Customer Reviews


183 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bl***y hell! what a game!
First we had GT1, jaw droppingly amazing for the PS1, loads of cars, innovative features, i.e License tests, tune ups and even the car wash! Then along came GT2, polished graphics, even more cars, not to forget the License tests and the kick ass sound tracks as with the original.
Step up GT3 for the PS2 and all I can say is, absolutely amazing. this is what the...
Published on 31 July 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can be a bit too repetative at times.....
The basic outline is very good, Hundreds of cars to buy and hundreds of races to take part in and win. On top of the that, you can also tune your car and take part in license tests. So you should never be bored right? Not strictly true im afraid.....
Some of the cars are too similar, so its pintless buying some of them. There are simply too many races you have to...
Published on 5 Feb 2003 by chappie182uk


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An upgrade, Not a sequel. (But a damn good upgrade.), 22 Nov 2001
GT3- one of the "killer apps" that Sony has been relying upon to make the PS2 a success, and to leave the Xbox stillborn. In order to perfect the game, Polyphony made gamers wait almost a year longer than expected to release the product, almost killing PS2's prospects in the process. But's it's out now, so how does it measure up?
To put it simply, you will not find more beautifully drawn 3D graphics on any home computer platform. Honestly, if I was just a spectator watching a replay, I would have thought I was watching recorded video. You can choose special motion effects to blur the distinction even more, using Top Gear-esqe colour filters and motion blurring to truly impress your mates.
But what about the gameplay? Polyphony have applied the adage of "if it ain't broke, don't fix it". Maybe a little too seriously. There is very little new material that owners of GT2 will not have seen- two or three new tracks and a bonus Formula 1 mode when you complete the game, but that's about it. In fact, some GT2 tracks have disappeared, and the number of cars has fallen from a heady 600 down to just 150 (fewer even than the original GT!). One improvement is the use of Dual Shock 2's full analogue buttons- but smart gamers use the toggle sticks anyway.
And other niggles remain. You can't fast-forward the replays, you can't access the full library of cars in Arcade mode without unlocking them, and most significantly you still can't damage the cars, even if you stuff them into a wall at 400km/h. But these are small flaws in a large diamond.
GT3 is one of those must-have games, like Metal Gear Solid was for the PSX. If you like driving games and don't have GT2, get this game now. If you do, well it's worthwhile, but you might feel a bit cheated.
Quick summary of this game? Well, my mother hates all computer games- and she voluntarily told me it was a worthwhile purchase- enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still playing - and gt4 is nearly out!, 17 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Gran Turismo 3: A -Spec Platinum (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is pure quality. Ok no damage, but I think this can be a good thing. If there was realistic damage then most people would come last in most races. Maximum concentration would be required, just like in real racing, and I'm sure people would just get fed up with it.
Anyway my highlight of this game is getting the back end out in 800 - 1000 bhp skylines, or driving the formula 1 cars. The Formula 1 cars at first are simply mind blowing, but then you get used to it and you can put some really fast lap times in! I recently bought the steering wheel designed for gt4 and the game is much more fun to play using it. Although you can only use it with 300 degrees rotation, in gt4 you get 900 degrees - can't wait.
This game still does the business years and years after it came out. THE greatest driving game ever! At least until Gran Turismo 4 comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIVES UP TO THE HYPE, 4 Jun 2003
This review is from: Gran Turismo 3: A -Spec Platinum (PS2) (Video Game)
July 2001, and I look on teletext. To my utter disbelief there was an unbelievable sentence on-screen - Gran Turismo 3 out today! A week earlier! I cack myself and hurriedly rush to the bank to get some moolah. I take one hundred pounds out so I can get the GT3 steering wheel as well. Oh the excitement!
After the hectic rush I slapped the disc in my PS2, almost breaking it, and it loads up. I choose my car and enter a race...........WOW! The graphics blew me away! We're talking 100% accurate car models, beautifully complimented with heat haze, sparks, and tracks so luscious you want to graze on their green, green grass.
So how's it play? Flawlessly. The cars handle so realistically you are fully immersed within the experience. Tyre wear has a pronounced effect on handling characteristics. Cars bounce and judder over the curbs, thrown across the track with the sudden changes of inertia. All this is backed up with gorgeous engine sounds and a somewhat crap soundtrack. Oh, and there's the small matter of the unlockable F1 cars..........
Flaws? Well the number of cars is reduced from Gran Turismo 2 - from 600 to less than 150. However, the graphics on each car took two weeks each so it's not surprising the count has gone down. And anyways, it still has a lot more cars than any other racing game. FACT. And there's always GT4.......
Also, where are the tyre marks? They've been left out for the third time! This is a travesty.
These are, however, minor niggles that do not detract from the overall experience at all. Buy this game if you haven't got it. Buy the steering wheel if you've got the game. If you've got both....WELL DONE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE!, 28 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Simply wonderful. I race single seaters, and I can confirm this is the game closest to the reality I have ever played. Just turn off the driving assistances and you'll find yourself oversteering in the middle of a corner or overtaking another driver while blocking your wheels braking at the limit.
The only difference with real races is the car's engines never blow up and your car never get damaged even if you crash...could it be true!
Anyway you can almost drive each kind of car, ranging from actual F1/Indy single seaters to type Le Mans prototypes and the next race finding yourself to battle in a Yaris contest!
The engine sound is also amazing, you hear the difference between 6/8 and 10 cylinders and the revs (in a F1) arrive to 18.000 (as in real one).
In two words: Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A1, 14 Feb 2003
By 
Jimbo (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Gran Turismo 3: A -Spec Platinum (PS2) (Video Game)
It has all been said in previous reviews and if you are still thinking about buying this game you have missed out on a lot of fun, attention to detail is just stunning, just watch the reflections on the cars, day and night, even the brake discs glow under heavy braking, graphics are as smooth as silk and cars look just stunning.
I have been playing GT2 for the last 2 years on and of and still not bored so god only knows how long I will be playing GT3.
Game is a lot harder than GT2 which I think is a good thing as some races in GT2 were a bit easy to win, some of the pro races in GT3 are 15 laps as opposed to 3 in GT2 and tyres wear out really quick in my 1015 bhp Porche :-).
Don`t think about it any more, just get it and enjoy the best racing game on the PS2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can be a bit too repetative at times....., 5 Feb 2003
The basic outline is very good, Hundreds of cars to buy and hundreds of races to take part in and win. On top of the that, you can also tune your car and take part in license tests. So you should never be bored right? Not strictly true im afraid.....
Some of the cars are too similar, so its pintless buying some of them. There are simply too many races you have to take part in, ok fair enough some people might enjoy 100 laps of just going around and around and around, but I found it rather boring after 10 laps or so.
If you love cars and have the patience to take part in the really long races, this game is for you. But if you just want to have a laugh playing a game, I suggest you look elsewhere.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drive, Drive, Drive, 12 Nov 2001
What a great game. Being a newby to PS2, and doing a bit of racing myself, this is the first game I bought for the PS2, and I havnt been disappointed. The only thing I found lacking was using the control to drive, but then I purchased the Logitech Force Feed Back Wheel. And coupled up with a 32" TV and Surround Sound System, it is just like being in the cars themselves. The AI does require a bit of work, but that is a little gripe. Graphics and gameplay cant be beaten.(I think Virgin should have spoken to the programmers at GT3 before they bought out the sorry excuse for a game called Lotus Challange) Just get in and enjoy the experience. Looking forward to GT4 Already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Thing !!, 11 Aug 2002
Well, almost! This is as close as it gets to being behind the wheel from the comfort of your armchair! The slightest tweak of the engine, brakes or suspension in the 'tune up' shop can be felt the next time you take to the track, it really is so responsive & realistic. I had this on the original Ps1 and spent many a late night and early morning duelling with my mates... And this version just gets better- more tracks, more cars, more realism and that elusive characteristic essential to any game- the "one more time" factor. Buy it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gran Turismo; The must have game., 30 Dec 2003
This review is from: Gran Turismo 3: A -Spec Platinum (PS2) (Video Game)
Awesome game.
With Driving licences to aquire, along with Cars and cash awarded for winning events or completing solo events, the game has plenty of opportunities to play it over and over again without having the same game twice.
Tune your car up to the max in the racing shop, buy slick tyres or racing simulation tyres, exhaust systems and air cleaners, turbo enhancements brakes and suspension.
There are endurance races and short races too, along with 10 race meeting championships, the harder the race the higher the prizes and the better the car you win.
This game is so addictive in Gran Turismo mode it is worth every penny, and now it's on platinum release it's even more value for money.
Best advice for you BUY it!! you'll love it if you love driving simulations that can be as challenging or as easy as you like. this is a game that will give you hours of value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOD OF GAMES, 12 Oct 2001
By A Customer
GT3 will go down in history.
On release this was, and 3 months on still is the pinnacle of racing games on any format - console or PC.
In fact - it's more than a game - it ceases to be a game as soon as you put the disc into your PS2. It's nothing short of an enthralling, immersive and utterly hypnotic adrenaline rush of an interactive racing experience. And it's alot more too. It's a drug. It's legal. i love it.
You buy games to play on your console 99.9% of the time. But the time will come when you encounter the 00.1% when you buy a console for the sole purpose of experiencing ONE game.
That time is now.
If you have played GT3 you will understand.
If you have not played GT3 then you need to understand.
Thankyou Mr Yamauchi. I knew you would't let us down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gran Turismo 3: A -Spec Platinum (PS2)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews