Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

  • Dusk
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 December 2007
Back then in 1993, when "Dusk" was released, what striked first was that it sounded a lot less over-produced than the previous two The The LP's (1986's melodramatic yet exciting "Infected" and 1989's "Mind Bomb" full-scale apocalyptic soundscape); here we get at the core of this man's mind ("True Happiness This Way Lies"), heart ("This Is The Night"), body ("Dogs Of Lust") and soul ("Bluer Than Midnight"). Another highlight is the harmonica-led (a part courtesy of ex-Smiths and The The guitarist at that time, Johnny Marr) "Slow Emotion Replay", which should have been a n°1 hit then.

Even though it might not be, on first hearing, as sonically appealing as previous offerings, "Dusk" wears the kind of attracting growth every truly great record has: once it's stuck in your mind, you'll never get rid of it. For the good, and the bad...

Since then, The The's only crucial releases have been a Hank Williams tribute (1995's worthy "Hanky Panky") and a last original studio album, released through Nine Inch Nails' Trent Reznor label, Nothing (2000's "Naked Self", very good but not for shy ears...). Matt, if by chance you read those lines, please, come back; you miss us a lot. We urgely need another "Soul Mining" (The The's official 1983 debut) for our sour times...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2002
After the recent release of the superb Naked Self, its good to go back and hear some of the old stuff. The new remaster gives a soulful album the clarity and crispness it deserves after all these years. The songs are still as good as ever, certainly a more commercial offering from Mr Johnson, but certainly never dull.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I first heard this album ten years ago, and it has lost nothing in the intervening years.
If I was allowed only one album for the rest of time, then this would probably be it. When this tape goes into the car stereo, it stays there for weeks before I finally change the selection.
The album starts out strong and simply gets stronger, leaving you wanting to flip it and start over again.
To my mind, the album confirms Matt Johnson as one of the finest lyricists and song writers of our time. Long may the ink keep flowing from his pen.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2015
Having been into The The since the late 80's (as a teenager) I was a bit of a "the previous albums are the best" purist (Mind bomb is an absolute favourite). But after repeated listening to Dusk recently, the maturity of Matt Johnson's as a musician is really evident here. Johnny Marr's input is superbly nuanced, lyrics are touching, challenging and now as a 40 year old even more resonant! :) A trip down memory lane is the video for Dogs of Lust. Games of pool, games of love, lust and A levels and Achtung baby benchmark my age (!) but I really enjoyed having the opportunity to review (and reminisce) about a fantastic album of a great talent.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2007
A brilliant record seeing Johnson reach a maturity in his lyric writing, voice and general sound. Intensely personal yet not indulgent not only because of the larger themes explored but because it's heart felt, honest and above all wise. Like some of the other reviewers this record has had a big impact upon me. It rings true with my own experience; is life afirming for that reason. All of this and a simply a wonderful collection of funky soulful tunes with Marr at his best too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2001
Dusk is about as close to a masterpiece as you can
get...and that's from someone who still reckons
that Soul Mining is pretty damn near perfect!
Johnson's music is not for the faint-hearted. If
the songs glow with an intense complexity on record, this is very much a factor live. And so
it was when he took the stage to bring us the goods once more. He's been compared to a rock
Moses, coming down from the mountain every three
years or so to tell us about ourselves and the
world. Well, thank God he does.
Highlights? Dogs of Lust is a belter and you can
hear the emotion cracking his voice on the sublime
Love Is Stronger Than Death. Helpline Operator
is a hymn to a society that has to pay someone to
listen to its problems and Lonely Planet takes us
out with a similar feeling to Soul Mining's (awesome) closing cut Giant with a stonking chorus and some superb articulation from MJ.
Johnson is a genius and Dusk proves it.
Al Ferrier
11.10.01
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2000
It was sheer relief to fans of The The in 1993 when Dusk was released, following their disappointingly stodgy and overproduced 'Mind Bomb' from 1989. Matt Johnson and Johnny Marr finally make their partnership come to full musical fruition on this sublime album which caters for an entire range of moods.
Standout tracks include the well-chosen singles Dogs of Lust, Love Is Stronger Than Death and of course the brilliant Slow Emotion Replay, The The's best piece of work since 'Heartland' in 1986, which has Marr's influence written all over it. Johnson also succeeds in making the closing track 'Lonely Planet' perhaps the only 'eco-song' in history a non-pretencious affair. Their is even a bit of funk here in the form of excellent 'Sodium Light Baby', which goes to show that the ever-despairing Johnson was actually enjoying himself whilst making this superb album.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 1999
Ah, another release from The The and another good one. This is a good ten years after Soul Mining, and their sound is still as unique now as it was then. My favorite song on this cd is "Love is Stronger than Death" which is a terrific song. There really isn't much that I can compare this band to - possibly the closest is Peter Murphy. All of the songs have a sound that only this band does. I don't think this music is for everyone though, so try and have a listen before buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
Almost a perfect album.

No addition or subtraction could make an improvement.

No, I will commit - it is perfect. When I'm 80 I'll still be listening to this album: it fulfills every single musical nerve I have. People hope and pray Matt will create more in the same vein - but perhaps don't realise the enormity of the challenge - it's really hard, to make an album this good.

The only two items I've ever rated at 5 starts: Dusk and Soul Mining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2000
I fell in love with my man at the same time as discovering this album - and it provided the perfect moody backdrop for a long hot summer of evenings spent in his company- my stomach seemed to flip over every 2 seconds then and playing this now brings all that back!. What I love about this album is it's soul wrenching melancholy washed down with lashings of gritty cynicism. It's name is apt - dusk - the music congers up images of a setting summer sun viewed through an urban window while cigarette smoke curls up to the sky
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)