan of Motorhead, have all their albums. Motorhead is one of the if not 'the' only band that hasn't one bad album (from a long discography band).
I am actually can't find one album that is bad, not all are good and classic, but any album of them i can listen for the whole album.
Even though, this album is a bad example, because is the less good from...
Published 21 months ago by Yaniv Riahi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Melodic, Assured, Witty, 6 April 2002
By 
Robert Todd (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hammered (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
I have been listening to Motorhead since 1977. I still anticipate each release in much the same way as I did waiting for "Overkill", "Bomber", "No Sleep" and "Ace of Spades".
The question that most listeners will ask, is this album up to scratch? The answer, an emphatic yes.
What the trio have delivered is a melodically assured hard rock album. The majority of the numbers clocking in at around 4 and a half minutes. We are presented with mostly mid paced pieces. On first listen what struck me was that no one number stood out. Rather this has the feel of a complete album. On subsequent spins the layers of guitars, bass, drums and keyboards become more apparent. Vocally it is very easy to follow. Though I must admit the first time I heard the track "No Remorse" it sounded more like "Hungry Horace" in the chorus.
Lemmy is on fine lyrical form here. Topics covered include War, Poverty, Homelessness, Religion, Death, the absurdity of life, and women as well. If this sounds dull it's not. Check out "Doctor Love" full of double entendres and puns to make you chuckle and wince, whilst furiously nodding your head.
In much the same way as the last three studio albums, "Overnight Sensation", "Snake Bite Love" and "We Are Motorhead", this is an album which rewards with repeated listening.
I've docked a star as the final two numbers, "Red Raw" a bit of a thrasher (Motorhead are best when they swing) and "Serial Killer" a short spoken word piece are fairly ordinary. This band does much better, check out the fabulous "Overnight Sensation" for proof.
This is a double CD Package. The first disc is the album, 11 tracks. The second disc contains three audio tracks "Shoot You In The Back" and "R.A.M.O.N.E.S" live at Wacken Open Air 2001. "The Game" written by Triple H of WWF fame. This disc contains a CD extra as well, a sixteen minute preview of the DVD "Boneshaker". A must buy for any fan. This can be played in a MAC or PC.
Packaging is a foldout cardboard digibox. There is an eight page lyric booklet. The album cover is as ever by Joe Petagno. Another reworking of the famous Motorhead emblem. More interestingly the inner liner of the CD has another version by Petagno. In this the Motorhead is a ghastly green apparition. This would make an excellent T-Shirt design.
Mind you what a terrible album title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a Classic but it's Still Pure Motorhead, 6 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hammered (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
Well what can I say about this band? There is, and will only ever be one Motorhead. This album still has the classic sound that we all know and love but adds a more diverse sound as well - dare I say it - KEYBOARDS! I don't think this album will win them anymore fans but, if you love this band like I do, you will love this album. Although, not as instant as the last album (We Are Motorhead), Hammered is a grower, so give it a chance. So, as I said, there is only one Motorhead - headbang away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even my granny agrees this one rocks!!!, 24 Feb 2005
This review is from: Hammered (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
Oh dear oh dear oh dear Dominic Wills, that's the worst amazon review I've ever read. Talk about missing the point. As Irondanimal quite rightly points out, Phill Campbell has been Motorhead's guitarist for over 20 years and the fact is Motorhead fans everywhere have been rocking to HIS riffs. We don't want him to try to sound exactly like Eddie Clarke. What's the point of that???
This is a superb album! Highlights are Brave New World, who's sliding chord changes sound like a group of perfectly tuned bandsaws and are guaranteed to make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up when played at 11. Mine all Mine, we've all lived that opening verse, in a bar, somewhere, at sometime.......
Dr Love provides us another fistfull of Lemmy's cheeky lyrical talent (it would have been great to see the smile on his face when he was writing that one).
Buy it and play it at your neighbours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, but not consistent, 17 July 2008
This review is from: Hammered (Audio CD)
I really liked this one when I first heard it, however, it has not really stood up so well to repeated listens. There are some really good tracks on it, but a few fillers as well. Worth having in your collection though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 28 years and still going strong., 3 Sep 2003
This review is from: Hammered (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
Phil Campbell has been a member of Motorhead for 20 years now, and they have continued to matter with him as guitarist since the so called "classic line up" split. He is the longest serving member of Motorhead other than Lemmy. To say his Guitar work fails to match the wailing wildness of Fast Eddie Clarke is utter rubbish. This is one of Motorheads best albums including those from the Kilmister/Clarke/Taylor days. I would definately reccomend purchasing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRUTAL, 10 April 2002
By 
Mark Davis "mada136" (Helston, Cornwall, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hammered (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
Hammered shocked me with its sheer brilliance! when i first played the album after buying it on its released date, it was the opening track , "Walk a crooked mile", that really blew me away. It has so many genius touches! like the melodic chorus and the punchy riff that plays along side the verse. All the tracks on this masterpiece are superb. Another one of the highlights is "Brave new world" ehich also has very clever melodic parts and an anthemic chorus. "Doctor love" is another track that stands out. It has a rally good bounce to it that is created by the bouncy guitar riff that opens the song , the chorus's swaying guitars are a masterstroke. "Red raw" is a ferocious song that rips your head off with every note. The darkest song on the album and is also one of the best. "red raw" is the darkest song but the darkest moment on the this record is easily the ending vocal performance by lemmy( Serial killer) who is joined later in the track by WWF wrestler Tripple H. The effect is geniuinely chilling. With hammered Motorhead have managed to create a more melodic , but at the same time a more crunching and ferocious album than the other 17.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 Stars For The Album, 4 Stars For Red Raw!!!, 17 May 2008
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hammered (Audio CD)
Not Classic Motorhead but still a good album - maybe the production in parts could be a little better?
I certainly prefer it to Snake Bite Love - but 2004's Inferno in truth is more consistent!
The song's are not the most immediate but there's still a few nuggets here.
There is one song however that stands out; RED RAW.
This is perhaps the fastest & heaviest track that I have ever heard from this band. It's an absolute juggernaut, in the style of Locomotive, Snaggletooth, Claw & The Hammer. The bass has to be heard to be believed, it fires the song along, dominant in the mix, loud & distorted, it's like the bass line to Ace Of Spades, only 3 times faster!
Added to this are the all out speed metal drums of Mikkey Dee with unrelenting double bass pedals & ferocious riffs from Phil Campbell with a ripping lead break. And of course, Lemmy growls away in style with some of Motorhead's most blood-curdling lyrics ever!

A decent album with Motorhead's best ever 'Speed' track!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play it Loud!, 5 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hammered (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
Once again, with the minimum of fuss Motorhead unleash another drop-dead excellent album on the unsuspecting public! This is not an album of cover versions as some of the titles suggest, this is another origional classic from the band who do it best. 'Walk a crooked mile' opens the set and rips your ears off, check out the cynicism born of experience on 'Brave New World' and marvel at the genius and balls of a group who put a 2minute spoken-word track on the disc to finish it off. This album is packed with solid, fast, mean and noisy rock and roll. Buy it, play it loud and wait for the council to come round and confiscate your stereo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered (Audio CD)
Not the best motorhead album, but if your like me you have to have the whole story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars motorhead will leave your brain HAMMERED!!!, 14 April 2013
This review is from: Hammered (Audio CD)
2002 was motorhead's 25th anniversary, i suppose many were expecting Hammered to be a classic. Is it? ...well no, but that doesn't mean that its a bad album, quite the contrary, it's a good album, Motorhead have never done a bad album like most bands (metallica's St. Anger for example). The production on this album isn't that good there are times when listening to this album that it will come across a little lifeless, however it still has strength in it. With songs like 'walk a crooked mile' 'down the line' 'brave new world' 'voices from the war' 'red raw' and 'serial killer' those are the real stand out songs. Speaking of 'serial killer' it actually has no music, just a background noise and lemmy, plus special guest WWE wrestler Triple H doing the vocals.

The rest of the songs on this album are rather boring, still if you dont bother with the songs you wont like, there is still plent of material here to keep you happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hammered
Hammered by Motörhead (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews