Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Up Close and Personal 2001
A truly extraordinary DVD. This DVD is over 3 hours long and shows all the behind-the-scnes footage of this infamous Lions tour of Australia. This includes extended highlights of the three tests and the other matches on the tour and the repercussions of the fallout from Matt Dawson's article. It also has the lighter moments of training, Austin healy's antics and the...
Published on 17 Mar 2003 by miss v j sadler

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed.
Having been as impressed as I was with "Living with Lions" I thought that the internal battles and politics of the 2001 tour would culminate in a fantastic documentary. I had also read the articles written by Matt Dawson and Austin Healey and was fascinated in what might turn up...
Unfortunately I was deeply disappointed by the main documentary. It became very...
Published on 23 Feb 2004 by Simon Weaver


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Up Close and Personal 2001, 17 Mar 2003
By 
miss v j sadler (Woking, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lions - Up Close And Personal [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
A truly extraordinary DVD. This DVD is over 3 hours long and shows all the behind-the-scnes footage of this infamous Lions tour of Australia. This includes extended highlights of the three tests and the other matches on the tour and the repercussions of the fallout from Matt Dawson's article. It also has the lighter moments of training, Austin healy's antics and the boys at leisure. It includes the team talks from Graham Henry, Martin Johnson and Keith Wood, and the joy and pain of the players as they beat Australia only to lose the series.
I absoluely loved this. Perfect for showing all the rugby and all the politics behind it. You get to be a fly-on-the-wall to discussions between Henry and Lineham on who to pick and who to leave out; the players' responses to team selections and strategy and excerpts from the boys training and pre-and post-match responses.
Though this tour was now almost 2 years ago, i only bought it recently and found it not only a fascinating reminder of the tour. It was also very funny and provides an amazing insight into the psyche of some of the current crop. This includes Martin Johnson's extraordinary impact as team leader on the other members of the team (he really is an enduring inspiration to them)and the total inability of the training staff to get jonny wilkinson off the pitch from practicing his kicking.
I would recommend this to anyone without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., 23 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Lions - Up Close And Personal [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Having been as impressed as I was with "Living with Lions" I thought that the internal battles and politics of the 2001 tour would culminate in a fantastic documentary. I had also read the articles written by Matt Dawson and Austin Healey and was fascinated in what might turn up...
Unfortunately I was deeply disappointed by the main documentary. It became very obvious very quickly that the senior members of the party were not interested in being filmed - probably because of the huge rifts forming in the group - and that certain members of the group, namely Austin Healey, were happy to completely hog the camera and spoil what could, ultimately, have been a far more revealing insight into what really happened.
The 2001 Lions were, unquestionably, man for man better than the Australians and it would be a very stupid or very patriotic person that would say otherwise. I was looking forward to the psychology of a team lead by a coach that just wasn’t liked – I mean, how could they lose? - and all I got was Austin Healey behaving like a fool on screen. He wasn’t even a major player on the tour so why use so much footage of him? Possibly just to pad the main programme out to the required length? This was obviously going to be the last Lions tour for some of the modern day greats – Herculean men like Keith Wood and Martin Johnson. Austin Healey? – Give me a break.
The beauty of “Living with Lions” was that the original documentary had been such a masterpiece of television making.
So why not one star? Well there is a great deal of other footage included with the original programme and some of it easily justifies the money. And, at the end of the day, this was an historic event in many more ways than one with some truly classic moments in it.
A shame – this package really could have been up there.
Oh, and Austin Healey is in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lions Legends Continue..., 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lions - Up Close And Personal [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Even though we lost the series, this is a great follow up to the '97 South Africa Living With The Lions. Healy is quality on this tour and Johnno is immense!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 2009 Lions Tour, 5 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Lions - Up Close And Personal [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
delivered as advertised and it was good quality dvd, disappointed with how little match play is actually shown, further type of dvds need this i think esp if the series is close or has been won
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lions down under, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lions - Up Close And Personal [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Graham Henry needs a punch in the face, there now I've said it... after the euphoria of the '97 tour, the 2001 trip to convictland was a let down. Henry lacked the passion required to lead the tour and worked the team into the ground. The DVD often reflects the mood in camp with fewer group activities and nothing like as much tour fun as we saw in South Africa. I've rated this a 5 because I can't fault the product, the delivery or the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lions 2009, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lions - Up Close And Personal [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
loved it.would recommend.bought it as a gift.have bought from this company before and will continue to do so in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The lions Up Close and Personal, 27 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lions - Up Close And Personal [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
I am absolutely thrilled to have purchased this DVD it was that good. It really was brilliant. A must have for any british isles rugby fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational stuff!, 27 Nov 2009
By 
J. Boulton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lions - Up Close And Personal [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Such an insightful and emotional review of one of the best Lions tours. There was elation, heart break, laughter and tears and the documentary managed to capture it all and made the viewer feel like they were actually there. A DVD that you can watch over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRRRRREAT!!!!, 27 Dec 2005
This review is from: The Lions - Up Close And Personal [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Outstanding. I had read the book by Eddie Butler called The Tangled Mane and was very excited about watching this. Especially after watching the recent 2005 tour dvd i have realised what a great dvd this is. this goes to every length to show what it was really like on the tour. the use of a player's cam is touch of genius especially when dealing with Matt Dawson's views on his diary and Balshaws views on his feeling of disappointment with the tour. the speeches also have the ability to raise the hairs on your neck. the feelings of tension and anxiety are all there to see as the series starts and when it ends. the amount of time focused on the crucial final test is perfect really highlighting the importance felt by the lions. A CLASSIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant insight, 16 Jan 2005
This review is from: The Lions - Up Close And Personal [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent documentary folowing the highs and lows of the lions tour of aus. The player cams provide a stunning insight into the players true feelings and the dressing room footage lets the viewer see what really happens at half time! Highly recommended to any rugby fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews