Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, THE BEST FIVER YOU'LL EVER SPEND...
Although the YYY's debut "Fever To Tell" album fell into the "close but no cigar" category, this EP is the band at their very best. Almost sounding like a radio session, the energy crackles through this recording throughout, and the first three songs are among the band's best - "Bang", "Mystery Girl" and the scarily intense "Art Star".
Buy it, you...
Published on 22 Feb 2006 by Matt Kenway

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars YYY's E.P
The Disc itself is fine, no damage and plays well without any skippingl but not the sleeve cover advertised which is disappointing
Published 16 months ago by Susi Q


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, THE BEST FIVER YOU'LL EVER SPEND..., 22 Feb 2006
This review is from: Yeah Yeah Yeahs E.P (Audio CD)
Although the YYY's debut "Fever To Tell" album fell into the "close but no cigar" category, this EP is the band at their very best. Almost sounding like a radio session, the energy crackles through this recording throughout, and the first three songs are among the band's best - "Bang", "Mystery Girl" and the scarily intense "Art Star".
Buy it, you won't ever regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YYYs for the Turner Prize 2002, 1 Jun 2002
This review is from: Yeah Yeah Yeahs [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Forget Madonna swearing on live telly, this year they should have the Yeah Yeah Yeahs play 'Art Star' before the winner is announced. The judges should then award the prize to the performance art-in-progress that is Karen O and associates. "S**t, I got a gallery in New York," indeed.
Punky, shouty garage rock from NYU will always stomp all over weedy British indie-boy bands. One listen to this will make you feel ashamed for ever being even mildly tolerant towards the insipid, careerist rock of Travis, Coldplay et al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The flow of good bands continues..., 16 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Yeah Yeah Yeahs E.P (Audio CD)
Ah yes, this is exactly what we need, another brilliant band from NY. The YYY's juddering guitars and the singer's fanatastically screechy voice make this EP a worthwhile experience. A welcome change from the usual pap we are fed from America; along with The Strokes, The White Stripes and BRMC it seems a new wave of music is coming to save us from the nu-metal and pop punk that has plagued us so long.
Overall Strokesy, guitar music that makes you want to jump around like a fool and enjoy yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yeah!, 31 Mar 2006
This review is from: Yeah Yeah Yeahs E.P (Audio CD)
Although i knew about the Yeah Yeah Yeahs a while back and enjoying their song 'Maps' i pretty much ignored their debut and saw it as just a one trick pony but as their 2nd album has just been released i thought i'd pick up their EP after 'Fever To Tell and before 'Show Your Bones'.I found this EP one of the most coolest,catchy and pragmatic alternative CD's i own. It starts with an instantly likable 'Bang!' you can tell she has influences from PJ Harvey (whom of which ive grown to adore) it stands at one of my favourites here 'Mystery Girl' i think is my favourite track the drum loop is great and you just can't help but tap you foot 'Art Star' & 'Miles Away' stand as the more shorter tracks with the former being a trash metal-like track with the screaming but then almost seems schizophrenic 'coz she starts with these cute little "do,do,do's" eventually going back and screaming while the latter as a cool intro which just reminded me of 'Eye of the tiger' lol i really enjoyed it though just has the usual YYY's sound very cool. 'Our Time' is the closer which isn't all that great i didn't really like it much but i like the way she keeps stopping and starting and she sounds great.
Overall i found that Karen O is a very talented lady and stands as one of my 'Alternative' female heroines (after Bjork,Tori,Fiona & Polly Jean) I will be definately buying "Show Your Bones"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars YYY's E.P, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yeah Yeah Yeahs E.P (Audio CD)
The Disc itself is fine, no damage and plays well without any skippingl but not the sleeve cover advertised which is disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YYY are here to save music, 22 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Yeah Yeah Yeahs E.P (Audio CD)
The style! The passion! The energy infused in listeners of this CD! Yeah Yeah Yeahs seem to have it all. Lyrics ranging from self-depricating to surreal to cynical and mocking and all the way back again. Riffs to make you want to scream along and devote your life to attempting to work your way up to the status of being able to lick their feet clean. Pretty band members. Versatility, virility, power, ambition and the ability to come through with their promises. This is music to die for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars oh yeah-it's the YYYs, 20 April 2006
This review is from: Yeah Yeah Yeahs E.P (Audio CD)
this ep is about 13 minutes long,and it sent an electric shock down my spine when i first heard it.it was the same when i first heard the ramones.the YYYs have got what it takes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST RECORD THIS YEAR, 25 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Yeah Yeah Yeahs E.P (Audio CD)
A compelling mix of punk, funk and arty rock and roll. Sorta retro but also as modern as next week. Simply the best record released so far this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shadow of the Vamp, 25 April 2002
By 
Santa Dog (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yeah Yeah Yeahs E.P (Audio CD)
Despite being hailed by NME as the next fantastic thing this CD is actually rather good!! Stroing female vocals, biting, choppy guitar sound and an almost 'My Bloody Valentine' interlude on the 3rd track. The only downside.. sounds a bit like Transvision Vamp and we all remember how they ended up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rocking and rolling, 8 Sep 2002
By 
Mr. M. Salam "buyernotseller" (Inside a Giant Enemy Crab) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yeah Yeah Yeahs E.P (Audio CD)
After hearing about them being the next big thing i brought this EP, and from the first track i knew there was something very differnt and brillant about this band, the key that sets this band apart from bands like BRMC, White Stripes and the strokes is a attidue of edgeiness which these other bands lack.
The first song "bang" is a stomper of tune, with a spiky guitar riff but a voice which is just amazing, the second track is a pj harvey "is this desire" era without the big loud bluesly guitars but the guitars squeel on this track, the third track Art Star is a spiky punk tune with a member of the band counting to 4 until all hell breaks loose and then followed up by child like singing, the fourth track is another pj harvey esque track and is driven by a guitar riff that implants its slef into your head, the last track is 70's blusey rock n roll song.
All in all its a rocking and rolling EP an album waits and with an music press buliding up anything that isnt nu metal this band is going to everywhere. But the question remains if thats a good or bad thing????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yeah Yeah Yeahs E.P
Yeah Yeah Yeahs E.P by Yeah Yeah Yeahs (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews