Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gardening at its best
I remember seeing a few episodes of this when it was first broadcast on telly,and I enjoyed it.Some years ago I aquired the whole series on video,and have watched it many times.Now that The Victorian Kitchen Garden,The Victorian Flower Garden and The Victorian Kitchen are available on DVD this is a must have for any novice or experienced gardener.
Harry Dodson,like...
Published on 20 Jan 2008 by David Marshall

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Victorian Kitchen Garden (DVD)
A great DVD with some very useful information in an easy to follow way.

The only thing is that the quality of the picture is not up to the standards of today, still well worth getting.
Published on 18 Nov 2012 by Sting


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight to watch, 12 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Victorian Kitchen Garden [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this series when it was first broadcast in the late Eighties and when I heard it was available on DVD bought it straight away. It is an absolute delight to watch and Harry Dodson is a wonderful Gardener. Sadly Harry passed away in 2005 and his skills and knowledge are lost to us all.

But this DVD does give us insight into Harry's way of life and shows us the skills a Victorian Gardener had to have to ensure that fresh produce was available for the 'Big House' every day of the year. It is a wonderful DVD and I think it is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Series, 27 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Kitchen Garden [DVD] (DVD)
Probably one of my favourite programs ever. The series spurned three further programs, all of which were wonderful. The programs are filled with history and genuine enthusiasm, Jennifer Davies, the late great Harry Dodson, and Peter Thoday, showed us a time and period of real interest. I would recommend this program to anyone. Apart from the more recent tales from the Green Valley and Victorian Farm series, these programs reminds us of a time when programs concerned with gardening werent about the ego's of the presenters. Buy and Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD - The Victorian Kitchen Garden, 24 July 2010
This review is from: The Victorian Kitchen Garden [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD 'The Victorian Kitchen Garden' is delightful. It is the story month by month of the development, plantings and harvesting of a range of fruit and vegetables in a Victorian Kitchen Garden. The presentation is very relaxed and it is a very calming program to watch. The elderly gardener and presenter is an expert in this field having worked all his life in the role of Head Gardener to a large country house. It is also a most interesting historical record of gardening in the Victorian era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful dvd, 1 May 2014
This review is from: The Victorian Kitchen Garden [DVD] (DVD)
This charming gem of a dvd was first shown several decades ago on BBC2 and begins in a way that leaves the viewer curious about the programme and wanting to know more - the series covered the gardening year and the stark bareness of winter is in marked difference the fullness of summer. It is amazing how this experiment to transform a stately home kitchen garden from a disused patch makes for such attentive viewing. I simply adore The Victorian Kitchen Garden. By Stephen R Johnson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, gentle and engrossing, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Kitchen Garden [DVD] (DVD)
We loved this beautiful and informative series. Harry Dobson was an unexpected star - knowledgeable and watchable. Fascinating to see the old Victorian methods and plants (literally) come to life before the camera. One of those programmes that makes you sad when the last episode ends, particularly as we knew that the Chilton Foliat garden was later abandoned, despite Harry Dobson's efforts to make it commercially viable. Will definitely watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Dodson and Peter Thoday make an excellent team. Informative, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Kitchen Garden [DVD] (DVD)
Absolute nectar, Harry Dodson and Peter Thoday make an excellent team. Informative, entertaining and a wonderful trip down memory lane. I had all my own teeth when this was filmed, it now stands as a timepiece that will never be replicated. I recommend it to any keen gardener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect., 1 Sep 2014
By 
Susie (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Victorian Kitchen Garden [DVD] (DVD)
I first watched this series when it was repeated late at night in the 1990s. I then videoed it, then bought the video and now, finally, the DVD. I love this series. It is gentle, informative and nostalgic (as much now for the time it was made as the time it recreates). This is what a reality programme should be. No one shows off or cries. To me it is the forerunner of the Tales of the Green Valley, Victorian Farm etc. I love everyone in it: Harry Dodson, Peter Thoday, the industrious Alison (who hardly speaks through the entire series; can you imagine that happening if the series were made today?). Even the music is superb. I can't recommend this enough - enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuine enthusiasm for the past, 20 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Kitchen Garden [DVD] (DVD)
I remember seeing this when it was first aired on TV. It was riveting then as it is now. Neither of the gardeners claims Victorian gardening to be better or worse than modern techniques. It is a joy to watch them deal with the challenges, failures and successes that happen to any gardener; but in this context, you also get a greater appreciation of the work done by gardeners in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A GEM (LETTUCE !), 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Kitchen Garden [DVD] (DVD)
This has got to be my favourite dvd of all times. I struggled on with my old video version - oh how I love this series and the two wonderful main characters. I even quote some of their sayings !!!! Love gardening - you will love this dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vegetables galore, 16 July 2009
By 
Judith Andrew (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Victorian Kitchen Garden [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent DVD for anyone interested in growing their own vegetables. It is both entertaining and informative. Great for the green and the green fingered alike. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Victorian Kitchen Garden [DVD]
The Victorian Kitchen Garden [DVD] by Keith Sheather (DVD - 2002)
£12.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews