Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A trully universal outing by Cox...
What can I say.. Carl Cox is a very highly regarded Dj, I hadn't heard much from him though and this eagerly anticipated album seemed like a good place to start - ok, this is a mixture of house and techno but what makes him the part is the way he spins NO ordinary tracks.. in every track there's a different element of funk making it feel like an excellent QUALITY segment...
Published on 7 April 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special
I've been after this CD (double CD version) since it's release in Feb this year and my copy arrived this morning (after managing to get it for £8.99 on HMV!). Have now listened to both CD's in full 3 times today. I think it's pretty fair to say that, although this is a perfectly decent release, offers nothing in way of stand-out tunes or exceptional mixing. The listening...
Published on 25 Aug. 2010 by Ben W


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A trully universal outing by Cox..., 7 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Global (Audio CD)
What can I say.. Carl Cox is a very highly regarded Dj, I hadn't heard much from him though and this eagerly anticipated album seemed like a good place to start - ok, this is a mixture of house and techno but what makes him the part is the way he spins NO ordinary tracks.. in every track there's a different element of funk making it feel like an excellent QUALITY segment of music you've just heard.
Let me just say that I've never really admired the so called 'funky' side of dance music... to all of you like me, do yourselves a favour and buy this album because it'll teach you a few things about yourself that you didn't know.
Some will look @ the tracklisting and be instantly put off by Roger Sanchez or think that the track selection is dated due to tunes such as Smoke Machine... this is NOT the case - the album contains some of the freshest quality techno choons you're likely to hear this year...
Which leads me to my favourites: Dirty Bass and the James Holden tune are already massive floorfillers and will remain for awhile ... Mistress Barbara's contribution and Horny Hustle are played back-to-back and are probably the highlight of the album for me with some fab funky yet tough, addictive beats not to be missed ... then there's the mind-numbing Remaniputaled by Ben Simms which is so unexpected - delightfully pushing the boundaries of techno, leaving you breathless but somehow gagging for more!
One quick mention about the mixing - this guy is setting the highest standards right throughout the entire album (eg. CD2 - song 2 onto X-press 2).
What more CAN I say - buy this, you're gonna love it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Techno, 13 Feb. 2010
By 
J. Rychetnik (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Carl Cox delivers a beautiful compilation of cutting edge Techno for Global Underground. What an interesting location to choose for this mix; Black Rock Desert. The music has that sort of ravy and outdoor festival vibe which suits the fascinating location just fine.

The two CD mixes could be separated into light and dark. The first CD is light, upbeat and melodic while the second CD is of a darker mood but possibly the more exciting of the two. Techno can be a bit repetetive, but Carl manages to keep his compilation fresh and innovative throughout. It is a beautiful record that he has put together here. I would be tempted to give it 5 stars but Techno is really just too mechanical sounding for my taste. Even though Carl blends in softer tones it is still a Techno mix. But it is excellent stuff all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special, 25 Aug. 2010
I've been after this CD (double CD version) since it's release in Feb this year and my copy arrived this morning (after managing to get it for £8.99 on HMV!). Have now listened to both CD's in full 3 times today. I think it's pretty fair to say that, although this is a perfectly decent release, offers nothing in way of stand-out tunes or exceptional mixing. The listening experience is good, but not one that captivates. Only buy if you're a fan of the series or have money burning a hole in your pocket! Carl Cox's best work will always be F A C T, the original 2 cd release that includes Cygnus X tune, absolute classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally, 5 Feb. 2010
By 
Down the wobely path that the GU series has become to be they have finally been able to get the man in who should have done one a long time ago! Always consistent, always uplifting, always able to put a smile on my face, Carl Cox delivers the goods and takes the brand in the right direction. Not as good as let's say, the sounds of the ultimate base or 2nd session, but he def. puts GU back on track and brings the kick back in the series. Now, who is next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One man and a drum machine, 20 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Carl Cox has been on the DJ circuit for many years and to be honest the album this album smacks of a man, bored and uninspired. Black Rock Desert lives up to its name: it goes on forever and it is all the same. I feel that i have been duped out of my hard earned cash by Mr Cox, who plainly doesn't care about his music. Like i say: one man and a drum machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 2 Jun. 2011
Probably my favourite GU till now. Always liked Carl Cox, but the combination of GU with his otherwise rougher style made this an amazing cd. Not exactly what people are used to from GU, or Carl Cox for that matter, but I find the merge of the two styles becoming bigger than the sum of two parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a belter!, 27 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. P. Davy (dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have followed dance music since it's early days and globul underground are a godsend! imagine life without them? I agree with other reviewers that recently they have been a little off the boil, but always interesting. Interesting is not what house music is about though, its about having a laugh, getting a grove going and being unrelenting once you have it. I've always respected coxy but never really been a fan of techno. He seems to have slowed it down a bit though here, more tech house than tech-no. The result is a funky, frosty, bassey at times scary couple of hours. When he hits track 6 (guy J) he splits you wide open and then he just does not let you go. Brilliant, epic set. Up there with Taipei, ibiza, toronto and san francisco. Coxy give us some more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A total and utter disappointment, 3 Jan. 2014
By 
Johannes (Bara, Sweden) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For being a global underground label release I had high hopes, but this was awful! I have sold it off immediately after listening to it once! Waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pounding Quality, 3 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Global (Audio CD)
Carl Cox unabashadely says he plays techno. While others may slip and slide into trendy progressive grooves, Cox evolves without categorization, expending explosive energy into every set, be it live or one of his immensely popular mix CDs. Global once again captures his incredible party vibe, moving from the tech-house vocal openers into harder and funkier grooves. Its an international voyage through Cox's favorite tunes, from Angel Moraes New York hard house flavor, to the French techno duo Oxia, to the West Coast drum beats from Lovesky. My one critic is that once past the opening few tracks, the CD pounds on with a relentless pace, it would have been nice to get a bit of variation... I do wonder if the orginal mix, which continues onto a second CD that is only being released in the UK/European version, doesn't do just that. Mid-mix there is one track that must be noted: the immpeccable "Dirty Bass" from Coxy himself. A powerful hypnotic hammering of metal against bass, edgy synths and soaring cymbals, punctuated with the deep vocal loop "dirty bass... push up the levels let the red lights match." A deft description of the dark bottom end of this track that is dying for a dark dance floor. If this is a taste of what's to come on Cox's artist album, watch for Cox at the top of everyone's Best of lists one more time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GO ON COXY !!!!!!, 7 Feb. 2010
Whoever pulled the strings and got GU to dig deep in their pockets to get Mr Cox on board have pulled off a masterstroke and need to be put in charge of the label immediately! This mix takes GU directly back to the glory days of the sasha mixes it really is that good. The first couple of tracks are a little dull but the mix takes off from there and the second disc is sublime. Mr Cox has put something in this mix that has been lacking from the once great label for some time due to the much drawn out minimal sound and thats a mix of real substance and drive. Some of the tunes on these discs have a real energy about them that just can't fail to put a smile on ya face opposed to the all familiar YAWN that the majority of the mixes have been putting on your face of late. I just cannot believe this is coxy's first ever mix on the label hes a complete natural and understands just how GU work. All we need now is another mix from Mr Cox and another double live cd mix from the great man himself SASHA and the label will be sat right where it belongs at the very pinnacle of the underground sound! WELL DONE COXY!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Global
Global by Carl Cox (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews