Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Cd Rules
This cd rules, Michelle Branch is an amazing artist and manages to be original in a genre of music that is packed with artists. It is impossible not to like this cd, the tunes are all original and it is an album you can listen to from start to finish without finding a crap song or two songs that sound the same.
1. Everywhere - first single from the album and a wise...
Published on 7 April 2002

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly dissapointing.
To be honest, this album really didn't impress me.
A few weeks back, I heard some of Michelle's live performances from various sources, and was, quite frankly, blown away. She has a great voice, a real talent for the guitar and her lyrics are inspiring/haunting/impressive in all the right places. So, In ordered her album right away. And, well, in comparison it...
Published on 11 Sep 2002


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Plumb, 24 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Spirit Room [Int'L-Not Enh.] (Audio CD)
'The Spirit Room' is a brilliant album, I too bought it having only heard one track, 'Everywhere' and was impressed. Each song stood out in its own right and there doesn't seem to be any 'filler' tracks. So far my favorite is 'Something to sleep to' as it truly has its own style. The only reason this didn't get 5 stars for me was that it didn't sound original enough - Michelle's voice and the style of the album was very similar to that of a band called Plumb, in particular their album Candycoatedwaterdrops, which I would recommend to anyone who liked this album (if, that is, you can ignore Plumb's Christian themes)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a superb album!!, 20 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Spirit Room [Int'L-Not Enh.] (Audio CD)
First heard Michelle on the radio with 'Everywhere'. Thought it was absolutely brilliant so I brought The Spirit Room. It was no let down and one of the best albums that I have ever brought. She is a great talent and hopefully will make it big in the UK. All the tracks and are all different but great in their own way. Some rocky and some more deep. All you Wanted and Something to Sleep To are excellent tracks. It is great to hear a modern artist playing a musical instrument so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If I could give it 100 stars, it would not be enough., 16 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Spirit Room [Int'L-Not Enh.] (Audio CD)
Simply breathtaking. All the way from the start to the finish, Michelle Branch manages to captivate the pure energy of song writing. But, not only that, she delivers the exceptional lyrics in such a way that only serves to ensure anyone who listens is instantly overcome with passion for the artist. Perhaps its the catchy guitars, or the vocal range of Michelle. Perhaps its the stunning way she combines each song with great ease. This album is a brilliant follow up to her previous effort (Broken Bracelet, Independent Records 2000). Not superior, just more matured. Still, she manages to gain some piece of my heart every time I put 'The Spirit Room' in my CD player. Sing on Michelle.... sing on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE SPIRIT ROOM is a strong example of Michelle's talent!, 7 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Spirit Room [Int'L-Not Enh.] (Audio CD)
I heard 'Everywhere' on American Pie 2 and automatically took to it so I got hold of the track then when her latest single 'All You Wanted' hit my TV screen, I knew I needed the album! I got it imported from America (v.expensive!)and it was worth every penny! As well as the 2 main tracks, the others are absolutely brilliant! My personal fave is Here With Me, which illustrates how she feels about a guy that left her and she wants him back but she does it in a very catchy, not depressing way! The whole album is fabulous! So if you are a fan of Lifehouse, The Calling, Vertical Horizon or just 'chick with a guitar' music....YOU NEED THIS ALBUM! For some reason, at the end of 'Drop In The Ocean' theres a drum and bass/jungle beat to it?!?!But it works!
Buy this album and I promise you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding pop/rock alternative music at its best, 16 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Spirit Room (Audio CD)
At only 18 Michelle Branch is destined for big things. The CD is outstandingly consistant all the way though from the catchy power pop of 'All You Wanted' to the slow pop ballad 'Goodbuy To You'.
Fans of pop rocker Allanis Morrisette will not be dissappointed with this album. Great lyrics, a great voice and most probably destined for number one singles in several countries. Already platinum in Japan the Spirit room is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There's nothing new under the sun...., 4 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Spirit Room [Int'L-Not Enh.] (Audio CD)
Michelle Branch's "The Spirit Room" is a perfect example of this. The influences of other artists, past and present, can be picked up throughout the album from the alanis morisette-esque 'You Get Me', to an intro reminiscent of Natalie Imbruglia on 'I'd Rather Be in Love', and 'Something to Sleep to' in the style of the Beatles.
Not that this is a bad thing - as a first major commercial release, The Spirit Room is a well-rounded album and displays that while Michelle Branch may not quite have cornered her own style yet, she is capable of making good records.
'Everywhere' is particularly catchy, and if you like that, you won't be disappointed with the rest of the album. The much-hyped 'Goodbye to You' is haunting and accurate and 'Something to Sleep to' and 'Sweet Misery' are also strong songs. I was slightly surprised to find that she may be releasing 'All You Wanted' as the next single as there are much better tracks on the album. 'You set me Free' was a bit too Corrs for me and while I appreciated what she was trying to do in 'Drop in the Ocean' I'm not sure that it worked for me.
The only major criticism to be levelled here has to be the triteness of the often ryhming lyrics. But hey, it put a smile on my face and I found myself singing along in no time.
There may be nothing new under the sun, but I certiantly don't mind Michelle Branch's version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music Full Stop, 22 April 2004
By 
Mr. M. Pinnington "call*biker" (Oldham, Greater Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Spirit Room (Audio CD)
I wasn't even a fan of Michelle Branch before. I looked at this albumbecause it had a song used in Buffy the Vampire Slayer (10. Goodbye toYou) but after receiving it and listening to it through just once, Iwasn't disappointed. This album has got to be one of the best I haveheard in the last few years, even if I am a bit behind on hearing it. Itnormally takes a few times through any album for me to pick out favouritesand appreciate fully the work that has gone into the album - not this one,great Music without exception and I would recommend it to anyone - buy itnow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative brilliance!, 17 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Spirit Room [Int'L-Not Enh.] (Audio CD)
I rate this album higher than any of her others, from the sultry 'Goodbye to You', to the upbeat hit 'Everywhere', Michelle Branch is a girl with a powerful and often emotive voice, capable of much more than people give her credit. My favourite song is the ballad 'Sweet Misery', which has a soulful feel with meaningful lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not world beating., 6 Oct 2003
This review is from: The Spirit Room [Int'L-Not Enh.] (Audio CD)
In all truth, three stars are not enough for this, but four are too many. If ever there was a 7/10 album, this is it.
'The Spirit Room' was the first album Michelle released, confirming her status as (at the time) the latest graduate from the American songwriting Power Plant (unlike Pop Idol and PopStars - the British songwriting Death Camps).
However, where the debut albums from other such artists have a canny habit of being instantly on the button, 'The Spirit Room' flounders a little as it tries to work out exactly what it is. While some of the tracks, notably the opening 'Everywhere' and to a lesser extent 'Drop In the Ocean', show some good individuality and the potential quality of what she can do, others seem to have not always favourable nods towards other artists. The exception to this is 'Something To Sleep To', which sounds like something Robbie Williams would do on a good day.
However, the favourable comparisons stop there.
The majority of tracks sail dangerously close to sounding *ahem* mainstream, culminating with 'You Get Me'. Please rectify - we all know you're better than that.
Overall, if you haven't switched off by the end of 'You Get Me', instead letting the memory of 'Everywhere' give it the benefit of the doubt, I think you'll get something good out of this album. I still listen to it in its entirety once in a while, but it doesn't exactly blow my skirt up.
The crunch comes from the fact that if Vanessa Carlton or Jessica Riddle came to town (or even to Britain), I'd pay to watch. I'll stick with buying Michelle Branch's albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michelle Branch-The Spirit Room(Greatest album ever!!!), 5 Aug 2005
This review is from: The Spirit Room [Int'L-Not Enh.] (Audio CD)
WOW!!! What can i say. This album is great. Michelle has such vocal talent which is backed up by her amazing skill on the guitar. This album has some great songs on it!Like everywhere,all you wanted and goodbye to you. All of which reached the top 20 in the charts!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spirit Room [Int'L-Not Enh.]
The Spirit Room [Int'L-Not Enh.] by Michelle Branch (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews